Mental health, from the porfiriato to present-day Mexico

About the celebrations of the bicentennial of Mexico and the premiere of the book "The Castañeda" from the author Cristina Rivera Garza, which tells the story of the General Asylum from the era of the Porfiriato that was sent to the "crazy" people, was inaugurated on September 1, 1910 and worked for 50 years. It's worth stopping to analyze the changes in mental health that we have had in Mexico until now.

Unfortunately, 100 years ago, psychiatry was not yet a highly developed science. They were about the beginnings of this medical specialty in Mexico , that began with his first practices in the pavilions of La Castañeda. The diagnoses of the doctors to the patients were not always accurate, a confrontation between their real suffering and what was then diagnosed.

La Castañeda served as a shelter and shelter for the abandoned, alcoholics, madmen and prostitutes, all with the purpose of cleaning the Porfirian image of the country. In fact, in the same hospital there were incredibly specific divisions for all the inmates, from the poor to the rich and from the dangerous crazy to the prostitutes.

Today it is known and defined according to the document "Mental Health in Mexico", carried out by Dr. Juan Martín Sandoval De Escurdia and Lic. María Paz Richard Muñóz, for the Research and Analysis Service of the Social Policy Division of the LIX Legislature of the Chamber of Deputies: the mental health it is a complex phenomenon determined by multiple social, environmental, biological and psychological factors, and includes conditions such as depression, anxiety, epilepsy, dementia, schizophrenia, and developmental disorders in childhood, some of which have been aggravated in recent times.

 

Social policy and current affairs

In this sense, to ensure that the population maintains mental health, in addition to physical health, depends, in large part, on the successful implementation of public health actions to prevent, treat and rehabilitate.

Another inherent aspect of social policy is that mental health is related as well as physical health, with poverty, where the incidence of these diseases requires from the affected ones a greater proportion of the few income they generate, in addition to the incapacitating which result, which as a consequence diminish or slow down the development potential of people and therefore of family nuclei.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), mental health is the well-being that a person experiences as a result of their good functioning in the cognitive, affective and behavioral aspects, and, ultimately, the optimal deployment of their individual potentialities for coexistence, work and recreation.

Currently, depression is the frequently overlooked and systematically underdiagnosed disease, although it contributes to significantly undermine the quality of life of older adults. Mild and severe depression increases significantly above 75 years in general, is greater among women, according to the publication "Health and well-being of the elderly in Mexico City", distributed by the Pan American Health Organization in 2005 .

That is why mental health has always been part of the history of our country and of the human being as a whole.


Video Medicine: MEXICO - WikiVidi Documentary (June 2021).

Santé mentale, du porfiriato au Mexique actuel

À propos des célébrations du bicentenaire de Mexico et de la première du livre "Le castañeda" de l'auteur Cristina Rivera Garza, qui raconte l'histoire de l'asile général de l'époque du Porfiriato qui a été envoyé au peuple "fou", a été inaugurée le 1 er septembre 1910 et a travaillé pendant 50 ans. Il vaut la peine de s’arrêter pour analyser les changements dans santé mentale que nous avons eu au Mexique jusqu'à maintenant.

Malheureusement, il y a 100 ans, la psychiatrie n'était pas encore une science hautement développée. Ils étaient sur les débuts de cette spécialité médicale dans Mexique , cela a commencé avec ses premières pratiques dans les pavillons de La Castañeda. Les diagnostics des médecins aux patients n'étaient pas toujours précis, une confrontation entre leurs souffrances réelles et ce qui était alors diagnostiqué.

La Castañeda a servi d'abri et d'abri aux alcooliques, aux fous et aux prostitués abandonnés, dans le but de nettoyer l'image porfirienne du pays. En fait, dans le même hôpital il y avait des divisions incroyablement spécifiques pour tous les détenus, des pauvres aux riches et des dangereux fous aux prostituées.

Aujourd'hui, il est connu et défini selon le document "La santé mentale au Mexique", réalisé par le Dr Juan Martín Sandoval De Escurdia et la licenciée María Paz Richard Muñóz, pour le Service de recherche et d'analyse de la Division de la politique sociale de la LIX législature de la Chambre des députés: la santé mentale C’est un phénomène complexe, déterminé par de multiples facteurs sociaux, environnementaux, biologiques et psychologiques. Il comprend des états tels que la dépression, l’anxiété, l’épilepsie, la démence, la schizophrénie et des troubles du développement pendant l’enfance, dont certains ont été observés. aggravée ces derniers temps.

 

Politique sociale et actualité

En ce sens, le maintien de la santé mentale de la population, en plus de la santé physique, dépend en grande partie de la mise en œuvre réussie des actions de santé publique visant à prévenir, traiter et réhabiliter.

Un autre aspect inhérent de la politique sociale est que la santé mentale est liée, de même que la santé physique, à la pauvreté, où l’incidence de ces maladies exige des personnes touchées une plus grande proportion du peu de revenu qu’elles génèrent, en plus des maladies incapacitantes. qui en résultent diminuent ou ralentissent le potentiel de développement des personnes et donc des noyaux familiaux.

Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), la santé mentale est le bien-être d’une personne en raison de son bon fonctionnement sur les plans cognitif, affectif et comportemental et, finalement, le déploiement optimal de ses potentialités individuelles pour coexistence, travail et loisirs.

Actuellement, la dépression est la maladie souvent négligée et systématiquement sous-diagnostiquée, bien qu'elle contribue à nuire considérablement à la qualité de vie des personnes âgées. Selon la publication "Santé et bien-être des personnes âgées à Mexico", distribuée par l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé en 2005, la dépression légère et grave augmente considérablement au-dessus de 75 ans en général. Elle est plus importante chez les femmes. .

C'est pourquoi la santé mentale a toujours fait partie de l'histoire de notre pays et de l'être humain dans son ensemble.


Médecine Vidéo: El lado bueno de: Porfirio Díaz | Qué hizo por México? (Septembre 2020).