• Home
  • Health technology

Health technology

2 devices to listen better

If the older adult is diagnosed with hearing problems in both ears, it is better to use a hearing aid in each ear from the beginning. The reason is simple: a deteriorated ear that stops being used can lose its ability to interpret the sound, so that if one is lost it will be heard through the other, but there may be difficulty in understanding the message. Read More

Alzheimer's would be prevented with octopus saliva

The octopuses cause an interest that goes beyond the role they have in the culinary world, their intelligence or also their "divinatory arts". Mexican scientists investigate the benefits that these molluscs could offer to human beings, specifically in mental health and, specifically, in Alzheimer's. Read More

Tailor-made cane can prevent falls

When it comes to needing support for walking or after an injury, it is not about using any walking stick. According to the Geriatric Society of the United States (AGS) it is vitally important to get a cane adjusted to the body and the needs of each person. The president of the AGS, John Murphy, offers some recommendations to know how to choose a good cane: Read More

Help fight malaria with text messages

Medical researchers in Kenya sent text messages containing information and advice about malaria to the cell phones of a group of workers in the country for a year. All this to be able to observe how technology helps to prevent and correct treatment against the disease. Read More

Hearing aids for the elderly

Hearing loss is a barrier to the lives of many people who tend to isolate themselves in a world of silence. Worldwide, more than 80% of older adults will develop some degree of hearing loss or prebiotics (sensorineural deafness), due to the normal degenerative process of the body, which occurs more in men than in women in a ratio of 2 to 1. . Read More

Cancer is detected with fluorescent spray

Japanese scientists created a fluorescent spray that detects microscopic cancer cells, which go unnoticed by surgeons and magnetic resonance imaging. According to information published by The Huffington Post. Read More

Smartphone application for the blind

Blindness is considered as the second cause of disability in our country, according to data from the National Institute of Statistics, Geography and Informatics (INEGI), and has a higher incidence in older adults. Read More

Cancer can be detected using electronic nose

Many people in the world die annually due to cancer, mainly due to an absence of timely diagnosis. But what would you think if you knew that there is already a way to detect this disease through an electronic nose? Incredible as this may seem, it is close to the possible. Oncologists from the Technological Institute of Israel, known as Technion, work hard in the creation of an "electronic nanoscale" that will make it possible to detect cancer through the encouragement of patients. According to a study published in the British Journal of Cancer, it showed that the team was able to identify, in preliminary tests, chemical signals of the disease Read More

Chip to exercise people with paraplegia

Experts from Great Britain presented an implantable chip that helps paraplegic people to exercise through the release of electrical impulses. The device, called Active Book (name related to its book form), is very small and can be implanted in the spinal canal, between the spinal nerves, in the channel where the spinal cord is housed. Read More

Pluripotent stem cells could promote cancer

Pluripotent stem cells (capable of generating all the cell types of the body) induced from the skin or hair (called iPS) could have mutations of genes associated with cancerous tumors, the scientific journal publishes Read More

Increase criticism of the WHO alert for cell phone use

A great international malaise has caused the recent announcement of the World Health Organization (WHO) that the cell phone could cause cancer. According to Emilio Alba, president of the Spanish Society of Medical Oncology, "what they have done has been to create a lot of alarm, it has been like throwing a stone in a pond where the waves are spreading. The population has integrated the mobile in their life irreversibly. Read More

Clone human stem cells

Technology in science has exceeded the limits of the imagination. Scientists from the Laboratory of the Stem Cell Foundation of New York used for the first time the cloning called Nuclear Transfer of Somatic Cells, to create embryonic stem cells. Read More

With the cane the activity is supported

A study published by Mayo Clinic Women's HealthSource in 2009, defined that canes are responsible for 25% of body weight. The reasons for its use are multiple, from pain to being a fundamental part of a post-surgical rehabilitation process. Several types and designs circulate in the market. The choice of the ideal model will depend on the condition and suggestion of the experts in orthopedics and rehabilitation. Read More

Learn all about tiflotechnology

Currently, society is dominated by new technologies. And, nevertheless, not all the technological devices existing in the market are susceptible to be used by people with blindness or visual impairment. Read More

Confuse the smell of mosquitoes prevents pickets

In the hot season, like the one we are currently experiencing, it is very common for mosquitoes to spread. Those annoying insects that in addition to making us sleepless nights for their incessant buzz, when they bite us leave behind annoying welts that cause itching and a terrible discomfort. But not only that, these bugs are responsible for the transmission of deadly diseases such as dengue and malaria. Mosquitoes are able to smell humans, it is because of them that they are constantly on the lookout, like predators watching their prey. They wait for the right moment to take us unawares and then they launch their attack against any part of Read More

Artificial heart is a reality in Mexico

Have you ever imagined that technology would help you extend your life? This is a reality after the Hospital de Cardiología of the National Medical Center Siglo XXI, of the Mexican Social Security Institute (IMSS), will perform the first artificial heart transplant in Mexico and Latin America. Read More

Technologie de la santé

2 appareils pour mieux écouter

Si on diagnostique des problèmes d'audition aux deux oreilles chez la personne âgée, il est préférable d'utiliser un appareil auditif dans chaque oreille dès le début. La raison est simple: une oreille détériorée qui cesse d'être utilisée peut perdre sa capacité d'interpréter le son. Si l'une d'elles est perdue, elle sera entendue par l'autre, mais il peut être difficile de comprendre le message. Lire La Suite

La salive de poulpe préviendrait la maladie d'Alzheimer

Les pieuvres suscitent un intérêt allant au-delà de leur rôle dans le monde culinaire, de leur intelligence ou encore de leurs "arts divinatoires". Des scientifiques mexicains étudient les avantages que ces mollusques pourraient offrir aux êtres humains, notamment en matière de santé mentale et, plus particulièrement, d’Alzheimer. Lire La Suite

