New compound to combat meningitis

Researchers from the United States and Italy discovered a substance that could offer protection against more than 300 strains of the bacteria Neisseria meningitidiso (Meningococcus B), which causes meningitis . A potentially lethal disease, which causes inflammation of the meninges, the membranes that line the brain and spinal cord.

The disease can produce brain damage , disability for learning, deafness, limb amputation and death in 5% of patients who suffer from it.

There are hundreds of strains of meningococcus and currently there are already vaccines against some of them, such as A, C, W-135 and Y. But meningococcus B, the most variant and most common, it has been very difficult to control; because of its high genetic diversity and you do not have a immunization.

The new substance was called G1 And, it is able to induce the antibodies to kill all the strains of meningococcus B. The compound, say scientists, could be used in a universal vaccine against hundreds of meningococcal variants.
 


Video Medicine: Lethal medicine linked to meningitis outbreak (March 2024).

Nouveau composé pour lutter contre la méningite

Des chercheurs américains et italiens ont découvert une substance qui pourrait offrir une protection contre plus de 300 souches de la bactérie. Neisseria meningitidiso (Méningocoque B), qui provoque méningite . Une maladie potentiellement mortelle, qui provoque une inflammation des méninges, les membranes qui tapissent le cerveau et la moelle épinière.

La maladie peut produire lésions cérébrales , incapacité d'apprentissage, surdité, amputation d'un membre et décès chez 5% des patients qui en souffrent.

Il existe des centaines de souches de méningocoque et il existe déjà des vaccins contre certains d'entre eux, tels que A, C, W-135 et Y. Mais le méningocoque B, le plus variant et le plus commun, il a été très difficile à contrôler; en raison de sa grande diversité génétique et que vous n’avez pas de la vaccination.

La nouvelle substance s'appelait G1 Et, il est capable d’induire les anticorps à tuer toutes les souches de méningocoque B. Le composé, disent les scientifiques, pourrait être utilisé dans un vaccin universel contre des centaines de variantes méningococciques.
 


Médecine Vidéo: Dites adieu aux maladies d’Alzheimer ! Voici les meilleurs aliments pour votre cerveau ! (Septembre 2020).