New light in research on metabolic syndrome

A group of university students discovered an unsuspected connection between the "energy currency "Of the cells (a molecule called ATP ), and insulin resistance, the basis of the metabolic syndrome, one of the most important public health problems.

The latter is a set of disorders such as abdominal obesity, insulin resistance or type 2 diabetes, hypertension and altered blood lipids or "high cholesterol", as colloquially said, said Antonio Velázquez Arellano , of the Unit of Genetics of Nutrition of the Biomedical Research Institute (IIBm) of the UNAM , based in National institute of pediatrics, and who coordinates the research group.

These health problems are increasingly frequent among the population, "in such a way that it is not unlikely that a person suffers several of them, or all at the same time," explained the scientist.

Among the hormones that exist, all important, the insulin it is one of the most outstanding; It is basic because its function is to encourage the use of ingested food. Although it is associated with sugar , also has to do with the use of fats Y proteins . "It acts outside the cells, joins a 'receptor' that is on the surface of the cell membrane, like the key in a lock, and with it, triggers a series of processes that allow the correct use of food", Indian.

In type 1 diabetes, insulin is not produced due to the destruction of the beta cells of the islets of the pancreas, by a combination of virus and factors immunological .

In contrast, in type 2 diabetes, which prevails among the Mexican population, the hormone does exist; however, in normal quantities it does not cause the appropriate effects, and the pancreas has to produce it in greater quantity. Therefore, under these conditions, cells are "resistant to insulin ”.

The problem is very serious, because sooner or later, the adaptation mechanisms end up being insufficient and the person becomes diabetic . Also, the metabolism of the lipids ; the different types of fats suffer an imbalance and, eventually, atherosclerosis appears, as well as the other components of the metabolic syndrome.

 

The find

Velázquez Arellano has been interested, for years, in a vitamin called biotin , present in foods such as cereals. "We start with genetic studies , then we analyzed how he was in malnourished children and, afterwards, we tried to define what happens if necessary. "

In 2001, unintentionally, he discovered that the biotin controls proteins called carboxylases , with which it participates in the proper functioning mobile . But, in addition, it has a "completely enigmatic" function: controlling the operation of a certain number of genes , which apparently have nothing to do with their own biotin .

To understand this mystery, the winner of Queen Sofia Award eliminated that component to three completely different organisms, separated in evolution: the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae, unicellular organism used for the production of bread, beer and wines; The worm Caenorhabditis elegans, and the rat.

"In all of us we observed the same thing: if we removed the biotin , the metabolism changed as if there was no glucose, although we gave them abundant amounts of sugar. In other words, without that the cells stop perceiving that they have enough metabolic 'fuel' and make use of the 'reserves' of energy stored as fatty acids. It is as if instead of using the salary to buy food and medicine, we used our savings for these expenses. "

But not only that. The proteins , which really constitute the structure of our body and are very valuable are destroyed to make new glucose . "This would be as if, in addition to not using a good salary, we are dedicated to waste our savings to meet the daily needs."

Antonio Velázquez and his team made other measurements and arrived at a result that began to shed light to resolve this apparent paradox.

The way in which the cell uses the energy it requires is through a molecule called adenosine triphosphate (ATP).When using glucose, the energy it contains is transferred to the ATP and then it can be used by the cell. It's like changing pesos for dollars to travel outside the country.

"We found that there was a deficit of ATP if we remove the biotin . This finding indicated that if this is missing, the cell can not change the glucose energy in ATP ; therefore, although we provided enough glucose, the cells did not have useful energy; that is, you can not change the pesos for dollars, "he explained.

In the cells there is a detector ATP , an enzyme whose acronym is AMPK and which is activated if energy is lacking. "Although there was glucose, we found AMPK highly active," because one of the known functions of biotin is to help glucose to be used correctly; with its absence, this sugar is not used.

Then, the AMPK warns about the lack of energy and that information, "now we know it", is transmitted to the genome of the cell and it changes the functioning of genes , so that the organism adapt to the new circumstances, said the university student.

The message that the genome (by means of the so-called transduction or signal transmission pathways) is that there is not enough energy, but this information is also interpreted as an apparent lack of glucose (although there is enough). Then, the cellular operation and the "savings" begin to be used.

Velázquez thought that is very similar to the resistance to insulin . Those who suffer from it or even are already diabetic, have a lot of glucose in the blood ; however, their cells act as if they did not have it and do not take advantage of it.

