Glaucoma is the third cause of blindness

According to World Health Organization approximately 14 million people in the world suffer from glaucoma; in Mexico it is estimated that 20% of the population is at risk of having said disease, which represents the third cause of blindness in the planet.

The glaucoma It occurs regularly in patients older than 40 years, mostly women, with a family history of this visual disease or who suffer hypertension Y diabetes , but it also occurs after traumatisms , because the patient is treated with cortisone , which is one of the causes of glaucoma secondary, warns Arturo Castilleja Quiles , ophthalmologist Angeles Lindavista Hospital .

Do you use drops?

In cities with a high pollution index it is common to present chronic irritative conjunctivitis , and the affected person goes to the pharmacy to buy anti-inflammatory drops, which usually contain cortisone , This is a steroid that conditions in some people the risk of generating glaucoma , explains the specialist.

In addition, Castilleja Quiles points out that a person with glaucoma may not present any annoyance , irritation or redness until it begins to progressively lose sight. The symptoms of glaucoma are: Intraocular pressure above 20 millimeters of mercury, optic nerves damaged and abnormal visual fields .

The glaucoma it does not cure but there are surgeries that help the Pressure of the eye decrease, as well as medications that control the symptomatology.


Video Medicine: Glaucoma - The Nebraska Medical Center (September 2020).

Le glaucome est la troisième cause de cécité

Selon la Organisation mondiale de la SANTE environ 14 millions de personnes dans le monde souffrent de glaucome; au Mexique, on estime que 20% de la population est à risque de contracter cette maladie, qui représente la troisième cause de la cécité sur la planète.

Le glaucome Il survient régulièrement chez des patients âgés de plus de 40 ans, principalement des femmes, ayant des antécédents familiaux de ce type. maladie visuelle ou qui souffrent l'hypertension et le diabète , mais cela se produit aussi après traumatismes , parce que le patient est traité avec cortisone , qui est l'une des causes de glaucome secondaire, avertit Arturo Castilleja Quiles , ophtalmologiste Hôpital Angeles Lindavista .

Utilisez-vous des gouttes?

Dans les villes à indice de pollution élevé, il est courant de présenter conjonctivite irritative chronique et la personne concernée se rend à la pharmacie pour acheter des gouttes anti-inflammatoires, qui contiennent cortisone , c'est un stéroïde que les conditions chez certaines personnes le risque de générer glaucome , explique le spécialiste.

En outre, Castilleja Quiles souligne qu’une personne atteinte de glaucome peut ne présenter aucun contrariété , irritation o rougeur jusqu'à ce qu'il commence à perdre progressivement de vue. Les symptômes de glaucome ils sont: pression intraoculaire plus de 20 millimètres de mercure, nerfs optiques endommagé et champs visuels anormaux .

Le glaucome ça ne guérit pas mais il y a des chirurgies cela aide le pression de la oeil diminution, ainsi que des médicaments qui contrôlent la symptomatologie.


Médecine Vidéo: Le glaucome (Septembre 2020).