Mayo Clinic finds out why measles is spreading

Scientists of Mayo Clinic they announced that the virus of the measles uses a protein (called nectin 4 ) to infect the person who serves as a guest, and then spreads from its strategic location in the throat.


The virus attacks from the trachea of ​​the infected person, who causes coughing and fills the air with particles ready to infect the next victim. Studies could also help in the fight against ovarian cancer , mom Y lung


The results published in the November issue of the journal Nature They allowed scientists to understand why some respiratory viruses spread faster and easier than others.


Despite the development of the vaccine against measles , annually the virus continues to infect more than 10 million children and claims the lives of around 120 thousand worldwide.


In recent years, the dispersion of the virus increased due to the shortage of vaccinated people, being the measles still a major health problem in the United States.


Why is measles so contagious?

In this regard, the doctor Roberto Cattaneo , principal investigator of the study and Mayo Clinic molecular biologist notes: "The virus of measles He developed a strategy: first he kidnaps the immune cells that patrol the lungs, with the purpose of getting inside the victim who serves as his guest and then moves to other immune cells throughout the body. "


"However, the immune cells only deliver their viral load to the cells that express the protein nectin 4, which is the new receptor. It is important to note that these cells are located in the trachea, so that the virus arises from the exact point you need to facilitate the infection. "


Because the measles points diligently towards the nectin 4 , cancer therapy based on measles could be more successful among patients whose Cancer expresses nectin 4 . Many scientists believe that modified viruses can be a less toxic alternative to chemotherapy and the radiation .


The doctor Cattaneo worked with other colleagues of the Institute Paul Ehrlich of Germany, with doctors Mathieu Mateo and Chanakha Navaratnarajah of Mayo Clinic , as well as with other colleagues from the University of Iowa, of the Armand Frappier Institute of Montreal in Canada.

Follow us on Twitter Y Facebook .

If you are interested in receiving more information on this topic, do not hesitate register with us.


Video Medicine: Vaccines and Preventing Side Effects-Mayo Clinic (September 2022).

La clinique Mayo découvre pourquoi la rougeole se propage

Scientifiques de Clinique Mayo ils ont annoncé que le virus de la rougeole utilise une protéine (appelée nectine 4 ) d’infecter la personne qui fait office d’invité, puis se propage à partir de son emplacement stratégique dans la gorge.


Le virus attaque la trachée de la personne infectée, qui provoque la toux et remplit l'air de particules prêtes à infecter la prochaine victime. Des études pourraient également aider à lutter contre cancer de l'ovaire , maman et poumon


Les résultats publiés dans le numéro de novembre de la revue La nature Ils ont permis aux scientifiques de comprendre pourquoi certains virus respiratoires se propagent plus rapidement et plus facilement que d’autres.


Malgré le développement du vaccin contre rougeole Chaque année, le virus continue d’infecter plus de 10 millions d’enfants et de tuer environ 120 000 personnes dans le monde.


Au cours des dernières années, la dispersion du virus a augmenté en raison de la pénurie de personnes vaccinées. rougeole toujours un problème de santé majeur aux États-Unis.


Pourquoi la rougeole est-elle si contagieuse?

À cet égard, le médecin Roberto Cattaneo , investigateur principal de l'étude et Biologiste moléculaire de la clinique Mayo notes: "Le virus de rougeole Il a développé une stratégie: il commence par kidnapper les cellules immunitaires qui patrouillent les poumons, dans le but de pénétrer à l'intérieur de la victime qui lui sert d'invité, puis de passer à d'autres cellules immunitaires dans tout le corps. "


"Cependant, les cellules immunitaires ne transmettent leur charge virale qu'aux cellules exprimant la protéine nectine 4, qui est le nouveau récepteur. Il est important de noter que ces cellules sont situées dans la trachée, de sorte que le virus provient du point exact dont vous avez besoin pour faciliter l’infection. "


Parce que le rougeole pointe diligemment vers le nectine 4 traitement anticancéreux basé sur la rougeole pourrait être plus efficace chez les patients cancer exprime nectine 4 . De nombreux scientifiques pensent que les virus modifiés peuvent constituer une solution moins toxique que les virus. chimiothérapie et la rayonnement .


Le docteur Cattaneo a travaillé avec d'autres collègues de l'Institut Paul Ehrlich d'Allemagne, avec les docteurs Mathieu Mateo et Chanakha Navaratnarajah de Clinique Mayo , ainsi qu’avec d’autres collègues de l’Université de l’Iowa, de l’Institut Armand Frappier de Montréal au Canada.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter et Facebook .

Si vous souhaitez recevoir plus d'informations sur ce sujet, n'hésitez pas s'inscrire avec nous.


Médecine Vidéo: 1 docteur jean elmiger " la vaccination est la plus grande erreur de la médecine" (Août 2022).