A good diet for older adults

A good diet is fundamental in each of the stages of our life from childhood to old age. The basic aspects of a diet are the same throughout our lives, but the individual nutritional needs change as we get older. In addition, the correct absorption of food can be affected by some disease .

Older adults need the same nutrients (proteins , carbohydrates, fats, vitamins , minerals) than young people, but in different amounts. Some may be more necessary than others. In addition, for older adults, fiber It is essential to improve digestion and prevent constipation.

As we age, we require less energy (calories ) that when we were young This is because the body's natural processes require less energy when physical activity decreases and there is less muscle mass.

Although caloric requirements vary according to age and activity level, an older adult requires around 1,600 calories daily. These must be chosen carefully trying to provide the necessary nutrients. The recommendation is to divide the 1,600 calories in portions of each of the groups included in the nutritional pyramid:

  1. Bread and cereals: six servings
  2. Vegetables: three portions
  3. Fruits: two servings
  4. Milk and its derivatives: two portions
  5. Protein: two portions
  6. Fats: Use sparingly

Meanwhile, older adults need to include two servings or 90 grams of protein daily in their diet . Some options are meat, chicken, fish and if these are difficult to chew can be replaced by eggs or beans.

In addition, as we get older, our calcium requirements increase. To maintain bone mass and reduce the risk of osteoporosis the recommendations of calcium they should be increased by 20%.

Both men and women over 50 should consume at least 1,200 mg. of calcium a day. Milk and its derivatives (cheese, cream, yogurt) are the best sources of calcium , like green leafy vegetables and sardines.

It is never too late to consume more calcium, although it is also necessary to consume enough vitamin D to be able to absorb it and perform at least 30 minutes of exercise daily.

The deficiency of iron It is a common problem as we get older and this usually causes anemia, whose symptoms are weakness, fatigue and deterioration of health. The vitamin C, contained in citrus fruits, helps our body to absorb iron from the foods that contain it. It is also an excellent antioxidant it contributes to delay the process of deterioration of the organism.

Experts recommend daily consumption of between 20 and 35 grams of fiber (for an adult) to improve the movement of the digestive tract, moderate changes in sugar and cholesterol in the blood that occur after meals and increase the elimination of carcinogenic substances produced by bacteria in the large intestine. It is found mainly in whole grains, some fruits and vegetables.

The vitamin A contained in green leafy vegetables and those yellow and orange, helps the eyes adapt to a dim light, protects our skin , as well as others tissues .

The folic acid participates in the formation of red blood cells and its lack can cause anemia . It contains green leafy vegetables, some fruits, beans and enriched grain products.

The vitamin B12 participates with folates in the preparation of Red blood cells; the absence of this causes anemia and in some cases it is related to neurological problems. Meat, fish, chicken, eggs and dairy products are a good source.

Zinc helps the body fight infections and to repair the tissues sick. Its main sources are: meat, seafood, grain products and milk.

Older adults need to drink plenty of fluids: 8 to 12 cups per day. Some foods provide liquids, but still it is necessary to take all kinds of drinks, juices, milk, soup, tea or coffee, which can also include other nutrients, without forgetting the best option that is pure water.

Each person is different, so it is advisable to consult with the doctor what their food requirements are for their particular case taking into account their age, health status and the activity they perform daily.


Video Medicine: Fresh, Easy & Inexpensive Cooking for Senior Citizens : Senior Care (February 2023).

Une bonne alimentation pour les personnes âgées

Une bonne alimentation est fondamentale à chacune des étapes de notre vie, de l’enfance à la vieillesse. Les aspects fondamentaux d'un régime alimentaire sont les mêmes tout au long de notre vie, mais les besoins nutritionnels individuels changent avec l'âge. En outre, l'absorption correcte des aliments peut être affectée par certains maladie .

Les adultes plus âgés ont besoin des mêmes nutriments (les protéines , glucides, graisses, vitamines , minéraux) que les jeunes, mais en quantités différentes. Certains peuvent être plus nécessaires que d'autres. En outre, pour les adultes plus âgés, fibre Il est essentiel d'améliorer la digestion et de prévenir la constipation.

