How is a brain death declared?

When does the brain die? For centuries it was considered that death occurred when the heart stopped beating and breathing ceased; However, the possibility of maintaining both functions by devices led doctors to contemplate a new criterion.

At the end of the 60's, a committee of the Harvard University he formulated the term "cerebral death" for the first time, arguing that the brain is the organ on which all the functions of the body depend. Therefore, a severe damage in its structure that produces the cessation of its activity should be considered synonymous with death.

You may also be interested: Drinking water improves brain functioning

At the same time, with the development of transplants as a therapeutic alternative, the need arose to recover organs and tissues, which led to an advance in the diagnosis of brain death.

 

How is a brain death declared?

The diagnosis of brain death is carried out under strict medical criteria that each country establishes in its sanitary legislation.

In the Mexican case, the General Law of Health requires the confirmation of the total absence of electrical activity of the brain by means of the electrocardiogram, although there are other valid methods in various parts of the world, among them, the one of the "provoked potentials" and the Doppler Transcranial, the latter reflects the amount of blood that flows to the arteries of the brain.

One of the works of the Clinical Neurophysiology Unit of the Faculty of Medicine of the UNAM , located in the Hospital Juárez de México, is to confirm the diagnosis of brain death by means of all these procedures. It is important to note that only some national institutions have the equipment and trained personnel to do so.

However the doctor Ulises Aguilar , responsible for the unit said that in this space has both characteristics, because what is sought is "to make more efficient the assessment of the patient and promote organ donation," concluded the university doctor.


Video Medicine: Miraculous recovery for 13-year-old declared brain dead (April 2021).

Comment une mort cérébrale est-elle déclarée?

Quand le cerveau meurt-il? Pendant des siècles, on a considéré que la mort se produisait lorsque le cœur cessait de battre et que la respiration cessait; Cependant, la possibilité de maintenir les deux fonctions au moyen d'appareils a amené les médecins à envisager un nouveau critère.

A la fin des années 60, un comité du Université de Harvard il a formulé pour la première fois le terme de "mort cérébrale", arguant que le cerveau est l'organe dont dépendent toutes les fonctions du corps. Par conséquent, un dommage grave dans sa structure qui entraîne la cessation de son activité devrait être considéré comme synonyme de mort.

Vous pouvez également être intéressé: L'eau potable améliore le fonctionnement du cerveau

Parallèlement, avec le développement des greffes comme alternative thérapeutique, la nécessité de récupérer des organes et des tissus est apparue, ce qui a permis d’avancer dans le diagnostic de la mort cérébrale.

 

Comment une mort cérébrale est-elle déclarée?

Le diagnostic de mort cérébrale est effectué selon des critères médicaux stricts que chaque pays établit dans sa législation sanitaire.

Au Mexique, la loi générale sur la santé exige la confirmation de l'absence totale d'activité électrique du cerveau au moyen de l'électrocardiogramme, bien qu'il existe d'autres méthodes valables dans diverses parties du monde, parmi lesquelles celle des "potentiels provoqués" et du doppler. Transcrânien, ce dernier reflète la quantité de sang qui coule vers les artères du cerveau.

Une des oeuvres du Unité de neurophysiologie clinique de la faculté de médecine de l'UNAM , situé à l'hôpital Juárez de México, confirmera le diagnostic de mort cérébrale au moyen de toutes ces procédures. Il est important de noter que seules certaines institutions nationales disposent du matériel et du personnel formé pour le faire.

Cependant, le docteur Ulises Aguilar , responsable de l'unité a déclaré que dans cet espace a les deux caractéristiques, parce que ce qui est recherché est "de rendre plus efficace l'évaluation du patient et de promouvoir le don d'organes", a conclu le médecin de l'université.


Médecine Vidéo: Moment de la mort Quand débrancher ? (Octobre 2020).