Five thousand people die every day from HIV in the world

Mexico City, July 20 10 (CIMAC) .- While the governments of the world do not undertake drastic actions to reduce the high incidence of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV / AIDS), considered the first cause of death of the women of reproductive age , "we will not be able to turn the pandemic around", which causes the death of five thousand people every day.

Yves Souteyrand, coordinator of the Strategic Information Unit of the HIV / AIDS department of the World Health Organization (WHO), said during the inauguration of the XVIII International Conference on AIDS (AIDS 2010), which takes place from July 18 to 23, in Vienna, Austria.

At the inauguration last Sunday, the specialist explained that in the last 15 years, a "Drastic" advance in the knowledge of the pandemic , but this only means half of the work to solve the problem, the rest corresponds to government actions, which to date are insufficient to deal with the spread of HIV / AIDS.

While, Knowing the problem is vital to protect human rights , by the "way of the facts" it is required "a drastic action or we will not be able to turn around the pandemic", he warned.

 

Overview of HIV / AIDS in the world

In his paper entitled The state of the epidemic: Human rights and epidemiology , the expert pointed out that at the end of 2008, 33.4 million people were living with HIV, of which 2.1 million were under 15 years old.

The prevalence of the pandemic is 0.8% in the world population, the global number of people with HIV continues to grow, due to the population increase, the high incidence, and the reduction of mortality of people living with the virus.

During 2008, there were 2.7 million people who contracted HIV, of whom 300,000 are minors. In that year 2 million people died due to the virus, including 280 thousand girls and boys.

It is estimated that every day 5 thousand people die for this cause , 7,400 people get sick and only 300 more people get antiretroviral therapy.

Due to the increased use of antiretroviral therapies, mortality decreased since 2004 with a maximum of 2 million deaths. The The impact of this treatment prevents thousands of infections and allows people living with the virus to stay alive, Souteyrand said.


Video Medicine: Prevention, Treatment Efforts Have 'Broken' the Direction of AIDS (February 2023).

Cinq mille personnes meurent chaque jour du VIH dans le monde
immunodéficiences

Cinq mille personnes meurent chaque jour du VIH dans le monde

Mexico, 20 juillet 10 (CIMAC) .- Bien que les gouvernements du monde entier ne prennent pas de mesures drastiques pour réduire l'incidence élevée du virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH / SIDA), considéré comme la première cause de décès du femmes en âge de procréer , "nous ne pourrons pas renverser la pandémie", qui provoque la mort de cinq mille personnes chaque jour.

Yves Souteyrand, coordinateur de l'unité d'information stratégique du département VIH / SIDA de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), a déclaré lors de l'inauguration du XVIIIe Conférence internationale sur le sida (AIDS 2010), qui se déroule du 18 au 23 juillet à Vienne, en Autriche.

Lors de l'inauguration dimanche dernier, le spécialiste a expliqué qu'au cours des 15 dernières années, une Avancée "drastique" dans la connaissance de la pandémie , mais cela ne représente que la moitié du travail pour résoudre le problème, le reste correspond aux actions des gouvernements, qui sont à ce jour insuffisantes pour faire face à la propagation du VIH / SIDA.

Bien que Il est essentiel de connaître le problème pour protéger les droits de l'homme Par le "chemin des faits", il faut "une action radicale ou nous ne pourrons pas renverser la pandémie", a-t-il averti.

 

Vue d'ensemble du VIH / SIDA dans le monde

Dans son article intitulé L'état de l'épidémie: droits de l'homme et épidémiologie L’expert a souligné qu’à la fin de 2008, 33,4 millions de personnes vivaient avec le VIH, dont 2,1 millions avaient moins de 15 ans.

La prévalence de la pandémie est de 0,8% dans la population mondiale, le nombre mondial de personnes vivant avec le VIH continue de croître, en raison de l’accroissement de la population, de la fréquence élevée de son incidence et de la réduction de la mortalité des personnes vivant avec le virus.

En 2008, 2,7 millions de personnes ont contracté le VIH, dont 300 000 sont des mineurs. Au cours de cette année, 2 millions de personnes sont mortes du virus, dont 280 000 filles et garçons.

On estime que chaque jour, 5 000 personnes meurent pour cette cause 7 400 personnes tombent malades et seulement 300 personnes de plus suivent un traitement antirétroviral.

En raison du recours accru aux traitements antirétroviraux, la mortalité a diminué depuis 2004, avec un maximum de 2 millions de décès. Le L'impact de ce traitement prévient des milliers d'infections et permet aux personnes vivant avec le virus de rester en vie, a déclaré Souteyrand.

Médecine Vidéo: 10 MALADIES les plus MORTELLES (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes

Ressourcez-vous et améliorez votre santé avec la vinothérapie

Journée mondiale du droit de naissance

Tout n'est pas bénéfique!