Multidrug-resistant tuberculosis in Europe

The tuberculosis (TB) pulmonary is a Contagious bacterial infection that compromises lungs , but it can spread to other organs; is caused by the bacteria called Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M. tuberculosis) and can be acquired by inhaling water droplets from the cough or the sneeze of an infected person.

The following people with higher risk of tuberculosis are the elderly, babies and people with weakened immune systems , like those with AIDS, chemotherapy , diabetes or certain medications.

symptom

  1. Cough (sometimes with mucus expectoration)
  2. Expectoration with blood
  3. Sweating excessive, especially at night
  4. Fatigue
  5. Fever
  6. Unintentional weight loss
  7. Respiratory difficulty
  8. Chest pain

In a statement, the World Health Organization (WHO) warned about various variants of tuberculosis resistant or multi-resistant to some drugs, which are spreading alarmingly in Europe and that can cause thousands of deaths.

The WHO plan is to take measures to stop the pandemic , which will cover four years at an estimated cost of 5 billion dollars, which will be destined to avoid 263 thousand cases of these types of tuberculosis and to avoid 120 thousand deaths.

According to the AFP , the tuberculosis multi-resistant is a particularly dangerous form of the disease, since it is caused by bacilli resistant to isoniazid and the rifampicin , both antituberculosis more effective.

This is due to the fact that patients do not follow the treatment correctly until the end, which favors the appearance of bacilli resistant to drugs, but also due to poor control of hygiene in hospitals.

The result is that treating affected people becomes very difficult, with a chemotherapy prolonged (two years) and a very high cost (more than 100 times that of conventional treatment).

According to WHO information, of the 440 thousand cases of this type of tuberculosis estimated in the world, 18% (81 thousand), are found in Europe, particularly in the countries of Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

In Western Europe, London, which is home to many immigrants from poor countries, has the highest tuberculosis rate in the capitals of Western Europe (3 thousand 500 cases per year), with an increase of 30% in the last decade, with a duplication of cases of resistant tuberculosis between 2005 and 2009.

The plan aims, through the improvement of prevention, detection and treatment, to the elimination of tuberculosis of Europe in 2050 (less than one case per million inhabitants).

The doctor Lucica Ditiu , one of those responsible for the association Stop Tuberculosis, which includes more than 100 countries, research centers, NGOs and local communities, said that in order to be successful, it requires the commitment of all stakeholders, particularly civil society.

If a person with tuberculosis evolutionary does not follow a treatment , can infect to an average of 10 to 15 people per year. The tuberculosis and the AIDS will accelerate each other's progress, the latter being responsible for the resurgence of the tuberculosis in the world.


Video Medicine: Drug-Resistant TB Threatens Europe (September 2022).

Tuberculose multirésistante en Europe

Le tuberculose (TB) pulmonaire est un Infection bactérienne contagieuse qui compromet les poumons , mais il peut se propager à d’autres organes; est causée par la bactérie appelée Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M. tuberculosis) et peuvent être acquises en inhalant des gouttelettes d’eau toux ou le éternuer d'une personne infectée.

Les personnes suivantes présentant un risque plus élevé de tuberculose sont les personnes âgées, les bébés et les personnes système immunitaire affaibli , comme ceux atteints du sida, chimiothérapie , le diabète ou certains médicaments.

Les symptômes

  1. Toux (parfois avec expectoration de mucus)
  2. Expectoration avec du sang
  3. Transpiration excessif, surtout la nuit
  4. Fatigue
  5. Fièvre
  6. Perte de poids involontaire
  7. Difficulté respiratoire
  8. Douleur à la poitrine

Dans une déclaration, le Organisation mondiale de la SANTE (OMS) a mis en garde contre diverses variantes de tuberculose résistant o multi-résistant certains médicaments, qui se propagent de manière alarmante en Europe et qui peuvent causer des milliers de les morts.

Le plan de l’OMS est de prendre des mesures pour arrêter la pandémie , qui couvrira quatre ans à un coût estimé à 5 milliards de dollars et qui seront destinés à éviter 263 000 cas de ce type de tuberculose et d'éviter 120 000 morts.

Selon le AFP , le tuberculose multi-résistant forme particulièrement dangereuse de la maladie, car elle est causée par des bacilles résistants à la l'isoniazide et la rifampicine , les deux antituberculeux plus efficace.

Cela est dû au fait que les patients ne suivent pas correctement le traitement avant la fin, ce qui favorise l'apparition de bacilles résistants aux médicaments, mais aussi en raison du faible contrôle de hygiène dans les hôpitaux.

Il en résulte que le traitement des personnes touchées devient très difficile, avec une chimiothérapie prolongé (deux ans) et un coût très élevé (plus de 100 fois supérieur à celui d’un traitement conventionnel).

Selon les informations de l’OMS, sur les 440 000 cas de ce type de tuberculose On estime que dans le monde, 18% (81 000) se trouvent en Europe, en particulier dans les pays d'Europe orientale et de l'ancienne Union soviétique.

En Europe occidentale, Londres, qui abrite de nombreux immigrants originaires de pays pauvres, a le taux de tuberculose le plus élevé de ses capitales (3 000 500 cas par an), avec une augmentation de 30% au cours de la dernière décennie. duplication des cas de tuberculose résistante entre 2005 et 2009.

Le plan vise, en améliorant la prévention, la détection et le traitement, l’élimination de la tuberculose d'Europe en 2050 (moins d'un cas par million d'habitants).

Le docteur Lucica Ditiu , l'un des responsables de l'association Halte à la tuberculose, qui regroupe plus de 100 pays, des centres de recherche, des ONG et des communautés locales, a déclaré que, pour réussir, cela nécessite l'engagement de toutes les parties prenantes, en particulier de la société civile.

Si une personne avec tuberculose évolutionnaire ne suit pas traitement , il peut infecter à une moyenne de 10 à 15 personnes par an. Le tuberculose et le SIDA accéléreront mutuellement leurs progrès, ces derniers étant responsables de la résurgence de la tuberculose dans le monde.


Médecine Vidéo: Conférence European Voice : Comment vaincre la tuberculose multirésistante ? (Juin 2024).