Mental

Alzheimer's is responsible for 65% of senile dementias

For Dr. José Manuel Martínez Lage, coordinator of the Scientific Committee of the Spanish Confederation of Relatives of People with Alzheimer's and other dementias (CEAFA), the difference between Alzheimer's and senile dementia is clear: "It's like calling everything there is in a fruit bowl, instead of pears, apples or lemons ". The term senile dementia, he adds, is so general that it should disappear from medical terms. "Alzheimer's is the most frequent senile dementia and is the disease responsible for approximately 65% ​​of senile dementias. Senile dementias can have different causes. Senile dementia can occur due to Alzheimer's disease, Read More

Alzheimer's and vascular dementia

There are two types of dementia that occur in older adults: Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia (or cerebral multi-infarcts). Studies conducted around the world have shown that they are the two main causes of dementia. Read More

Alzheimer's: aggressive and disabling

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), almost 20 million people on the planet are sick with Alzheimer's. In Mexico, around 500 thousand people are affected, although this figure could triple by the year 2050, if we consider the increase in life expectancy in addition, that one in four Mexicans will be 65 years old and prone to the disease. Read More

Benefits of brain training

In today's world, scientists have come to the conclusion that brain training can and should improve capacity. Just as physical exercise is good for the body, the training of this body helps the mind to function better, and the benefits can last for years. Read More

8 reasons to exercise the mind

In a study on August 4, 2009 published by Neurology, it was reported that people engaged in brain training exercises, such as reading, writing and card games can, delay the onset of a rapid decline in memory that if it occurs, later they develop dementia. Read More

How to face a patient with Alzheimer's

When talking about Alzheimer's disease, the cause or origin that causes it is still unknown. Research has been conducted on its etiology for a long time, which usually focus on factors such as exogenous toxins, genetic immunology or viral agents. Read More

Senile dementia, a way to leave this world

So there is no doubt: senile dementia is a disease and is not part of the normal aging process. Although older adults, as they get older, take part in a series of physical and mental changes, this does not mean that they have to suffer from some kind of dementia. Read More

Caring for a person with Alzheimer's

Several associations for Alzheimer's from both Mexico and the United States have developed a series of guides for family members who have a person with Alzheimer's or other senile dementia at home. Read More

Aging is not associated with neuronal loss

A series of studies conducted at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (FMVZ) of the University of Sao Paulo (USP), in Brazil, suggests that the aging process is not necessarily associated with a decrease in the number of neurons, this counting can remain stable or even increase in the elderly. The research is carried out in said university under the coordination of the stereologist Antonio Augusto Coppi. Read More

Brain exercise to exercise memory

Previously it was believed that memory loss and confusion were part of the normal aging process, but this is no longer the case. Nowadays, several studies show that most people stay alert and have good use of their faculties as they get older, although it may take a little longer to remember things. The specialists of the National Institute on Aging of the United States (NIA, for its acronym in English) indicate that a combination of small mental exercises, healthy habits and a healthy diet, is the key to exercise the memory of all, not only the one of the elderly Tips to exercise memory Solving crosswords and sudoku, memorizing the super lis Read More

Geriatrics and health care

In these modern times, when there are medicines available for countless diseases and every pain that one feels, there is still no one that replaces the care and love needed to care for the elderly, especially if they are an important part of our lives. Read More

The battle against dementia

The loss of mental functions, such as memory retention and reasoning, are among the biggest problems faced by the elderly. Dementia is one of them, with Alzheimer's disease as the common cause. Doctors and researchers are trying to determine how to delay or even reverse the effects of these diseases by training the brain. Understanding dementia and Alzheimer's Read More

Exercise protects against Alzheimer's

Doing physical exercise constantly and for pleasure, creates a protective and therapeutic effect against Alzheimer's. This was ensured by the study of the CSIC (Spanish State Agency for Scientific Research) of Spain, which was published in the Journal of Alzheimers' Disease. Read More

Mental

La maladie d'Alzheimer est responsable de 65% des démences séniles

Pour le Dr José Manuel Martínez Lage, coordinateur du Comité scientifique de la Confédération espagnole des parents de personnes atteintes de la maladie d'Alzheimer et d'autres démences (CEAFA), la différence entre la maladie d'Alzheimer et la démence sénile est claire: "C'est comme appeler tout il y a dans un bol de fruits, au lieu de poires, pommes ou citrons ". Le terme démence sénile, ajoute-t-il, est si général qu'il devrait disparaître des termes médicaux. "La maladie d'Alzheimer est la démence sénile la plus fréquente et est responsable d'environ 65% des démences séniles. Les démences séniles peuvent avoir différentes causes. La démenc Lire La Suite

