Blood pressure and mild cognitive difficulties in old age

A recent study published in the journal "Archives of Neurology" indicates that hypertension in old age could be linked to the progression of senile dementia in elderly people who experience cognitive dysfunctions as the difficulty for order your thoughts and make decisions, but not in those who suffer problems from memory . Although previous research had indicated hypertension in middle age as a risk factor that favors dementia in old age, there is controversy about the role of high blood pressure in the elderly who experience mild cognitive difficulties (An intermediate state between brain changes related to aging and a fully developed dementia).

Something that increases the complexity of the problem is that while some older people only experience dysfunctions in the field of memory and are more likely to develop Alzheimer's, others, who have begun to present disability After suffering a stroke or other vascular diseases, they very often suffer from executive problems, which make structured reasoning and the adoption of resolutions.

Based on these data Shahram Oveisgharan Y Vladimir Hachinski , authors of the study and members of the University of Western Ontario (Canada), developed a hypothesis by which the type of cognitive dysfunction that present the elderly would be the key factor when it comes to relating hypertension with this deterioration.

Tracking almost a thousand elderly

To verify this theory the researchers They followed a 5-year follow-up of 990 elderly people, with an average age of 83 years, who suffered from cognitive difficulties, although not dementia.

The scientists observed that during the five years that the I experience the percentage of the elderly with and without hypertension that developed dementia was similar (59.5% and 64.2% respectively).

This similarity was maintained when comparing those who only suffered memory difficulties with those who seemed to have problems of retention as well as difficulties for reason and make decisions . However, when examining those who only experienced problems when ordering their thoughts and adopting resolutions, a relationship of hypertension was established with the subsequent development of dementia, since 57% of those with high blood pressure evolved towards a diagnosis of dementia, compared to 28% of those without hypertension.

I agree with you researchers , "Neurological disorders are the most frequent cause of disability adjusted to years of life throughout the world. Among them, the cardiovascular disease It is the most common risk factor and dementia is the second most frequent. There is no preventive or therapeutic intervention for decrease this burden for public health " Experts say they have shown that "The presence of hypertension Predicts the progression towards dementia in a subgroup of about one third of the subjects with cognitive disability, not dementia. " The control of hypertension in this population can halve the rate of progression, expected at 50% in five years, the researchers conclude.


Video Medicine: Mild Cognitive Impairment and Diabetes (June 2021).

Pression artérielle et légères difficultés cognitives chez les personnes âgées

Une étude récente publiée dans la revue "Archives of Neurology" indique que l'hypertension artérielle chez les personnes âgées pourrait être liée à la progression de la démence sénile chez les personnes âgées qui éprouvent dysfonctionnements cognitifs comme la difficulté pour commandez vos pensées et prendre des décisions, mais pas chez ceux qui souffrent de problèmes de mémoire . Bien que des recherches antérieures aient indiqué que l’hypertension artérielle à l’âge moyen était un facteur de risque favorisant la démence chez les personnes âgées, il existe une controverse quant au rôle de l’hypertension artérielle chez les personnes âgées troubles cognitifs légers (Un état intermédiaire entre les modifications du cerveau liées au vieillissement et une démence complètement développée).

Ce qui accroît la complexité du problème, c'est que si certaines personnes âgées ne souffrent que de dysfonctionnements dans le domaine de la mémoire et sont plus susceptibles de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer, d'autres, qui ont commencé à présenter handicap Après avoir subi un accident vasculaire cérébral ou d’autres maladies vasculaires, ils souffrent très souvent de problèmes d’exécutif raisonnement structuré et l'adoption de résolutions.

Basé sur ces données Shahram Oveisgharan et Vladimir Hachinski , auteurs de l’étude et membres de l’Université Western Ontario (Canada), ont développé une hypothèse selon laquelle le type de dysfonctionnement cognitif les personnes âgées constitueraient le facteur clé pour relier l'hypertension à cette détérioration.

Suivi de près de mille personnes âgées

Pour vérifier cette théorie, le chercheurs Ils ont suivi 5 années de suivi auprès de 990 personnes âgées, âgées en moyenne de 83 ans, souffrant de troubles cognitifs, mais non de démence.

Les scientifiques ont observé que pendant les cinq années que le J'éprouve le pourcentage de personnes âgées avec et sans hypertension qui développait une démence était similaire (59,5% et 64,2% respectivement).

Cette similitude a été maintenue en comparant ceux qui ne présentaient que des problèmes de mémoire avec ceux qui semblaient avoir des problèmes de rétention ainsi que des problèmes de rétention. raisonner et prendre des décisions . Cependant, lorsqu’on a examiné ceux qui n’avaient que des problèmes en ordonnant leurs idées et en adoptant des résolutions, un lien entre l’hypertension et le développement ultérieur de la démence a été établi, puisque 57% de ceux souffrant d’hypertension artérielle ont évolué vers un diagnostic de démence, comparé à 28% de ceux sans hypertension.

Selon le chercheurs , "Les troubles neurologiques sont la cause la plus fréquente d’invalidité adaptée aux années de la vie dans le monde. Parmi eux, les maladie cardiovasculaire C'est le facteur de risque le plus courant et la démence est le deuxième facteur le plus fréquent. Il n'y a pas d'intervention préventive ou thérapeutique pour réduire ce fardeau pour la santé publique " Les experts disent qu'ils ont montré que "La présence d'hypertension Prédit la progression vers la démence dans un sous-groupe d'environ un tiers des sujets présentant une déficience cognitive, pas de démence. " Les chercheurs concluent que le contrôle de l'hypertension dans cette population peut réduire de moitié le taux de progression prévu à 50% dans cinq ans.


Médecine Vidéo: More Than an Apple a Day: Preventing Our Most Common Diseases (Septembre 2020).