Eribulin vs breast cancer

The news appeared in all the newspapers of the world: a new and effective medicine against the breast cancer can improve the life expectancy of women who have suffered from disease . The new ally comes from the bottom of the sea and it's about eribulin .

The eribulin is a drug that is obtained from the sea sponge (Halichondria okadai), which is toxic and very common on the Japanese Pacific coast. This can improve by 20% the life expectancy of women who suffer metastasis .

The importance of this drug This is due to the fact that for 10 years there has not been a new drug that, without needing to be combined, has an impact on the survival of patients with this type of treatment. neoplasms .

The research (in phase III, aimed at measuring its efficacy and toxicity with respect to current treatments) involved the participation of 762 women (undergoing chemotherapy with anthracine or taxano ) from 12 countries. According to the doctor Javier Cortés , in charge of the study published in the magazine The Lancet, the eribulin has proven to be effective in all types of breast cancer , because it is a medicine that has a mechanism of double action.

He is also the director of the unit breast cancer of the Institute of Oncology Vall d'Hebron (Barcelona) emphasizes that this drug prevents the division of cells tumor , something that other treatments of chemotherapy ; Besides, the eribulin joins the tubulin (proteins essential for the internal skeleton of the cell ) and produce aggregates that kill the cell tumor.

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA, for its acronym in English), the drug control body in the United States, has already authorized the sale of this product, which is marketed by the Japanese laboratory Eisai under the Halaven brand.

Operation and chemotherapy, the best for breast cancer

A few days after the World Breast Cancer Day , we have another good news: El Spanish Breast Cancer Research Group (GEICAM) proposes to use docetaxel during the operation and treatment of chemotherapy . With this, relapses are reduced by 32%; In addition, 90% of patients have not relapsed in the six years.

The work, published in The New England Journal of Medicine , supports the use of the drug in the early stages of the appearance of tumor . The drug was tested entirely in Spain, in fifty hospitals and a thousand patients.

Experts point out that this type of discovery is very useful; However, the detection early can save many lives.

If you want to know more about this topic, visit our special breast cancer

Follow us on Twitter Y Facebook


Video Medicine: Breast Cancer | New Breast Cancer Treatments & Therapies Explained | StreamingWell.com (April 2021).

Éribuline vs cancer du sein

La nouvelle est parue dans tous les journaux du monde: un nouveau médicament efficace contre le cancer du sein peut améliorer l'espérance de vie des femmes qui ont souffert de maladie . Le nouvel allié vient du fond de la mer et c’est à peu près tout. l'éribuline .

Le l'éribuline est un médicament obtenu à partir d'éponge de mer (Halichondria okadai), qui est toxique et très commun sur la côte japonaise du Pacifique. Cela peut améliorer de 20% l'espérance de vie des femmes qui souffrent métastases .

L'importance de cette drogue Cela est dû au fait qu’il n’ya pas eu depuis 10 ans de nouveau médicament qui, sans avoir besoin d’être associé, ait un impact sur la survie des patients traités avec ce type de traitement. néoplasmes .

La recherche (en phase III, visant à mesurer son efficacité et sa toxicité par rapport aux traitements actuels) a impliqué la participation de 762 femmes (subissant une chimiothérapie avec anthracine o taxano ) de 12 pays. Selon le docteur Javier Cortés , en charge de l’étude publiée dans le magazine Le lancet, le l'éribuline s'est avéré efficace dans tous les types de cancer du sein , parce que c'est un médicament qui a un mécanisme de double action.

Il est également le directeur de l'unité cancer du sein de la Institut d'oncologie Vall d'Hebron (Barcelone) souligne que ce médicament empêche la division des cellules tumeur , quelque chose que d'autres traitements de chimiothérapie ; De plus, le l'éribuline rejoint le tubuline (les protéines essentiel pour le squelette interne du cellule ) et produisent des agrégats qui tuent cellule tumeur.

Le Food and Drug Administration (FDA, pour son acronyme en anglais), l'organisme américain de contrôle des médicaments, a déjà autorisé la vente de ce produit, qui est commercialisé par le laboratoire japonais Eisai sous la marque Halaven.

Opération et chimiothérapie, le meilleur pour le cancer du sein

Quelques jours après le Journée mondiale du cancer du sein , nous avons une autre bonne nouvelle: El Groupe de recherche espagnol sur le cancer du sein (GEICAM) propose d'utiliser docétaxel pendant l'opération et le traitement de chimiothérapie . Avec cela, les rechutes sont réduites de 32%; De plus, 90% des patients n'ont pas rechuté dans les six ans.

Le travail, publié dans Le journal de médecine de la Nouvelle-Angleterre , soutient l'utilisation de la drogue dans les premiers stades de l'apparition de tumeur . Le médicament a été testé entièrement en Espagne, dans cinquante hôpitaux et mille patients.

Les experts soulignent que ce type de découverte est très utile; cependant, le détection tôt peut sauver beaucoup de vies.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce sujet, visitez notre page spéciale cancer du sein

Suivez-nous sur Twitter et Facebook


Médecine Vidéo: Eribuline et cancer du sein (l'essentiel) (Octobre 2020).