Carlos Slim Health Institute for the welfare

The forgotten diseases such as Chagas, malaria, the suffering of sleep, leishmaniasis viscera l, among others, cause the death of more than one million people annually, because there is no effective treatment to eradicate them.

Therefore, on this occasion, the Carlos Slim Health Institute recognizes the efforts made by institutions and researchers to combat these diseases that affect millions of people living in conditions of extreme poverty.

In this way, the Lifetime Achievement Award is given to the Peruvian doctor José Eduardo Gotuzzo , who has published more than 400 scientific articles on various infectious diseases.

In addition, he has conducted research on infectious diseases that affect the health of the population of Latin America such as tuberculosis, typhoid fever, brucellosis, HIV-AIDS, cholera and typhoid.

Meanwhile, the prize in the exceptional Institution category is for DNDi Latin America or Drugs for Neglected Diseases Initiative , based in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Dr. Eric Stobbaerts will receive the award.

The nonprofit organization focuses on the research and development of medicines for neglected tropical diseases. It has even developed six new drugs for the treatment of malaria, sleeping sickness, visceral leishmaniasis (kala azar) and Chagas disease.

However, the resources that will be obtained with the award will be destined to research on Chagas disease, since 99% of infected people do not receive treatment, it is estimated that 100 million people are at risk of suffering from it.

 

Carlos Slim Health Institute for the welfare

The Carlos Slim Health Institute not only focuses on generating innovative, sustainable and replicable solutions to improve the quality of life in Latin America, it also recognizes the work of researchers and institutions that can solve the main problems in the field.

In an interview for GetQoralHealth , Ricardo Mújica Rosales, executive director of the Carlos Slim Health Institute ensures that this organization "seeks something that has an impact, that is, a practical utility for the population" of Latin America.

Therefore, with the Carlos Slim Health Awards, the work of professionals interested in promoting actions that have a positive impact on the quality of life of the inhabitants of Latin America is recognized and stimulated by granting them resources for one hundred thousand dollars.

Since its first edition in 2008, 680 nominations have been received from 22 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
 


Video Medicine: Who Is the Richest Person in the World? Carlos Slim on International Philanthropy (2007) (April 2021).

Institut de santé Carlos Slim pour le bien-être

Les maladies oubliées telles que la maladie de Chagas, le paludisme, la souffrance du sommeil, leishmaniose viscère l, entre autres, provoque la mort de plus d’un million de personnes chaque année, car il n’existe aucun traitement efficace pour les éradiquer.

Par conséquent, à cette occasion, le Institut de santé Carlos Slim reconnaît les efforts déployés par les institutions et les chercheurs pour lutter contre ces maladies qui touchent des millions de personnes vivant dans des conditions d'extrême pauvreté.

De cette manière, le prix d'excellence pour l'ensemble des réalisations est attribué à Médecin péruvien José Eduardo Gotuzzo , qui a publié plus de 400 articles scientifiques sur diverses maladies infectieuses.

En outre, il a mené des recherches sur les maladies infectieuses affectant la santé de la population latino-américaine, telles que la tuberculose, la fièvre typhoïde, la brucellose, le VIH-sida, le choléra et la typhoïde.

Dans la catégorie des institutions exceptionnelles, le prix est attribué à DNDi Initiative pour l'Amérique latine ou les médicaments pour les maladies négligées , basé à Rio de Janeiro, au Brésil; Le Dr Eric Stobbaerts recevra le prix.

L'organisation à but non lucratif se concentre sur la recherche et le développement de médicaments pour les maladies tropicales négligées. Il a même mis au point six nouveaux médicaments pour le traitement du paludisme, de la maladie du sommeil, de la leishmaniose viscérale (kala azar) et de la maladie de Chagas.

Cependant, les ressources qui seront obtenues avec le prix seront destinées à la recherche sur la maladie de Chagas, puisque 99% des personnes infectées ne reçoivent pas de traitement, on estime que 100 millions de personnes risquent de le souffrir.

 

Institut de santé Carlos Slim pour le bien-être

Le Institut de santé Carlos Slim vise non seulement à générer des solutions innovantes, durables et reproductibles pour améliorer la qualité de la vie en Amérique latine, mais reconnaît également le travail de chercheurs et d’institutions capables de résoudre les principaux problèmes qui se posent sur le terrain.

Dans une interview pour GetQoralHealth , Ricardo Mújica Rosales, directeur exécutif de l'Institut de santé Carlos Slim veille à ce que cette organisation "recherche quelque chose qui ait un impact, c’est-à-dire une utilité pratique pour la population" de l’Amérique latine.

Ainsi, avec les Carlos Slim Health Awards, le travail des professionnels souhaitant promouvoir des actions ayant un impact positif sur la qualité de vie des habitants de l’Amérique latine est reconnu et stimulé par l’octroi de ressources d’un montant de cent mille dollars.

Depuis sa première édition en 2008, 680 candidatures ont été reçues de 22 pays d'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes.
 


Médecine Vidéo: How to Stay Out of Debt: Warren Buffett - Financial Future of American Youth (1999) (Octobre 2020).