Erythema nodosum is a common condition in women

According to the specialists of the American Academy of Dermatology, the erythema nodosum they are extremely sensitive and reddish lumps or nodules that appear on the legs and sometimes on the arms. They are the result of inflammation of the grease which is below the skin . The nodules look bruises and they change color, from pink to blue or brown. The eruptions can stay between a week and ten days.

 

Know the causes

According to dermatologists, although the erythema nodosum It is a rare condition, it is more common in women than in men, as well as in adults from 20 to 30 years old.

In about half of the cases the exact cause is unknown. However, it is believed that it may be some kind of allergic reaction caused by the following factors: infections caused by streptococcus ; viral infections as the hepatitis B ; fungal infections of the lung; psittacosis (parrot fever); sexually transmitted diseases as the chlamydia Y syphilis ; leptospirosis; leprosy or certain inflammatory conditions of the patient.

Pregnancy can also affect the formation of erythema nodosum or sensitivity to certain medications such as amoxicillin and other penicillins ; sulfonamides, iodides or bromides; some contraceptives oral, some antibiotics and the progestogen .

 

What are the symptoms?

The erythema nodosum It presents as a very sensitive bulge, as if it were a bruise but deeper, usually located in pimples, but can also occur in other areas of the body (buttocks, calves, ankles, thighs and upper extremities).

The lesions begin as flat, hard, painful, red and hot lumps approximately 23 millimeters in diameter. In a few days they may turn purple; then, for several weeks, they fade to a flat brown patch.

Other symptoms are fever , malaise, joint pain, inflammation irritation or redness of the skin , swelling of the leg or other affected area.

 

Diagnostic tests include samples of blood Y urine ; cultures of various body fluids (especially, throat culture to rule out infection by streptococci ); chest x-ray and other imaging tests to rule out sarcoidosis , or skin test to detect tuberculosis .

 

Treatment and prognosis

The erythema nodosum It is annoying but not dangerous. Identifying the cause will be treated with various medications, depending on the origin of the erythema. For nodules, pain relief is all that is needed.These tend to disappear by themselves in about six weeks and do not cause scarring.

If you identify some of the symptoms mentioned above, do not forget to go immediately to your doctor to treat this condition in time.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

If you are interested in receiving more information on this topic, do not hesitate to register with us.


Video Medicine: Erythema Nodosum ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (April 2021).

L'érythème nodosum est une affection courante chez les femmes

Selon les spécialistes de la Académie américaine de dermatologie, le érythème nodosum ce sont des nodules extrêmement sensibles et rougeâtres qui apparaissent sur les jambes et parfois sur les bras. Ils sont le résultat de l'inflammation de la graisser qui est en dessous de la la peau . Les nodules regardent ecchymoses et ils changent de couleur, du rose au bleu ou au marron. Les éruptions peuvent rester entre une semaine et dix jours.

 

Connaître les causes

Selon les dermatologues, bien que le érythème nodosum C'est une maladie rare, elle est plus fréquente chez les femmes que chez les hommes, ainsi que chez les adultes de 20 à 30 ans.

Dans environ la moitié des cas, la cause exacte est inconnue. Cependant, on pense que cela peut être une sorte de réaction allergique causée par les facteurs suivants: les infections causé par streptocoque ; infections virales comme la l'hépatite B ; infections fongiques du poumon; psittacose (fièvre des perroquets); maladies sexuellement transmissibles comme la chlamydia et la syphilis ; la leptospirose; la lèpre ou certaines conditions inflammatoires du patient.

La grossesse peut également affecter la formation de érythème nodosum ou sensibilité à certains médicaments tels que l’amoxicilline et d’autres pénicillines ; sulfamides, iodures ou bromures; certain contraceptifs oral, certains antibiotiques et le progestatif .

 

Quels sont les symptômes?

Le érythème nodosum Il se présente comme un renflement très sensible, comme s'il s'agissait d'une ecchymose mais plus profonde, généralement située dans les boutons, mais pouvant également se produire dans d'autres zones du corps (fesses, mollets, chevilles, cuisses et membres supérieurs).

Les lésions commencent par des masses plates, dures, douloureuses, rouges et chaudes d'environ 23 millimètres de diamètre. Dans quelques jours, ils peuvent devenir violets; puis, pendant plusieurs semaines, elles s'estompent en une plaque brune et plate.

D'autres symptômes sont fièvre malaise, douleurs articulaires, l'inflammation irritation ou rougeur de la la peau , gonflement de la jambe ou autre zone touchée.

 

Les tests de diagnostic comprennent des échantillons de du sang et l'urine ; cultures de divers fluides corporels (en particulier la culture de la gorge pour exclure une infection par streptocoque ) radiographie pulmonaire et autres tests d'imagerie pour éliminer sarcoïdose , ou test cutané pour détecter tuberculose .

 

Traitement et pronostic

Le érythème nodosum C'est agaçant mais pas dangereux. L'identification de la cause sera traitée avec divers médicaments, en fonction de l'origine de l'érythème. Pour les nodules, le soulagement de la douleur est tout ce qui est nécessaire.Celles-ci ont tendance à disparaître d'elles-mêmes au bout de six semaines environ et ne causent pas de cicatrices.

Si vous identifiez certains des symptômes mentionnés ci-dessus, n'oubliez pas de consulter immédiatement votre médecin pour traiter cette affection à temps.

Suivez nous sur Twitter et Facebook

Si vous souhaitez recevoir plus d'informations sur ce sujet, n'hésitez pas à vous inscrire auprès de nous.


Médecine Vidéo: Sarcoidose pulmonaire articulaire renale hepatique cutanée ophtalmologique (Octobre 2020).