Alzheimer et démence vasculaire

Il existe deux types de démence chez les personnes âgées: la maladie d'Alzheimer et la démence vasculaire (ou infarctus cérébraux multiples). Des études menées dans le monde entier ont montré qu’elles sont les deux principales causes de démence. Lire La Suite

Boire peu d'alcool réduit le risque de maladie d'Alzheimer

Boire un ou deux verres de vin ou une bière par jour peut réduire le risque de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer, a révélé une enquête de la faculté de médecine de l'université de Loyola de Chicago (États-Unis), dont les résultats ont été publiés dans Neuropsychiatric Disease and Traitement. Lire La Suite

Alzheimer: agressif et handicapant

Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), près de 20 millions de personnes sur la planète sont atteintes de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Au Mexique, environ 500 000 personnes sont touchées, même si ce chiffre pourrait tripler d’ici à 2050, si l’augmentation de l’espérance de vie s’ajoute à celle qu’un Mexicain sur quatre aura 65 ans et sera sujet à la maladie. Lire La Suite

Avantages de l'entraînement cérébral

Dans le monde actuel, les scientifiques ont conclu que la formation du cerveau peut et devrait améliorer les capacités. Tout comme l'exercice physique est bon pour le corps, l'entraînement de ce corps aide l'esprit à mieux fonctionner, et les bienfaits peuvent durer des années. Lire La Suite

8 raisons d'exercer l'esprit

Dans une étude publiée le 4 août 2009 par Neurology, il a été rapporté que les personnes impliquées dans des exercices d’entraînement cérébral, tels que la lecture, l’écriture et les jeux de cartes, pouvaient retarder l’apparition d’un déclin rapide de la mémoire. plus tard, ils développent une démence. Lire La Suite

La démence sénile, une façon de sortir de ce monde

La démence sénile est donc une maladie et ne fait pas partie du processus de vieillissement normal. Bien que les adultes âgés, en vieillissant, participent à une série de changements physiques et mentaux, cela ne signifie pas qu'ils doivent souffrir d'une forme de démence. Lire La Suite

Prendre soin d'une personne atteinte d'Alzheimer

Plusieurs associations pour la maladie d'Alzheimer au Mexique et aux États-Unis ont élaboré une série de guides à l'intention des membres de la famille atteints d'une personne atteinte de la maladie d'Alzheimer ou d'une autre démence sénile à la maison. Lire La Suite

Le vieillissement n'est pas associé à une perte neuronale

Une série d'études menées à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire (FMVZ) de l'Université de Sao Paulo (USP), au Brésil, suggère que le processus de vieillissement n'est pas nécessairement associé à une diminution du nombre de neurones, ce dénombrement peut rester stable ou même augmenter chez les personnes âgées. La recherche est effectuée dans ladite université sous la coordination du stéréologue Antonio Augusto Coppi. Lire La Suite

Exercice cérébral pour exercer la mémoire

Auparavant, on pensait que la perte de mémoire et la confusion faisaient partie du processus de vieillissement normal, mais ce n'est plus le cas. De nos jours, plusieurs études montrent que la plupart des gens restent alertes et utilisent bien leurs facultés à mesure qu’ils vieillissent, bien que cela puisse prendre un peu plus de temps pour se souvenir des choses. Les spécialistes de l'Institut national du vieillissement des États-Unis (NIA, pour son acronyme en anglais) indiquent qu'une combinaison de petits exercices mentaux, d'habitudes saines et d'un régime alimentaire sain est la clé pour exercer la mémoire de tous, pas seulement celle Lire La Suite

Gériatrie et soins de santé

En ces temps modernes, quand il y a des médicaments disponibles pour d'innombrables maladies et toutes les douleurs que l'on ressent, il n'y a toujours personne qui remplace les soins et l'amour nécessaires pour s'occuper des personnes âgées, surtout s'ils constituent une partie importante de nos vies. Lire La Suite

La bataille contre la démence

La perte de fonctions mentales, telles que la rétention de la mémoire et le raisonnement, fait partie des problèmes les plus graves rencontrés par les personnes âgées. La démence en fait partie. La maladie d'Alzheimer en est la cause commune. Les médecins et les chercheurs tentent de déterminer comment retarder voire inverser les effets de ces maladies en entraînant le cerveau. Comprendre la démence et la maladie d'Alzheimer Lire La Suite

L'exercice protège contre la maladie d'Alzheimer

Faire de l'exercice physique constamment et pour le plaisir crée un effet protecteur et thérapeutique contre la maladie d'Alzheimer. Cela a été assuré par l'étude de la CSIC (Agence nationale pour la recherche scientifique) en Espagne, publiée dans le Journal of Alzheimers 'Disease. Lire La Suite