Alzheimer's can be detected up to 10 years before it appears
body

Alzheimer's can be detected up to 10 years before it appears

One of the fears of the Adults , as they get closer and closer to the senescence , is suffering from Alzheimer's. But what would you think if you knew that this disease can be detected several years before it manifests ?, it would seem a bit crazy, is not it ?, but it's true.

An investigation with scanners, made by scientists of the Massachusetts General Hospital and the Rush University Medical Center , in the United States, showed that patients who develop Alzheimer's disease present changes in the brain , specifically that some of the regions begin to shrink . This phenomenon can be detected even one of each before manifesting the symptoms of the disease.

In the research, published in the journal Neurology, experts say the finding is clear evidence that Alzheimer's begins to develop in the middle age and that early diagnosis It may be vital to give the patient an effective treatment.

For the purposes of this study, 65 patients participated, all of whom began the investigation with normal brain functions . During the course of 11 years, time in which they were followed up, scanners of images of magnetic resonance (IMR) to measure the thickness of regions of your brain .

Brain thinning

The results showed that 22% of the patients whose brains had a Average thickness they developed Alzheimer's. However, although none of the participants had the thicker brains developed the disorder, 55% of those with the brains more thin yes they suffered it.

As the doctor explains Brad Dickerson , neuroscientist who led the study, "we use what we know about the specific brain changes seen in patients with Alzheimer's dementia." We measured those areas in individuals who had no symptoms and eventually determined that those who developed the disease showed a subtle shrinkage a long time before they showed symptom "he adds.

The research suggests that you can take several years before this type of dementia produces visible symptoms ; therefore, any form of treatment given to the patient should begin in the middle age .

That's why, experts say, early diagnosis of the disease is essential.

As he points out Rebecca Wood , of the organization Alzheimer's Research Uk"This study supports growing evidence that changes associated with Alzheimer's disease begin long before symptoms begin to appear, but it was a small study and it needs to be expanded to confirm the accuracy of the symptoms. methods used in the prediction of Alzheimer's ", adds the expert.
 

Video Medicine: Testing for Alzheimer’s (October 2019).


Similar Articles

1. Dancing

Exercise prolongs your life

Some benefits of hydrotherapy

La maladie d'Alzheimer peut être détectée jusqu'à 10 ans avant son apparition

Une des peurs du les adultes , comme ils se rapprochent de plus en plus de la sénescence , souffre de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Mais que penseriez-vous si vous saviez que cette maladie peut être détecté plusieurs années avant que cela se manifeste?, cela semblerait un peu fou, n'est-ce pas?, mais c'est vrai.

Une enquête avec des scanners, faite par des scientifiques de la Massachusetts General Hospital et le Centre médical universitaire de pointe , aux États-Unis, a montré que les patients qui développent la maladie d’Alzheimer présentent des modifications de la cerveau , en particulier que certaines des régions commencent à rétrécir . Ce phénomène peut être détecté même une décennie avant de manifester les symptômes de la maladie.

Dans la recherche, publiée dans la revue Neurologie, les experts disent que la découverte est une preuve claire que la maladie d'Alzheimer commence à se développer dans le moyen age et que le diagnostic précoce Il peut être vital de donner au patient un traitement efficace.

Pour les besoins de cette étude, 65 patients ont participé, qui ont tous commencé l’investigation avec fonctions cérébrales normales . Au cours des onze années où ils ont été suivis, des scanners d'images de résonance magnétique (IMR) pour mesurer l’épaisseur des régions de votre cerveau .

Amincissement du cerveau

Les résultats ont montré que 22% des patients dont le cerveau avait une Épaisseur moyenne ils ont développé la maladie d'Alzheimer. Cependant, bien qu’aucun des participants n’ait développé un trouble du cerveau plus épais, 55% de ceux ayant le cerveau plus mince oui ils l'ont souffert.

Comme le docteur l'explique Brad Dickerson , neuroscientifique qui a dirigé l’étude, "nous utilisons ce que nous savons sur les modifications spécifiques du cerveau observées chez les patients atteints de démence d’Alzheimer." un rétrécissement subtil longtemps avant qu'ils ont montré les symptômes "il ajoute.

La recherche suggère que vous pouvez prendre plusieurs années avant que ce type de démence ne produise symptômes visibles ; par conséquent, toute forme de traitement administré au patient devrait commencer dans la moyen age .

C'est pourquoi, disent les experts, diagnostic précoce de la maladie est essentielle.

Comme il le fait remarquer Rebecca Wood , de l'organisation Alzheimer's Research Uk"Cette étude corrobore les preuves de plus en plus nombreuses selon lesquelles les changements liés à la maladie d'Alzheimer commencent bien avant l'apparition des symptômes, mais il s'agissait d'une petite étude qui devait être développée pour confirmer l'exactitude des symptômes. méthodes utilisées dans la prédiction de la maladie d'Alzheimer ", ajoute l'expert.
 


Médecine Vidéo: J'ai un retard de règles mais mon test de grossesse est négatif, que dois-je comprendre ? (Juillet 2020).