Being bilingual delays Alzheimer's

Experts from Canada unveiled a study on the bilingualism and its help in delaying up to 5 years the appearance of the symptoms of Alzheimer's .


The research carried out by members of the Rotman Research Institute of Toronto, was published in the journal Neurology and adds its results to previous projects with similar hypotheses .

For the study, data were collected from 211 patients diagnosed with principles of Alzheimer's . 102 of them were bilingual and 109 spoke a single language. Both groups were equivalent in the cognitive levels.

The study makes it clear that the bilingualism does not prevent Alzheimer's , but compensate partially the loss of brain abilities affected by the disease.

The research showed that bilingual patients (who had frequently spoken 2 or 3 languages) were diagnosed 4.3 years later and that they registered the appearance of symptoms (memory, confusion, difficulties to solve problems, etc.) 5.1 years later than patients with only one language.

Fergus Craik, head of the research, explained "We are not saying that bilingualism can prevent Alzheimer's disease and other dementias, but it does help to create cognitive reserves in the brain that seem to delay the onset of their symptoms for several years."


Video Medicine: Bilingualism May Delay Dementia, Dr. Judith Kroll (June 2021).

Être bilingue retarde la maladie d'Alzheimer

Des experts du Canada ont dévoilé une étude sur la le bilinguisme et son aide à retarder jusqu'à 5 ans l'apparition des symptômes de Alzheimer .


Les recherches effectuées par des membres du Rotman Research Institute de Toronto ont été publiées dans la revue Neurology et viennent s'ajouter aux résultats de projets antérieurs réalisés avec hypothèses similaires .

Pour l’étude, les données ont été recueillies auprès de 211 patients chez qui on a diagnostiqué les principes de Alzheimer . 102 d'entre eux étaient bilingues et 109 parlaient une seule langue. Les deux groupes étaient équivalents au niveau cognitif.

L’étude montre clairement que le le bilinguisme n'empêche pas la maladie d'Alzheimer , sinon quoi compenser partiellement la perte des capacités cérébrales affecté par la maladie.

La recherche a montré que les patients bilingues (qui parlaient couramment deux ou trois langues) avaient été diagnostiqués 4,3 ans plus tard et qu’ils avaient enregistré l’apparition de symptômes (mémoire, confusion, difficultés à résoudre des problèmes, etc.) 5,1 ans plus tard que prévu. patients avec une seule langue.

Fergus Craik, responsable de la recherche, a expliqué "Nous ne disons pas que le bilinguisme peut prévenir la maladie d'Alzheimer et d'autres démences, mais il aide à créer des réserves cognitives dans le cerveau qui semblent retarder l'apparition de leurs symptômes de plusieurs années."


Médecine Vidéo: alzheimers and dementia | 10 Things to Do to Prevent Alzheimer’s Disease - alzheimers disease (Septembre 2020).