Microchip can detect cancer in one hour

Scientists have developed a microchip that can adhere to a smart cell phone and is able to diagnose cancer tumors in about an hour, according to the study published by the medical journal Science Translational Medicine.

The chip called micro-NMR uses magnetic nanoparticles to measure the proteins and chemical compounds in the tumors One of its advantages is that it only requires small amounts of tissue to perform the diagnosis , the researchers declared.

To remove the part of tissue a small biopsy that is done with a suction needle, which extracts cells of the suspicious lesions and trying to determine the molecular footprint, explained the co-author of the study Jered B. Haun, of the General Hospital of Massachusetts in Boston, United States.

"It was a pleasant surprise to see that the protein markers worked well. One of our biggest challenges was not only to diagnose cancer patients with the greatest precision, but also as quickly as possible, "said the specialist.

The researchers tested the microchip and analyzed tissue samples from 50 patients suspected of having the condition. 44 patients were diagnosed correctly in 60 minutes. The traditional methods to do the diagnosis They take an average of 3 or more days and only get 84% accuracy.

Research suggests that the micro-NMR chip has the potential to be used as diagnostic method in the clinics. The device could be used in smart telephony like iPhones and Blackberrys.

Source: Health Day and Science Translational Medicine.


Video Medicine: The Military-Grade Nano-Chip to Detect Cancer (August 2022).

Une micropuce peut détecter le cancer en une heure

Les scientifiques ont développé un micropuce qui peut adhérer à un téléphone cellulaire intelligent et est capable de diagnostiquer tumeurs cancéreuses dans environ une heure, selon l'étude publiée par la revue médicale Science Translational Medicine.

La puce appelée micro-RMN utilise des nanoparticules magnétiques pour mesurer la les protéines et des composés chimiques dans le tumeurs Un de ses avantages est qu’il n’exige que de petites quantités de tissu pour effectuer le diagnostic , ont déclaré les chercheurs.

Pour enlever la partie de tissu un petit biopsie cela se fait avec une aiguille d'aspiration, qui extrait cellules des lésions suspectes et en essayant de déterminer l'empreinte moléculaire, a expliqué le co-auteur de l'étude Jered B. Haun, de l'hôpital général du Massachusetts à Boston, États-Unis.

"Ce fut une agréable surprise de voir que les marqueurs protéiques fonctionnaient bien. L’un de nos plus grands défis consistait non seulement à diagnostiquer les patients atteints de cancer avec la plus grande précision, mais aussi le plus rapidement possible ", a déclaré le spécialiste.

Les chercheurs ont testé le micropuce et analysé des échantillons de tissus de 50 patients soupçonnés d'être atteints de cette maladie. 44 patients ont été diagnostiqués correctement en 60 minutes. Les méthodes traditionnelles pour faire le diagnostic Ils prennent en moyenne 3 jours ou plus et n'obtiennent que 84% de précision.

Les recherches suggèrent que la puce micro-RMN pourrait être utilisée comme méthode de diagnostic dans les cliniques. L'appareil pourrait être utilisé dans téléphonie intelligente comme les iPhones et les Blackberry.

Source: Health Day et Science Translational Medicine.


Médecine Vidéo: Conseils véto - Comment dépister les puces de son chat ? (Septembre 2020).