The concept that we propose is that if there is an energy deficit, ATP (for different reasons, in this case due to lack of biotin), this information is transmitted to the genes; the genome interprets, equivocally, the lack of energy as a lack of glucose and the resistance to insulin , the basis of the metabolic syndrome, abounded the winner of the National Award for Public Health .

Before, he continued, no one had thought that cellular energy has to do with these health problems. This investigation arose when trying to solve the enigma of why biotin, in addition to its known functions, controls some genes that apparently have nothing to do with it.

From there arose results from which probably will come useful applications to national problems, such as diabetes and metabolic syndrome.

In this adventure, Velázquez Arellano is accompanied by a group of scientists from the IIBm itself and from the Institute of Cellular Physiology; of the Center for Research and Advanced Studies of the IPN; of the National Institutes of Pediatrics, and Medical Sciences and Nutrition Salvador Zubirán, as well as Children's Hospitals, in Philadelphia, and Henry Ford, of Detroit.

Source: General Directorate of Social Communication (DGCS) UNAM. UNAM-DGCS-286 press release


Video Medicine: Insidermedicine In Depth - April 11, 2012 (June 2021).

Nouvel éclairage dans la recherche sur le syndrome métabolique

Un groupe d'étudiants a découvert un lien insoupçonné entre le "monnaie énergétique "Des cellules (une molécule appelée ATP ) et la résistance à l'insuline, base du syndrome métabolique, l'un des problèmes de santé publique les plus importants.

Ce dernier est un ensemble de troubles tels que l’obésité abdominale, la résistance à l’insuline ou le diabète de type 2, l’hypertension et la lipides sanguins ou "haut cholestérol", comme dit familièrement, a déclaré Antonio Velázquez Arellano , de la Unité de génétique de la nutrition de l'Institut de recherche biomédicale (IIBm) du UNAM , basé à Institut national de pédiatrieet qui coordonne le groupe de recherche.

Ces problèmes de santé sont de plus en plus fréquent parmi la population, "de telle sorte qu'il n'est pas improbable qu'une personne en souffre plusieurs, ou en même temps", a expliqué le scientifique.

Parmi les hormones existantes, toutes importantes, la l'insuline c'est l'un des plus remarquables; C'est fondamental parce que sa fonction est d'encourager l'utilisation des aliments ingérés. Bien qu’il soit associé à sucre , a également à voir avec l'utilisation de les graisses et les protéines . "Il agit en dehors des cellules, rejoint un" récepteur "situé à la surface de la membrane cellulaire, comme la clé d'une serrure, et déclenche une série de processus permettant l'utilisation correcte des aliments", il a indiqué.

Dans le diabète de type 1, l'insuline n'est pas produite en raison de la destruction des cellules bêta des îlots du pancréas, par une combinaison de virus et facteurs immunologique .

En revanche, dans le diabète de type 2, qui prévaut chez la population mexicaine, l'hormone existe; cependant, en quantité normale, il ne provoque pas les effets appropriés et le pancréas doit le produire en plus grande quantité. Par conséquent, dans ces conditions, cellules ils sont "résistant à l'insuline ”.

Le problème est très grave car, tôt ou tard, les mécanismes d'adaptation finissent par être insuffisants et la personne devient diabétique . En outre, le métabolisme de la les lipides ; les différents types de graisses souffrent d'un déséquilibre et, finalement, l'athérosclérose apparaît, ainsi que les autres composants du syndrome métabolique.

 

La trouvaille

Velázquez Arellano s'intéresse depuis des années à une vitamine appelée biotine , présent dans les aliments tels que les céréales. "Nous avons commencé avec études génétiques , puis nous avons analysé son état chez les enfants souffrant de malnutrition et, ensuite, nous avons essayé de définir ce qui se passait si nécessaire. "

En 2001, il a involontairement découvert que le biotine contrôle des protéines appelées carboxylases , avec lequel il participe au bon fonctionnement cellulaire . Mais, en plus, il a une fonction "complètement énigmatique": contrôler le fonctionnement d'un certain nombre de les gènes , qui apparemment n'ont rien à voir avec leur propre biotine .

Pour comprendre ce mystère, le gagnant de Prix ​​Reine Sofia éliminé ce composant à trois organismes complètement différents, séparés dans l'évolution: la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae, organisme unicellulaire utilisé pour la production de pain, de bière et de vins; le ver Caenorhabditis eleganset le rat.

