Breath test reveals diabetes

Researchers of the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) have recently published an article about the development of a device that uses nanotechnology for the detection of diabetes.

According to Dr. Kim Il-Doo , lead author of the development, is a breath test to detect diabetes that could easily be adapted to a mobile phone or a tablet, by which acetone is detected in the patient's breath.

Acetone is one of the volatile organic compounds that warn of the presence of certain diseases: volatile organic compounds serve as "biomarkers" to detect certain pathologies, such as acetone for diabetes, toluene for lung cancer , or ammonium for kidney failure.

It should be remembered that ketone breath or acetone is produced by the formation of ketones and comes from the air in the lungs, where these bodies are removed when blood sugar levels are abnormally elevated (hyperglycemia).

A person with diabetes exhales an acetone level greater than 1.8 parts per million (a healthy person would exhale between two and six times less), so the supposed sensor should detect acetone levels below one part per million, plus to be able to discriminate other exhaled gases as well as the humidity of the breath.

Like some other similar developments, the presence of these markers will allow them to have a greater knowledge and control of the disease both to the specialist and to the patients themselves.

Breath analysis is a very efficient method for the detection of diabetes and medical diagnosis, because it is not invasive, it is fast and economical, and it does not generate polluting waste.

In addition, these breath sensors employ various catalysts and semiconductor metal fibers, adapted to the specific disease to be diagnosed, so it goes beyond just diabetes.


Video Medicine: Western New England University Works on Creating Breathalyzer Test for Diabetes (June 2021).

Un test respiratoire révèle le diabète

Chercheurs du Institut coréen de sciences et technologies (KAIST) ont récemment publié un article sur le développement d'un dispositif utilisant la nanotechnologie pour la détection du diabète.

Selon le Dr. Kim Il-Doo , auteur principal du développement, est un test respiratoire pour détecter le diabète qui pourrait facilement être adapté à un téléphone portable ou à une tablette, permettant de détecter de l’acétone dans l’haleine du patient.

L’acétone est l’un des composés organiques volatils qui avertissent de la présence de certaines maladies: les composés organiques volatils servent de "biomarqueurs" pour détecter certaines pathologies, telles que l’acétone pour le diabète, le toluène pour cancer du poumon ou ammonium pour insuffisance rénale.

Il convient de rappeler que la respiration cétonique ou l'acétone est produite par la formation de cétones et provient de l'air dans les poumons, où ces corps sont éliminés lorsque la glycémie est anormalement élevée (hyperglycémie).

Une personne diabétique exhale un niveau d'acétone supérieur à 1,8 partie par million (une personne en bonne santé expirerait entre deux et six fois moins), de sorte que le capteur supposé devrait détecter les niveaux d'acétone inférieurs à une partie par million, plus être capable de distinguer les autres gaz exhalés ainsi que l'humidité de la respiration.

A l'instar d'autres développements similaires, la présence de ces marqueurs leur permettra d'avoir une meilleure connaissance et un meilleur contrôle de la maladie à la fois du spécialiste et des patients eux-mêmes.

L'analyse de l'haleine est une méthode très efficace pour la détection du diabète et le diagnostic médical, car elle n'est pas invasive, rapide et économique, et ne génère pas de déchets polluants.

En outre, ces capteurs respiratoires utilisent divers catalyseurs et fibres métalliques semi-conductrices, adaptés à la maladie à diagnostiquer, de sorte qu’il va au-delà du diabète.


Médecine Vidéo: La Forme de Tes Doigts Détermine Ton Type de Personnalité et Les Risques de Santé (Septembre 2020).