Migrant Senectud, health panorama in the US

Faced with the problem of migration of Mexican citizens, the sector of older adults forms a population group who has endured a long period of time adapting to a new life and now requires specific attention to their health.

In 2008 the organization Binational Health Week He released some figures about adult people and their health problems in the United States.

  • 4% of the older adult Mexican migrant population, 65 years of age or older, stated that they were more or less well or poorly healthy.
  • Within the chronic diseases Typical of this sector of the population are: high blood pressure (48%), diabetes (30%) and heart problems (11%).
  • Refering to mortality , the four main causes of death of older adults of Latin origin are heart disease, cancer, cardiovascular diseases and diabetes.

Among the last official data of 2005 published, by the Ministry of the Interior and the National Population Council (CONAPO), the presence of 710 thousand elderly Mexican adults in the United States stood out.

More than 140,000 Mexicans of advanced age, resident in the neighboring country, are not insured, which represents a condition of extreme fragility in the face of any disease, especially chronic-degenerative diseases, common in old age.

Most of these Mexican people aged in that country, since it is estimated that 62% of Mexicans older than 60 years emigrated before 1975. They and they have contributed to the US economy, at least for 30 years.


Video Medicine: Cows, Carbon and Climate | Joel Salatin | TEDxCharlottesville (June 2021).

Migrant Senectud, panorama de la santé aux États-Unis

Face au problème de la migration des citoyens mexicains, le secteur des personnes âgées constitue un groupe de population qui s’est longtemps adapté à une nouvelle vie et qui a maintenant besoin d’une attention particulière pour sa santé.

En 2008 l'organisation Santé binationale Semaine Il a publié des chiffres sur les adultes et leurs problèmes de santé aux États-Unis.

  • 4% de la population migrante mexicaine âgée, âgée de 65 ans ou plus, a déclaré être en bonne ou en mauvaise santé.
  • Dans le maladies chroniques Ce segment de la population est typique de l’hypertension artérielle (48%), du diabète (30%) et des problèmes cardiaques (11%).
  • Comme pour le la mortalité , les cardiopathies, le cancer, les maladies cardiovasculaires et le diabète sont les quatre principales causes de décès des personnes âgées d’origine latine.

Parmi les dernières données officielles de 2005 publiées par le ministère de l'Intérieur et le Conseil national de la population (CONAPO), la présence de 710 000 personnes âgées mexicaines adultes aux États-Unis s'est démarquée.

Plus de 140 000 Mexicains d’âge avancé résidant dans le pays voisin ne sont pas assurés, ce qui représente une condition de fragilité extrême face à toute maladie, en particulier les maladies dégénératives chroniques, courantes dans la vieillesse.

La plupart de ces Mexicains ont vieilli dans ce pays, car on estime que 62% des Mexicains âgés de plus de 60 ans ont émigré avant 1975. Ils ont et ont contribué à l'économie américaine, au moins pendant 30 ans.


Médecine Vidéo: Inequality and job distribution in Italy: something to worry about. | Luca Ricolfi | TEDxLakeComo (Septembre 2020).