Deep neurostimulation against Parkinson's

Parkinson's disease is degenerative and it affects the movement. Usually theParkinson It occurs in people older than 60 years, although in some cases it can start at younger ages, such as juvenile, which starts at approximately 20 years, and another early, before 40, indicated Lilia Núñez Orozco , teacher of the School of Medicine of the UNAM .

It does not have a known cause, but it occurs because the neurons that are in a brain structure called black substance, which originates dopamine (a neurotransmitter ) that communicates with the fluted , important part for the control of the movement. By decreasing the amount of dopamine the symptom , as rigidity , tremor of rest, slowness of movement and difficulty in maintaining position automatically If the person starts with the first symptoms, the loss of dopamine It is already in an 80% advance phase.

According to the neurologist, the disease Parkinson it has an inexorable progressive natural evolution, until leaving the person bedridden with an important disability, even with the use of medication; However, for some years now, the quality of life of the patients through the deep neurostimulation .

Currently, it is considered that the best surgical option in the treatment of Parkinson is the application of deep neurostimulation . Through a system called stereotaxy , an electrode is placed in a specific region of the brain (which may be the pale balloon or the Luys subthalamic nucleus) and connects with a cable to a power source, similar to the pacemaker that are placed in the heart.

The also head of Neurology Service of the National Medical Center November 20 of the ISSSTE He explained that this system is placed under the skin (so that it is practically imperceptible), and the best time to use this alternative is when the patient no longer has a favorable response to traditional medications to treat this condition; however, a prior evaluation of the neurologist is required to determine whether or not he is a candidate.

In this process, the drugs are suspended until the most acute manifestations of the disease occur, and then the substance is supplied levodopa ; "... if there is a favorable response, it is considered that neurostimulation deep will be a success, "he said.

Treatment

The condition is not cured, but there is the possibility of controlling the symptoms. For this, it is recommended to start treatment with drugs that protect against degeneration at neurons that produce dopamine (selegiline or rasagilina ).

We try to delay the start of levodopa (chemical precursor of dopamine ) as much as possible, since its useful life is around 10 years and then complications occur, such as wide fluctuations of movement, abnormal disabling shaking or lack of response.

Núñez Orozco said that when applied properly, the quality of life is improved and even that the illness is almost not noticed, because the patient can do his normal activities, although with the progression and complications of the treatment, it is necessary to have different alternatives, and this is where the deep neurostimulation .


Video Medicine: Deep Brain Stimulation Surgery to treat Parkinson's Disease at Mount Sinai Hospital (June 2021).

Neurostimulation profonde contre la maladie de Parkinson

La maladie de Parkinson est dégénératif et cela affecte le mouvement. Généralement leParkinson Il survient chez les personnes âgées de plus de 60 ans, bien que dans certains cas, il puisse commencer plus jeune, par exemple chez les jeunes, à partir de 20 ans environ, et un autre plus tôt, avant 40 ans, indique Lilia Núñez Orozco , professeur de faculté de medecine de l'UNAM .

Il n’a pas de cause connue, mais c’est parce que le les neurones qui sont dans une structure du cerveau appelée substance noire, qui provient dopamine (un neurotransmetteur ) qui communique avec le cannelé , partie importante pour le contrôle du mouvement. En diminuant la quantité de dopamine le les symptômes comme raideur , tremblement de repos, la paresse de mouvement et de difficulté à maintenir la posture automatiquement Si la personne commence avec les premiers symptômes, la perte de dopamine Il est déjà dans une phase d'avance de 80%.

Selon le neurologue, la maladie Parkinson son évolution naturelle est progressive et inexorable, jusqu’à laisser la personne alitée avec un handicap important, même avec l’utilisation de médicaments; Cependant, depuis quelques années, le qualité de vie des patients à travers le neurostimulation profonde .

Actuellement, on considère que la meilleure option chirurgicale dans le traitement de Parkinson est l'application de neurostimulation profonde . Grâce à un système appelé stéréotaxie , une électrode est placée dans une région spécifique du cerveau (qui peut être le ballon pâle ou le noyau sous-thalamique de Luys) et se connecte avec un câble à une source d'alimentation, similaire au stimulateur cardiaque qui sont placés dans le coeur.

Le chef aussi de Service de neurologie du Centre médical national le 20 novembre de l'ISSSTE Il a expliqué que ce système est placé sous la peau (de sorte qu'il est pratiquement imperceptible) et que le meilleur moment pour utiliser cette alternative est lorsque le patient ne dispose plus d'une réponse favorable aux médicaments traditionnels pour traiter cette maladie; Cependant, une évaluation préalable du neurologue est nécessaire pour déterminer s'il est candidat ou non.

Dans ce processus, les médicaments sont suspendus jusqu'à l'apparition des manifestations les plus aiguës de la maladie, puis la substance est fournie lévodopa ; "... s'il y a une réponse favorable, on considère que neurostimulation Deep sera un succès ", at-il déclaré.

Traitement

La condition n'est pas guérie, mais il est possible de contrôler les symptômes. Pour cela, il est recommandé de commencer le traitement avec des médicaments qui protègent contre dégénérescence à les neurones qui produisent dopamine (sélégiline o Rasagilina ).

Nous essayons de retarder le début de lévodopa (précurseur chimique de dopamine ) dans la mesure du possible, car sa durée de vie utile est d’environ 10 ans et que des complications apparaissent, telles que des fluctuations importantes des mouvements, des tremblements anormaux et invalidants ou un manque de réponse.

Núñez Orozco a déclaré que, lorsqu'elle est correctement appliquée, la qualité de la vie est améliorée et même que la maladie est pratiquement ignorée, car le patient peut effectuer ses activités normales, bien qu'avec la progression et les complications du traitement, il soit nécessaire d'avoir différentes alternatives, et c’est là que les neurostimulation profonde .


Médecine Vidéo: La stimulation cérébrale profonde contre Parkinson.mp4 (Septembre 2020).