First vaccines against malaria in 2011

The malaria vaccine tested by the Spanish researcher, Pedro Alonso, has entered its final stage. Although in the opinion of the director of the Center for Research in International Health of the Hospital Clinic of Barcelona (CRESIB), it is "a giant step", it is not the definitive solution to eradicate malaria.

The Prince of Asturias Award also for its fight against malaria, has indicated that the first generation of the vaccine, called RTS's, will be "registered for use in 2011, if all goes well, after the already initiated trials are concluded in the last phase of its development ".

The so-called phase III -started in May 2009- is the last step of the experimentation of a drug before its arrival in the market and, in addition, it is the most extensive study carried out so far in Africa.

It involved 11 centers in countries such as Tanzania, Mozambique, Malawi, Kenya, Ghana, Gabon and Burkina Faso, which will vaccinate with RTS, S to 16 thousand children to test, not so much the efficacy of the drug, already demonstrated in earlier phases, but its security.

Alonso, who directs with his wife Clara Menéndez the health research center of Manhica, in Mozambique, has pointed out that this vaccine is "a step good enough to begin its large-scale application". This vaccine is between 30 and 50 percent effective, given that the malaria parasite is "extraordinarily complex".
 

 

Other experiments

For its part, the research team led by Freya Fowkes of the Walter and Eliza Hall Medical Research Institute in Melbourne, Australia, have identified two molecules of the malaria parasite that could lead to the development of another type of vaccine.

People living in endemic areas develop a natural immunity and this has been the key to the Fowkes studies that have been dedicated to "investigate communities that live in endemic areas to see which antigens are immune and analyze if they can be used to make vaccines, "said Fowkes.

The malaria parasite multiplies by invading the red blood cells of its victims, so the vaccine against malaria has been difficult to manufacture because the parasite is very diverse and has many antigens on its surface.

"With measles, the person is infected by the disease and is immunized for life. With malaria, multiple infections are needed to develop a lasting immunity to the disease. It takes a while to acquire immunity that works for all the different antigens that provide long-term protection against malaria, "explained the Australian researcher.

New hopes that can transform the lives of millions of people in the world.
 


Video Medicine: Malaria Vaccine Study (March 2024).

Premiers vaccins contre le paludisme en 2011

Le vaccin antipaludique testé par le chercheur espagnol Pedro Alonso est entré dans sa phase finale. Bien que, de l’avis du directeur du Centre de recherche en santé internationale de la clinique hospitalière de Barcelone (CRESIB), il s’agisse d’un «pas de géant», ce n’est pas la solution définitive pour éradiquer le paludisme.

Le Prince of Asturias Award, également récompensé pour sa lutte contre le paludisme, a indiqué que la première génération du vaccin, appelée RTS, sera "enregistrée pour utilisation en 2011, si tout va bien, après la fin des essais déjà commencés en la dernière phase de son développement ".

La phase III, qui a débuté en mai 2009, constitue la dernière étape de l'expérimentation d'un médicament avant son arrivée sur le marché. Il s'agit en outre de la plus vaste étude réalisée à ce jour en Afrique.

Il a impliqué 11 centres dans des pays tels que la Tanzanie, le Mozambique, le Malawi, le Kenya, le Ghana, le Gabon et le Burkina Faso, qui vaccineront avec le RTS, environ 16 000 enfants à tester, bien moins l'efficacité du médicament, déjà démontrée dans les phases précédentes, mais sa sécurité.

Alonso, qui dirige avec son épouse Clara Menéndez le centre de recherche sur la santé de Manhica, au Mozambique, a souligné que ce vaccin était "une étape suffisante pour débuter son application à grande échelle". Ce vaccin est efficace entre 30 et 50%, étant donné que le parasite du paludisme est "extraordinairement complexe".
 

 

Autres expériences

Pour sa part, l'équipe de recherche dirigée par Freya Fowkes du Walter and Eliza Hall Institut de recherche médicale de Melbourne, en Australie, a identifié deux molécules du parasite du paludisme qui pourraient conduire au développement d'un autre type de vaccin.

Les personnes vivant dans les zones d’endémie développent une immunité naturelle et c’est la clé des études Fowkes qui se consacrent à «enquêter sur les communautés vivant dans des zones d’endémie pour déterminer quels antigènes sont immunisés et pour déterminer s’ils peuvent être utilisés faire des vaccins ", a déclaré Fowkes.

Le parasite du paludisme se multipliant en envahissant les globules rouges de ses victimes, le vaccin contre le paludisme a donc été difficile à fabriquer, car le parasite est très divers et contient de nombreux antigènes à sa surface.

"Avec la rougeole, la personne est infectée par la maladie et est immunisée à vie. Avec le paludisme, plusieurs infections sont nécessaires pour développer une immunité durable contre la maladie. Il faut un certain temps pour acquérir une immunité efficace pour tous les antigènes offrant une protection à long terme contre le paludisme ", a expliqué le chercheur australien.

Nouveaux espoirs qui peuvent transformer la vie de millions de personnes dans le monde.
 


Médecine Vidéo: La robotique au service de la lutte contre le paludisme. (Septembre 2020).