"En chacun de nous, nous avons observé la même chose: si nous enlevions le biotine , le métabolisme a changé comme s'il n'y avait pas de glucose, bien que nous leur ayons donné des quantités abondantes de sucre. En d'autres termes, sans cela, les cellules ne perçoivent plus qu'elles ont suffisamment de «carburant» métabolique et utilisent les «réserves» d'énergie stockées sous forme d'acides gras. C'est comme si, au lieu d'utiliser le salaire pour acheter de la nourriture et des médicaments, nous utilisions nos économies pour ces dépenses. "

Mais pas que ça. Le les protéines , qui constituent vraiment la structure de notre corps et sont très précieux sont détruits pour faire de nouvelles glucose . "Ce serait comme si, en plus de ne pas utiliser un bon salaire, nous nous consacrions à gaspiller nos économies pour répondre aux besoins quotidiens."

Antonio Velázquez et son équipe a pris d'autres mesures et est parvenue à un résultat qui a commencé à faire la lumière pour résoudre ce paradoxe apparent.

La cellule utilise l’énergie dont elle a besoin grâce à une molécule appelée adénosine triphosphate (ATP).Lors de l'utilisation du glucose, l'énergie qu'il contient est transférée au ATP et puis il peut être utilisé par la cellule. C'est comme changer des pesos en dollars pour voyager en dehors du pays.

"Nous avons constaté qu'il y avait un déficit de ATP si on enlève le biotine . Cette découverte indique que si cela manque, la cellule ne peut pas modifier l’énergie du glucose en ATP ; par conséquent, bien que nous ayons fourni suffisamment de glucose, les cellules n’ont pas d’énergie utile; en d’autres termes, vous ne pouvez pas changer les pesos en dollars ", at-il expliqué.

Dans les cellules il y a un détecteur ATP , une enzyme dont l’acronyme est AMPK et qui est activée en cas de manque d’énergie. "Bien qu'il y ait eu du glucose, nous avons trouvé l'AMPK très actif", car l'une des fonctions connues de la biotine est d'aider le glucose à être utilisé correctement; avec son absence, ce sucre n'est pas utilisé.

Ensuite, l'AMPK met en garde contre le manque d'énergie et cette information, "maintenant nous la connaissons", est transmise au génome de la cellule et cela change le fonctionnement de les gènes , de sorte que le organisme s'adapter aux nouvelles circonstances, a déclaré l'étudiant à l'université.

Le message que le génome (au moyen de ce que l’on appelle les voies de transduction ou de transmission du signal) est qu’il n’ya pas assez d’énergie, mais cette information est également interprétée comme un manque apparent de glucose (bien qu’il en reste assez). Ensuite, le opération cellulaire et les "économies" commencent à être utilisées.

Velázquez a pensé que cela ressemblait beaucoup à la résistance à l'insuline . Ceux qui en souffrent ou même qui sont déjà diabétiques ont beaucoup de glucose dans la du sang ; Cependant, leurs cellules agissent comme si elles ne l'avaient pas et n'en profitaient pas.

Le concept que nous proposons est que s'il y a un déficit énergétique, ATP (pour différentes raisons, dans ce cas par manque de biotine), cette information est transmise aux gènes; le génome équivoque, le manque d'énergie en tant que manque de glucose et la résistance à l'insuline , la base du syndrome métabolique, abondait le gagnant du Prix ​​national de la santé publique .

Avant, at-il poursuivi, personne n’avait pensé que l’énergie cellulaire était liée à ces problèmes de santé. Cette enquête a été entreprise pour tenter de résoudre l'énigme de la raison pour laquelle la biotine, en plus de ses fonctions connues, contrôle certains gènes qui n'ont apparemment rien à voir avec elle.

De là découlent des résultats qui apporteront probablement des applications utiles aux problèmes nationaux, tels que le diabète et le syndrome métabolique.

Dans cette aventure, Velázquez Arellano est accompagné d'un groupe de scientifiques de l'IIBM et de l'Institut de physiologie cellulaire; du Centre de recherche et d'études avancées de l'IPN; des Instituts nationaux de pédiatrie, des sciences médicales et de la nutrition, Salvador Zubirán, ainsi que des hôpitaux pour enfants, à Philadelphie, et Henry Ford, de Detroit.

Source: Direction générale de la communication sociale (DGCS) UNAM. UNAM-DGCS-286 communiqué de presse


Médecine Vidéo: Microbiote: ces bactéries qui nous gouvernent - 36.9° 2013-01-23, RTS.ch - pour sous-titrage (Septembre 2020).