Heart disease gets worse with age

More bad news for overweight Americans: a 30-year study finds that the risk of heart disease increases the longer a person is obese.

"Each year of obesity was associated with an increase of 2 to 4% in the risk of coronary heart disease subclinical, "said the study's lead author, Jared Reis, epidemiologist at the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute of the USA UU
 

A heart disease "subclinical" means damage in the arteries that appears in markers, such as, for example, the accumulation of calcium on the walls of the arteries , but that has not yet become a symptomatic disease.

"Those who had the longest duration of general obesity and abdominal obesity tended to have the greatest risk" of subclinical disease said Reis.

The report was published in the July 17 edition of the Journal of the American Medical Association.

In the new study, Reis' team used scanners to track the accumulation of calcium in the arteries cardiac events of almost 3,300 adults aged 18 to 30 years. When the study began in the mid-1980s, none of the participants was obese.

But over the course of the study, more than 40% became obese and 41% developed abdominal obesity (excessive belly fat). Those who became obese tended to stay that way for years, the researchers noted.

The researchers found that 27.5% of long-term obese participants showed signs of heart disease, and the problem got worse the longer the individual was obese.

More than 38% of those who spent more than 20 years with obesity had calcified arteries, compared to only about a quarter of those who never increased that excess weight, the findings showed.

Among those with general obesity, 6.5% had a arterial calcification "extensive" more dangerous, like 9% of those who had obesity around the belly. In contrast, only about 5% of those who were not obese had extensive calcification, the researchers found.

Reis said the findings could have serious implications for Americans as they get older.
"With the increase in cases of obesity in the last 30 years, younger individuals are becoming more obese at a younger age than in previous generations," he noted.

"This longer duration of obesity could have important implications for future suffering due to heart disease subclinical and potentially for the rates of heart disease clinic in the United States ".

Another expert in the heart agreed

"The rates of obesity in children and adults have increased markedly in the United States, in the last 25 years", lamented the Dr. Gregg Fonarow, professor of cardiology at the University of California , in Los Angeles. "This is particularly worrying given that obesity is associated with an increased risk of diabetes, andcardiovascular disease premature and mortality ".


Video Medicine: Do You Know The Warning Signs of Heart Disease? (September 2021).

La maladie cardiaque s'aggrave avec l'âge

Plus de mauvaises nouvelles pour les Américains en surpoids: une étude de 30 ans révèle que le risque de maladie cardiaque augmente plus une personne est obèse longtemps.

"Chaque année d'obésité était associée à une augmentation de 2 à 4% du risque de maladie coronarienne sous-clinique ", a déclaré l'auteur principal de l'étude, Jared Reis, épidémiologiste à l'Institut national américain du coeur, du poumon et du sang UU
 

Ongle maladie cardiaque "subclinique" signifie des dommages dans la les artères apparaissant dans les marqueurs, tels que, par exemple, l'accumulation de calcium sur les murs du les artères , mais cela n’est pas encore devenu une maladie symptomatique.

"Ceux qui avaient la plus longue durée d'obésité générale et d'obésité abdominale avaient tendance à avoir le plus grand risque" maladie subclinique dit Reis.

Le rapport a été publié dans l'édition du 17 juillet du Journal de l'American Medical Association.

Dans la nouvelle étude, l'équipe de Reis a utilisé des scanners pour suivre l'accumulation de calcium dans les artères événements cardiaques de près de 3 300 adultes âgés de 18 à 30 ans. Lorsque l'étude a commencé au milieu des années 1980, aucun des participants n'était obèse.

Mais au cours de l'étude, plus de 40% sont devenus obèses et 41% ont développé une obésité abdominale (graisse abdominale excessive). Ceux qui sont devenus obèses avaient tendance à rester comme ça pendant des années, ont noté les chercheurs.

Les chercheurs ont constaté que 27,5% des participants obèses de longue durée présentaient des signes de maladie cardiaque, et le problème a empiré plus l'individu était obèse longtemps.

Plus de 38% des personnes souffrant d'obésité depuis plus de 20 ans avaient des artères calcifiées, contre seulement un quart environ de celles qui n'avaient jamais augmenté cet excès de poids, ont révélé les résultats.

Parmi ceux souffrant d’obésité générale, 6,5% avaient un calcification artérielle "extensif" plus dangereux, comme 9% de ceux qui ont l'obésité autour du ventre. En revanche, seuls 5% environ des personnes non obèses avaient une calcification importante, ont découvert les chercheurs.

Reis a déclaré que les résultats pourraient avoir de graves conséquences pour les Américains à mesure qu'ils vieillissent.
"Avec l'augmentation du nombre de cas d'obésité au cours des 30 dernières années, les jeunes individus deviennent plus obèses à un âge plus précoce que lors des générations précédentes", a-t-il noté.

"Cette durée plus longue de l'obésité pourrait avoir des conséquences importantes sur les souffrances futures dues au maladie cardiaque subclinique et potentiellement pour les taux de maladie cardiaque clinique aux États-Unis ".

Un autre expert dans le coeur a accepté

"Les taux d'obésité chez les enfants et les adultes ont nettement augmenté aux États-Unis au cours des 25 dernières années", a déploré le Dr. Gregg Fonarow, professeur de cardiologie à l'Université de Californie à Los Angeles. "Ceci est particulièrement inquiétant étant donné que l'obésité est associée à un risque accru de diabète, etmaladie cardiovasculaire prématuré et mortalité ".


Médecine Vidéo: Jean-Pierre Pernaut : sa santé pourrait lui faire quitter le JT (Octobre 2020).