Liver: between bigger and more delicate

If it were a riddle, we would say: it is the largest organ of the body, but at the same time the most delicate, it is damaged more frequently than the others. If it fails to function, skin and eyes take a yellowish tone and is a producer of bile, what organ is spoken of? In effect, of the liver.

This is the largest glandular organ in the body; represents 2 to 5% of body weight. It is constituted by four lobes of different size and shape, and is located on the right side of the abdominal cavity, just below the diaphragm.

The liver performs many and important functions in the body: it synthesizes proteins, such as albumin, which allows several substances to be transported by the blood; elaborates large quantities of phospholipids, essential to build the membranes of cells; stores glucose in the form of glycogen that functions as a store of fuel and stores vitamins.

It produces bile, a substance that facilitates the absorption of fat contained in food; neutralizes and eliminates toxic substances that can be absorbed from the food, beverages and medicines that we ingest.

Although it is one of the most important filters in the body, this is one of the most frequently damaged organs. The common indicators of a problem in its functioning are weakness, appearance of a yellowish hue in skin and eyes, loss of appetite, vomiting and diarrhea.

Some viral infections, the alcoholism and the obesity , are the main causes of liver diseases .

Fortunately, the liver has an enormous reserve and regeneration capacity, and when it suffers moderate damage, its structure and function can recover. On the other hand, when the damage is persistent, extensive and severe, the gradual destruction of the liver cells and the accumulation of fibrous tissue cause their structure and function to be irreversibly altered.

However, the researcher Victoria Chagoya, of the Institute of Cellular Physiology of the National Autonomous University of Mexico , more than two decades ago he discovered that the substance called adenosine can recover liver function even when it is already damaged by cirrhosis . The finding allowed the creation of a drug that showed effectiveness in Mexican patients.

The prevention of viral infections and a healthy diet free of toxins is one of the simplest ways to keep this organ healthy, a central element for metabolism and detoxification of the body. A malfunction can be very serious and affect other organs, such as the kidney and the brain.

Science contributes to improving our quality of life, participates in the Citizen Agenda of Science Technology and Innovation, a national consultation in which you can choose the challenges you consider must confront science and technology to achieve a better quality of life in the year 2030 You can vote the challenge that seems most important to you in:www.agendaciudadana.mx


Video Medicine: 3 Signs and Symptoms You Have Leaky Gut Syndrome (May 2021).

Foie: entre plus gros et plus délicat

Si c’était une énigme, nous dirions: c’est le plus grand organe du corps, mais en même temps le plus délicat, il est endommagé plus fréquemment que les autres. Si elle ne fonctionne pas, si la peau et les yeux prennent une teinte jaunâtre et est producteur de bile, de quel organe parle-t-on? En effet, du foie.

C'est le plus grand organe glandulaire du corps; représente 2 à 5% du poids corporel. Il est constitué de quatre lobes de taille et de forme différentes et se situe du côté droit de la cavité abdominale, juste en dessous du diaphragme.

Le foie remplit de nombreuses et importantes fonctions dans le corps: il synthétise des protéines, telles que l'albumine, qui permet à plusieurs substances d'être transportées par le sang; élabore de grandes quantités de phospholipides, indispensables à la construction des membranes des cellules; stocke le glucose sous forme de glycogène servant de réserve de carburant et stocke les vitamines.

Il produit de la bile, une substance qui facilite l'absorption des graisses contenues dans les aliments. neutralise et élimine les substances toxiques pouvant être absorbées par les aliments, les boissons et les médicaments que nous ingérons.

Bien que ce soit l'un des filtres les plus importants du corps, il s'agit de l'un des organes les plus fréquemment endommagés. Les indicateurs communs d’un problème de fonctionnement sont la faiblesse, l’apparition d’une teinte jaunâtre de la peau et des yeux, une perte d’appétit, des vomissements et une diarrhée.

Certaines infections virales, la alcoolisme et la L'obésité , sont les principales causes de maladies du foie .

Heureusement, le foie possède une réserve et une capacité de régénération énormes et, lorsqu'il subit des dommages modérés, sa structure et son fonctionnement peuvent se rétablir. D'autre part, lorsque les dommages sont persistants, étendus et graves, la destruction progressive des cellules du foie et l'accumulation de tissu fibreux entraînent une modification irréversible de leur structure et de leur fonction.

Cependant, le chercheur Victoria Chagoya, de l'Institut de physiologie cellulaire de l'Université nationale autonome du Mexique , il y a plus de deux décennies, il a découvert que la substance appelée adénosine peut récupérer fonction hépatique même quand il est déjà endommagé par la cirrhose . La découverte a permis la création d'un médicament qui a montré son efficacité chez les patients mexicains.

La prévention des infections virales et une alimentation saine, sans toxines, est l’un des moyens les plus simples de maintenir cet organe en santé, élément central du métabolisme et de la détoxification du corps. Un dysfonctionnement peut être très grave et toucher d'autres organes, tels que le rein et le cerveau.

La science contribue à améliorer notre qualité de vie, participe à l'agenda citoyen de la science, de la technologie et de l'innovation, une consultation nationale dans laquelle vous pouvez choisir les défis que vous envisagez doit confronter la science et la technologie pour parvenir à une meilleure qualité de vie en 2030 Vous pouvez voter le défi qui vous semble le plus important dans:www.agendaciudadana.mx


Médecine Vidéo: 10 Énigmes difficiles avec réponses pour les esprits les plus fins (Avril 2021).