En vieillissant, nous avons besoin de moins d’énergie (les calories ) que quand nous étions jeunes En effet, les processus naturels du corps nécessitent moins d'énergie lorsque l'activité physique diminue et qu'il y a moins de masse musculaire.

Bien que les besoins caloriques varient en fonction de l’âge et du niveau d’activité, une personne âgée a besoin d’environ 1 600 personnes. les calories tous les jours Ceux-ci doivent être choisis avec soin en essayant de fournir les nutriments nécessaires. La recommandation est de diviser les 1600 calories en portions de chacun des groupes compris dans la pyramide alimentaire:

  1. Pain et céréales: six portions
  2. Légumes: trois portions
  3. Fruits: deux portions
  4. Lait et ses dérivés: deux portions
  5. Protéine: deux portions
  6. Graisses: à utiliser avec parcimonie

Pendant ce temps, les adultes plus âgés doivent inclure deux portions ou 90 grammes de protéines par jour dans leur alimentation. régime . Certaines options sont la viande, le poulet, le poisson et si elles sont difficiles à mâcher, elles peuvent être remplacées par des œufs ou des haricots.

De plus, en vieillissant, nos besoins en calcium augmentent. Maintenir la masse osseuse et réduire le risque de l'ostéoporose les recommandations de calcium ils devraient être augmentés de 20%.

Les hommes et les femmes de plus de 50 ans devraient consommer au moins 1 200 mg. de calcium par jour. Le lait et ses dérivés (fromage, crème, yaourt) sont les meilleures sources de calcium , comme les légumes à feuilles vertes et les sardines.

Il n’est jamais trop tard pour consommer plus de calcium, bien qu’il faille aussi en consommer suffisamment vitamine D pour pouvoir l’absorber et effectuer au moins 30 minutes de exercice tous les jours

Le manque de le fer En vieillissant, c’est un problème courant qui provoque généralement une anémie, dont les symptômes sont une faiblesse, fatigue et détérioration de la santé. Le vitamine C, contenu dans les agrumes, aide notre corps à absorber le fer des aliments qui le contiennent. C'est aussi un excellent antioxydant il contribue à retarder le processus de détérioration de l'organisme.

Les experts recommandent une consommation quotidienne comprise entre 20 et 35 grammes de fibre (pour un adulte) pour améliorer le mouvement du tube digestif, modérer les modifications du sucre et le cholestérol dans la du sang qui surviennent après les repas et augmentent l’élimination des substances cancérogènes produites par les bactéries dans le gros intestin. On le trouve principalement dans les grains entiers, certains fruits et légumes.

Le vitamine Un contenu dans les légumes à feuilles vertes et ceux jaune et orange, aide les yeux à s’adapter à une lumière tamisée, protège notre la peau , ainsi que d'autres mouchoirs .

Le acide folique participe à la formation des globules rouges et son absence peut causer anémie . Il contient des légumes à feuilles vertes, des fruits, des haricots et des produits céréaliers enrichis.

Le vitamine B12 participe avec les folates à la préparation de globules rouges; son absence provoque une anémie et, dans certains cas, elle est liée à des problèmes neurologiques. La viande, le poisson, le poulet, les œufs et les produits laitiers sont une bonne source.

Le zinc aide le corps à se battre les infections et réparer le mouchoirs malade Ses principales sources sont: la viande, les fruits de mer, les produits céréaliers et le lait.

Les adultes plus âgés doivent boire beaucoup de liquides: 8 à 12 tasses par jour. Certains aliments fournissent des liquides, mais il est toujours nécessaire de prendre toutes sortes de boissons, jus, lait, soupe, thé ou café, qui peuvent également contenir d'autres éléments nutritifs, sans oublier la meilleure option, l'eau pure.

Chaque personne étant différente, il est donc conseillé de consulter le médecin pour connaître ses besoins alimentaires spécifiques à son cas, en tenant compte de son âge, de son état de santé et de l'activité qu'il effectue quotidiennement.


Médecine Vidéo: Alimentation des personnes âgées (Septembre 2021).