Fibromyalgia, somatic disease?

Frida Kahlo It is an obligatory reference when talking about Mexican painting. However, now the artist acquires popularity in a different field: the doctor, for whom it has become a case study. This happened after the year 2000 was published in the magazine Arthritis & Rheumatism an analysis of your clinical file, life and work.

In the article, it was suggested that Frida Khalo suffered from fibromyalgia, a disease unknown at the time, that affected her a great part of her life and that she reflected in her art.

According to American College of Rheumatology , organism that established the criteria for the diagnosis of fibromyalgia in 1990, the most common symptoms of this disease are: generalized chronic muscle pain in the body, fatigue, sleep disturbances, cognitive and memory problems, as well as depression and anxiety. Between 2 and 4% of the world population suffers, but women are the most affected.

For twenty years, the World Health Organization has recognized fibromyalgia as a rheumatic disease (particularly as a disorder of soft tissues), but some specialists are not convinced about its somatic causes and are inclined towards a possible psychosocial origin.

This controversy around fibromyalgia, added to the impossibility of studying in the remains of a deceased person a condition that leaves no physical consequences, seems to question the supposed illness that tormented Frida Kahlo.

Medical studies on fibromyalgia relate it to an abnormal processing of pain sensation. There are particularly two mechanisms involved with chronic pain (characteristic symptom of rheumatic diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia): one involving the Peripheral Nervous System, and another that is related to the Central Nervous System.

The first mechanism occurs due to a disorder in the peripheral nerves, those that receive the information from the sensory organs and that control the movements of the skeletal muscles. The anomalies can be generated in several ways and produce an enhancement of pain: "physical traumatic events, another disease, accidents or large surgeries, can be associated with the onset of fibromyalgia," he explained. Rubén Burgos Vargas, professor at the Faculty of Medicine of the UNAM and doctor at the General Hospital of Mexico.

The second mechanism operates at the level of the Central Nervous System and produces an amplification of pain sensitivity.

Under normal conditions, the information that comes from the nerve terminals of the sensory organs reaches the spinal cord (site where pain processing occurs), and produces the release of chemicals (called neurotransmitters) that stimulate the sensation of pain and they transmit it to other centers of the brain.

This transmission causes the body to generate stress responses or cardiopulmonary alterations, typical in the perception of pain.

In parallel, in the spinal cord there are other systems, called inhibitory, that are responsible for decreasing the release of excitatory substances and modulate the transmission of information from sensory receptors.

There is evidence that fibromyalgia is associated with an excessive release of the excitatory transmitters of the spinal cord, which is reflected in a greater transmission of pain signals.

According to Burgos Vargas, this abnormality has a genetic origin: "From the biological point of view, it is assumed that there is a genetic predisposition, that is, there are genes involved in the metabolism of the mediators of brain cell function, especially those that they are related to pain receptors. "

58 years after the death of Frida Kahlo, fibromyalgia still presents as an unknown disease.
 


Video Medicine: Somatic Symptom Disorders Part I: New Terminology for New Concepts (September 2021).

Fibromyalgie, maladie somatique?

Frida Kahlo C'est une référence obligatoire quand on parle de peinture mexicaine. Cependant, l'artiste acquiert maintenant une popularité dans un domaine différent: le médecin, pour qui il est devenu une étude de cas. Cela s'est passé après la publication de l'an 2000 dans le magazine Arthrite et rhumatisme une analyse de votre dossier clinique, de votre vie et de votre travail.

Dans l'article, il était suggéré que Frida Khalo souffrait de fibromyalgie, une maladie inconnue à l'époque, qui l'avait affectée une grande partie de sa vie et qu'elle reflétait dans son art.

Selon le Collège américain de rhumatologie Organisme ayant établi les critères de diagnostic de la fibromyalgie en 1990, les symptômes les plus courants de cette maladie sont les suivants: douleur musculaire chronique généralisée dans le corps, fatigue, troubles du sommeil, problèmes de mémoire et de cognition, dépression et anxiété. Entre 2 et 4% de la population mondiale souffre, mais les femmes sont les plus touchées.

Depuis vingt ans, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé reconnaît la fibromyalgie comme une maladie rhumatismale (en particulier un trouble des tissus mous), mais certains spécialistes ne sont pas convaincus de ses causes somatiques et sont enclins à une éventuelle origine psychosociale.

Cette controverse autour de la fibromyalgie, ajoutée à l'impossibilité d'étudier dans les restes d'une personne décédée une condition ne laissant aucune conséquence physique, semble remettre en question la prétendue maladie qui tourmentait Frida Kahlo.

Des études médicales sur la fibromyalgie la relient à un traitement anormal de la sensation de douleur. Il existe en particulier deux mécanismes impliqués dans la douleur chronique (symptôme caractéristique des maladies rhumatismales telles que la polyarthrite rhumatoïde et la fibromyalgie): un impliquant le système nerveux périphérique et un autre lié au système nerveux central.

Le premier mécanisme est dû à un trouble des nerfs périphériques, ceux qui reçoivent les informations des organes sensoriels et qui contrôlent les mouvements des muscles squelettiques. Les anomalies peuvent être générées de différentes manières et produire un soulagement de la douleur: "des événements traumatisants physiques, une autre maladie, des accidents ou des chirurgies de grande envergure peuvent être associés à l'apparition de la fibromyalgie", a-t-il expliqué. Rubén Burgos Vargas, professeur à la faculté de médecine de l'UNAM et médecin à l'Hôpital général du Mexique.

Le second mécanisme fonctionne au niveau du système nerveux central et produit une amplification de la sensibilité à la douleur.

Dans des conditions normales, les informations provenant des terminaisons nerveuses des organes sensoriels atteignent la moelle épinière (site du traitement de la douleur) et produisent la libération de produits chimiques (appelés neurotransmetteurs) qui stimulent la sensation de douleur et ils le transmettent à d'autres centres du cerveau.

Cette transmission amène le corps à générer des réactions de stress ou des altérations cardiopulmonaires, caractéristiques de la perception de la douleur.

En parallèle, il existe dans la moelle épinière d'autres systèmes, appelés inhibiteurs, qui sont responsables de la diminution des rejets de substances excitatrices et modulent la transmission d'informations par les récepteurs sensoriels.

Il est prouvé que la fibromyalgie est associée à une libération excessive des émetteurs excitateurs de la moelle épinière, ce qui se traduit par une transmission accrue des signaux de douleur.

Selon Burgos Vargas, cette anomalie est d'origine génétique: "Du point de vue biologique, il est supposé qu'il existe une prédisposition génétique, c'est-à-dire qu'il existe des gènes impliqués dans le métabolisme des médiateurs de la fonction des cellules cérébrales, en particulier ils sont liés aux récepteurs de la douleur. "

58 ans après le décès de Frida Kahlo, la fibromyalgie se présente toujours comme une maladie inconnue.
 


Médecine Vidéo: Comment guérir les douleurs inexpliquées ? (Octobre 2020).