Award Prince of Asturias Award to a Mexican scientist

A team of neurobiologists in which the Mexican neurosurgeon participates Arturo Álvarez Buylla , has been distinguished with Prince of Asturias Awards of Scientific and Technical Research. As at the time, this recognition was granted to the National Autonomous University of Mexico , now corresponds the turn to one of his graduates.

In their research, scientists among which in addition to Álvarez Buylla they find each other: Joseph Altman and Giacomo Rizzolatti , discovered that a subpopulation of glial cells functions as primary progenitors of new neurons that are incorporated into the olfactory bulb. Using immunocytochemical methods, optical and electronic microscopy, we can describe in this system, the sub ventricular zone, which is the origin of olfactory cell neurogenesis in adults and the chain migration of these cells to reach the olfactory bulb, following a specific way called rostral migratory stream .

This is one of the most prestigious awards that are granted worldwide, is a pride for the Mexican scientific community, and the discoveries of this dedicated team will be an important advance in terms of neurological medicine .

Here we present a video that gives a brief review about the three award-winning scientists,

Source: Notimex and Europress


Video Medicine: Spain rewards Asturias prize winners (June 2021).

Prix ​​Prince des Asturies à un scientifique mexicain

Une équipe de neurobiologistes à laquelle participe le neurochirurgien mexicain Arturo Álvarez Buylla , a été distingué par Prix ​​Prince des Asturies de la recherche scientifique et technique. A l’époque, cette reconnaissance a été accordée à la Université nationale autonome du Mexique , correspond maintenant au tour à un de ses diplômés.

Dans leurs recherches, des scientifiques parmi lesquels, outre Álvarez Buylla ils se rencontrent: Joseph Altman et Giacomo Rizzolatti , a découvert qu’une sous-population de cellules gliales est l’un des principaux géniteurs de nouvelles les neurones qui sont incorporés dans le bulbe olfactif. À l'aide de méthodes immunocytochimiques, de microscopie optique et électronique, nous pouvons décrire dans ce système la zone sous-ventriculaire, à l'origine de la neurogenèse des cellules olfactives chez l'adulte et de la migration en chaîne de ces cellules pour atteindre le bulbe olfactif, à la suite de une manière spécifique appelée flux migratoire rostral .

C’est l’une des récompenses les plus prestigieuses décernées dans le monde entier, qui fait la fierté de la communauté scientifique mexicaine et les découvertes de cette équipe dédiée constitueront un progrès important en termes de médecine neurologique .

Nous présentons ici une vidéo qui donne un bref aperçu des trois scientifiques primés,

Source: Notimex et Europress


Médecine Vidéo: Reinhold Messner y Krzysztof Wielicki | Premio Princesa de Asturias - Deportes 2018 (Septembre 2021).