La canne sur mesure peut prévenir les chutes

Lorsqu'il s'agit d'avoir besoin d'aide pour marcher ou après une blessure, il ne s'agit pas d'utiliser un bâton de marche. Selon la Société de gériatrie des États-Unis (AGS), il est primordial d’ajuster une canne au corps et aux besoins de chaque personne. Le président de l'AGS, John Murphy, propose quelques recommandations pour savoir comment choisir une bonne canne: Lire La Suite

Aidez à combattre le paludisme avec des messages texte

Les chercheurs médicaux au Kenya ont envoyé des SMS contenant des informations et des conseils sur le paludisme aux téléphones portables d'un groupe de travailleurs dans le pays pendant un an. Tout cela pour pouvoir observer comment la technologie aide à prévenir et à corriger les traitements contre la maladie. Lire La Suite

Prothèses auditives pour les personnes âgées

La perte d'audition est un obstacle à la vie de nombreuses personnes qui ont tendance à s'isoler dans un monde de silence. Dans le monde, plus de 80% des personnes âgées développeront un certain degré de perte auditive ou de prébiotiques (surdité neurosensorielle), en raison du processus dégénératif normal du corps, qui survient davantage chez les hommes que chez les femmes dans un rapport de 2 à 1. . Lire La Suite

Le cancer est détecté avec un spray fluorescent

Des scientifiques japonais ont créé un spray fluorescent qui détecte les cellules cancéreuses microscopiques, qui passent inaperçues aux chirurgiens et à l'imagerie par résonance magnétique. Selon des informations publiées par The Huffington Post. Lire La Suite

Application smartphone pour les aveugles

La cécité est considérée comme la deuxième cause d'invalidité dans notre pays, selon les données de l'Institut national de statistique, de géographie et d'informatique (INEGI), et son incidence est plus élevée chez les personnes âgées. Lire La Suite

Le cancer peut être détecté en utilisant le nez électronique

De nombreuses personnes dans le monde meurent chaque année des suites d'un cancer, principalement en raison de l'absence de diagnostic en temps voulu. Mais que penseriez-vous si vous saviez qu'il existe déjà un moyen de détecter cette maladie par un nez électronique? Aussi incroyable que cela puisse paraître, c'est proche du possible. Les oncologues de l'Institut technologique d'Israël, connu sous le nom de Technion, travaillent d'arrache-pied à la création d'une "échelle nanométrique électronique" qui permettra de détecter le cancer grâce aux encouragements des patients. Selon une étude publiée dans le British Journal of Cancer, l’équipe a p Lire La Suite

Puce pour exercer les personnes avec paraplégie

Des experts de Grande-Bretagne ont présenté une puce implantable qui aide les paraplégiques à faire de l'exercice en libérant des impulsions électriques. Le dispositif, appelé Active Book (nom lié à sa forme de livre), est très petit et peut être implanté dans le canal rachidien, entre les nerfs spinaux, dans le canal dans lequel se trouve la moelle épinière. Lire La Suite

Augmenter les critiques sur l'alerte de l'OMS pour l'utilisation du téléphone portable

Un grave malaise international est à l'origine de la récente annonce de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) selon laquelle le téléphone cellulaire pourrait causer le cancer. Selon Emilio Alba, président de la Société espagnole d'oncologie médicale, "ce qu'ils ont fait a été de beaucoup alarmer, c'est comme jeter une pierre dans un étang où les vagues se propagent. La population a intégré le mobile dans sa vie de manière irréversible. Lire La Suite

Cloner des cellules souches humaines

La technologie en science a dépassé les limites de l'imagination. Des scientifiques du laboratoire de la Fondation des cellules souches de New York ont ​​utilisé pour la première fois le clonage appelé Transfert nucléaire de cellules somatiques, afin de créer des cellules souches embryonnaires. Lire La Suite

Avec la canne l'activité est soutenue

Une étude publiée par la Mayo Clinic Women's HealthSource en 2009 a indiqué que les cannes sont responsables de 25% du poids corporel. Les raisons de son utilisation sont multiples, de la douleur à l’élément fondamental du processus de rééducation postopératoire. Plusieurs types et dessins circulent sur le marché. Le choix du modèle idéal dépendra de la condition et de la suggestion des experts en orthopédie et en réadaptation. Lire La Suite

Tout savoir sur la tiflotechnologie

Actuellement, la société est dominée par les nouvelles technologies. Et, néanmoins, tous les dispositifs technologiques existant sur le marché ne sont pas susceptibles d’être utilisés par des personnes aveugles ou ayant une déficience visuelle. Lire La Suite

Confondre l'odeur des moustiques empêche les piquets de grève

À la saison chaude, comme celle que nous connaissons actuellement, il est très fréquent que les moustiques se propagent. Ces insectes agaçants qui, en plus de nous rendre insomniaques en raison de leur bourdonnement incessant, nous mordent, laissent derrière nous des plaies gênantes qui provoquent des démangeaisons et un inconfort terrible. Mais pas seulement cela, ces insectes sont responsables de la transmission de maladies mortelles telles que la dengue et le paludisme. Les moustiques sont capables de sentir les humains, c’est grâce à eux qu’ils sont constamment à l’affût, comme des prédateurs qui surveillent leurs proies. Ils attendent le Lire La Suite

Le cœur artificiel est une réalité au Mexique

Avez-vous déjà imaginé que la technologie vous aiderait à prolonger votre vie? C’est une réalité après que l’Hôpital de cardiologie du Centre médical national Siglo XXI, de l’Institut mexicain de la sécurité sociale (IMSS), réalise la première transplantation cardiaque artificielle au Mexique et en Amérique latine. Lire La Suite