Energy that prevents cardiac arrhythmia

Older people can get greater benefits from having implantable cardioverter-defibrillators like young people, according to a new study.

An implantable cardioverter defibrillator (ICD) is a device that is placed inside the chest to administer electric shocks to restore normal heart rhythm if a dangerous cardiac arrhythmia is detected.

The results indicate that the state of health and not only the age of a person, should be used to predict whether a patient will benefit from receiving this type of device and help determine who should receive one, say the authors of the study, published on June 17 in the magazine Circulation .

"The main reason for controversy and research on the subject is whether elderly patients benefit from the devices," said the lead author Douglas Lee, scientist at the Institute of Clinical Evaluation Sciences and cardiologist at the Peter Munk Heart Center in Toronto .

"The issue is important, as the population ages and the number of elderly people living with heart disease grows."

Lee's team observed almost five thousand 400 patients with implanted devices. The patients had poor heart function due to heart failure or a heart attack before, or after being resuscitated from cardiac arrest.

Among people who received the implanted device with heart failure or after a heart attack, 38% were 70 years or older and 7% were 80 or older. Among those who received the device after surviving a cardiac arrest, 42% were 70 years or older and almost 11% were 80 years old.

"Older patients were more likely to experience an adequate electrical shock from the device to treat a potentially fatal heart rhythm," said Lee, who is also an associate professor of medicine at the University of Toronto.

"However, elderly patients experienced more hospitalizations for cardiovascular disease and higher associated mortality rates in general."

For example, among patients receiving an ICD to prevent cardiac arrest, the mortality rate among patients aged 18 to 49 years was two per 100 patients, compared to 10 per 100 patients among people aged 80 years. or more.
 


Video Medicine: Got Rhythm? An Update on the Treatment of Cardiac Arrhythmias (September 2021).

Energie qui prévient l'arythmie cardiaque

Selon une nouvelle étude, les défibrillateurs cardioverteurs implantables, comme les jeunes, présentent de plus grands avantages.

Un défibrillateur automatique implantable (DAI) est un dispositif placé dans la poitrine pour administrer des décharges électriques afin de rétablir un rythme cardiaque normal en cas de détection d'une arythmie cardiaque dangereuse.

Les résultats indiquent que l’état de santé et pas seulement l’âge d’une personne devraient être utilisés pour prédire si un patient bénéficiera de ce type d’appareil et aider à déterminer qui devrait en recevoir un, affirment les auteurs de l’étude, publiée le 17 juin dans le magazine Circulation .

"La principale raison de la controverse et des recherches sur le sujet est de savoir si les patients bénéficient des appareils", a déclaré l'auteur principal. Douglas Lee, scientifique à l'Institute of Clinical Evaluation Sciences et cardiologue au Peter Munk Heart Center à Toronto .

"La question est importante, car la population vieillit et le nombre de personnes âgées atteintes de cardiopathie augmente."

L'équipe de Lee a observé près de cinq mille 400 patients porteurs de dispositifs implantés. Les patients présentaient une insuffisance cardiaque en raison d'une insuffisance cardiaque ou d'une crise cardiaque avant ou après avoir été réanimé après un arrêt cardiaque.

Parmi les personnes qui ont reçu le dispositif implanté avec une insuffisance cardiaque ou après une crise cardiaque, 38% étaient âgées de 70 ans ou plus et 7%, de 80 ans ou plus. Parmi ceux qui ont reçu le dispositif après avoir survécu à un arrêt cardiaque, 42% étaient âgés de 70 ans ou plus et près de 11% avaient 80 ans.

"Les patients plus âgés étaient plus susceptibles de subir un choc électrique adéquat avec l'appareil pour traiter un rythme cardiaque potentiellement fatal", a déclaré Lee, également professeur de médecine agrégé à l'Université de Toronto.

"Cependant, les patients âgés ont connu plus d'hospitalisations pour maladie cardiovasculaire et des taux de mortalité associés plus élevés en général."

Par exemple, parmi les patients recevant un DAI pour prévenir un arrêt cardiaque, le taux de mortalité des patients âgés de 18 à 49 ans était de deux pour cent patients, contre 10 pour cent parmi les patients âgés de 80 ans. ou plus.
 


Médecine Vidéo: Trois signes qu’une crise cardiaque est proche que tout le monde doit connaitre - France 365 (Octobre 2020).