New diagnosis for prostate cancer

Scientists of the University of Michigan , they developed a new test for the detection of prostate cancer, revealed a study published in the magazine Science Translational Medicine.

Currently, to detect the first signs of the disease, the levels of the Prostate Specific Antigen or PSA in the blood. However, these analyzes have been controversial because the high levels of PSA they do not necessarily mean the presence of cancer, since it can also be an indication of other disorders, such as widening of the prostate or one urinary infection.

More effective than the current method

The new analysis identifies a genetic abnormality. Inside the prostate there is a gene (TMPRSS: ERG) that, when it changes its location, causes a mutation in RNA, which is responsible for cancer in half of all prostate tumors.

However, as this defect is only present in half of the prostate tumors, the scientists also included in the analysis another marker, called PCA3, which makes the analysis is more precise.

So, through a simple urine test Men who are at risk for prostate cancer can be detected and can decide if they should undergo a biopsy or if they can delay the procedure.

In an interview for GetQoralHealth , the director of Grupo Uroclinic, Carlos Sánchez Moreno, explains how treatments work against prostate cancer:

Prostate cancer has become one of the most common diseases in men. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), is the second cause of death in many countries, due to this the health systems consider that it is urgent to create methods for more accurate diagnostics . Scientists hope that such an analysis is ready for use in US clinics by mid-2012.


Video Medicine: Prostate cancer: warning signs, diagnosis and treatment (June 2021).

Nouveau diagnostic pour le cancer de la prostate
les maladies

Nouveau diagnostic pour le cancer de la prostate

Scientifiques du Université du Michigan , ils ont développé un nouveau test pour la détection du cancer de la prostate, a révélé une étude publiée dans le magazine Science médecine translationnelle.

Actuellement, pour détecter les premiers signes de la maladie, les niveaux de Antigène spécifique de la prostate o PSA dans le sang Cependant, ces analyses ont été controversées car les niveaux élevés de PSA ils ne signifient pas nécessairement la présence d'un cancer, car cela peut également être une indication d'autres troubles, tels que élargissement de la prostate ou un infection urinaire.

Plus efficace que la méthode actuelle

La nouvelle analyse identifie une anomalie génétique. À l'intérieur de la prostate, il existe un gène (TMPRSS: ERG) qui, lorsqu'il change de localisation, provoque une mutation de l'ARN, responsable du cancer dans 50% des cas. tumeurs de la prostate.

Cependant, comme ce défaut n’est présent que dans la moitié des cas, tumeurs de la prostate, Les scientifiques ont également inclus dans l’analyse un autre marqueur, appelé PCA3, qui rend le l'analyse est plus précise.

Donc, à travers un simple test d'urine Les hommes à risque de cancer de la prostate peuvent être détectés et peuvent décider de subir une biopsie ou de retarder la procédure.

Dans une interview pour GetQoralHealth , le directeur de Grupo Uroclinic, Carlos Sánchez Moreno, explique comment les traitements agissent contre le cancer de la prostate:

Le cancer de la prostate est devenu l'une des maladies les plus courantes chez l'homme. Selon le Organisation mondiale de la SANTE (OMS), est la deuxième cause de décès dans de nombreux pays. Pour cette raison, les systèmes de santé estiment qu’il est urgent de créer des méthodes de diagnostics plus précis . Les scientifiques espèrent qu'une telle analyse sera prête à être utilisée dans les cliniques américaines d'ici la mi-2012.

Médecine Vidéo: Le cancer de la prostate: symptômes, dépistage, traitement (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes

Se débarrasser des impuretés

Nouveau vaccin contre l'héroïne

Pour un estomac de blanchisserie!