Amputation of lower extremities

The World Health Organization (WHO) and the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) report that of the total amputations of the lower extremities, between 40 and 85% are related to diabetes . In Mexico, according to figures from the Mexican Social Security Institute (IMSS), 70% of lower limb amputations occur due to delayed medical care of foot injuries, mainly in people with diabetes.

The problem is that of 6.5 million people who suffer from this disease in our country, 35% ignore that it has it.

It is estimated that only one in 10 people with amputated limbs is rehabilitated and only 30% of those rehabilitated know how to properly use their devices and prostheses that, on the other hand, are very expensive, since in Mexico they can cost up to 110 thousand pesos.

 

  • Lack of civil conscience

The economic disadvantage, which also includes the expense that patients must make to move to rehabilitation units, is the lack of social conscience of many taxi drivers who refuse to provide service to amputees, with crutches or in a wheelchair . Social rejection is another burden that amputees have to live with.

 

What happens with the foot? and prosthesis

  • What happens with diabetic foot

Dr. Fernando Lavalle, director of the Diabetes Clinic of the Hospital of the Autonomous University of Nuevo Leon, points out that diabetics are more likely to suffer amputation of one or both extremities, since their feet in particular suffer physiological changes as the reduction of blood irrigation , which generates loss of sensitivity to pain and a low regeneration of the epithelial cells, "so that of suffering an injury, this can advance without them noticing and as a consequence, suffer partial or total amputation of their legs".

 

  • Diabetic foot prosthesis

When the amputation is irremediable, it is of the utmost importance to go through a psychological therapy and a previous training to the placement of the prosthesis and that has to do with the adequate conditions of the stump, the physical conditioning for the energy expenditure that implies the use of the prosthesis, as well as the balance and displacement of locomotion in all terrain. The adaptation process begins with knowing that one's own stump is a new organ to which an external prosthetic attachment will be attached, in order to recover lost capacities as much as possible. The objectives of a prosthesis are, among others: to obtain an optimal standing, to ensure that prosthetic walking is, as far as possible, equal to normal human locomotion, reincorporate to daily activities as independently as possible and, through physiotherapy , recompose the body symmetry.


Video Medicine: Major Lower Extremity Amputation: A Paradigm Shift (February 2023).

Amputation des membres inférieurs
les maladies

Amputation des membres inférieurs

L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé (OPS) signalent que, sur le total amputations des membres inférieurs, entre 40 et 85% sont liés au diabète . Au Mexique, selon les chiffres de l'Institut mexicain de la sécurité sociale (IMSS), 70% des amputations de membres inférieurs sont dues à un retard dans le traitement médical des blessures au pied, principalement chez les personnes atteintes de diabète.

Le problème est que sur 6,5 millions de personnes qui souffrent de cette maladie dans notre pays, 35% l'ignorent.

On estime que seulement une personne sur 10 ayant un membre amputé est réhabilitée et que 30% seulement des personnes réhabilitées savent comment utiliser correctement leur corps. dispositifs et prothèses En revanche, ils sont très coûteux, puisqu'au Mexique, ils peuvent coûter jusqu'à 110 000 pesos.

 

  • Manque de conscience civile

Le désavantage économique, qui inclut également les dépenses que doivent supporter les patients pour s’installer dans des unités de rééducation, est le manque de conscience sociale de nombreux chauffeurs de taxi qui refusent de fournir des services aux personnes amputées. béquilles ou en fauteuil roulant . Le rejet social est un autre fardeau pour les personnes amputées.

 

Qu'est-ce qui se passe avec le pied? et prothèses

  • Qu'est-ce qui se passe avec le pied diabétique

Le Dr Fernando Lavalle, directeur de la clinique du diabète de l'hôpital de l'Université autonome de Nuevo Leon, souligne que les diabétiques sont plus susceptibles d'être amputés d'un ou des deux extrémités, leurs pieds en particulier changements physiologiques comme la réduction de irrigation sanguine , qui génère une perte de sensibilité à la douleur et une faible régénération des cellules épithéliales, "de sorte que pour subir une blessure, cela peut avancer sans s’en rendre compte et en conséquence, subir une amputation partielle ou totale de leurs jambes".

 

  • Prothèse de pied diabétique

Lorsque l'amputation est irrémédiable, il est de la plus haute importance de passer par une thérapie psychologique et un entraînement préalable à la pose de la prothèse, en tenant compte des conditions adéquates du moignon, du conditionnement physique pour la dépense énergétique qui implique l'utilisation de la prothèse, ainsi que l'équilibre et le déplacement de la locomotion sur tous les terrains. Le processus d’adaptation commence par le fait de savoir que le moignon est un nouvel organe auquel une attache prothétique externe sera attachée, afin de récupérer autant que possible les capacités perdues. Les objectifs d'une prothèse sont, entre autres: d'obtenir une position optimale, de garantir que la marche prothétique soit, dans la mesure du possible, égale à la locomotion humaine normale, de se réintégrer aux activités quotidiennes de manière aussi autonome que possible et, grâce à la physiothérapie , recomposez la symétrie du corps.

Médecine Vidéo: traumatologie AMPUTATIONS DE MEMBRE INFERIEUR , cours n°1 (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes

Thérapie équine gratuite pour les enfants handicapés d'Ecatepec

Obtenez une vie agréable!

L'obésité raccourcit la vie des enfants au Mexique