New technology helps detect coronary heart disease

When an individual is suspected of having coronary artery disease (CAD), standard tests of diagnosis are the CT scans to visualize the arterial flow and the activity of the heart.

Scientists in U.S developed a tomography technique with a resolution 10 times greater than currently available, this allows to observe the details of the cellular structures of the arteries.

This new technology is called optical coherence microtomography or MicroOCT and will help improve the understanding of the EAC. The tomography, creates images by sections to explore, for example, the operation of the heart and visualize the blood flow in the veins and arteries and their irrigation to and from the heart muscle and the brain.

 

New technology detects heart disease in the early stages

It will allow to penetrate the tissue with images to visualize what is happening to cellular level . Using a new type of lenses and more advanced components; with a source of infrared light close to create detailed images of the inner surfaces of the blood vessels with a resolution equivalent to that of a low power microscope.

The MicroOCT it has the contrast and resolution that is required to investigate individual cells, including features that can identify vulnerable plaques within the coronary artery.

With this resolution you can identify plates that can be broken, which will reveal the most detailed information so far of tissues in three dimensions; before it had not been possible to obtain clear images of smaller structures of 10 micrometers .

 

Why Coronary Artery Disease occurs?

The EAC occurs when coronary arteries responsible for supplying blood (and therefore oxygen) to the cardiac muscle, they harden and narrow, obstructing the Blood flow .

This hardening is mainly due to the accumulation of substances, such as cholesterol , and other debris that form plaques in the walls of the arteries. Is obstruction can lead to angina or have a heart attack .

Is disease is the disorder of heart most common and is the leading cause of death in many countries.

In this way the high level of representation of the MicroOCT opens the possibility of observing these microscopic characteristics in patients, which will have implications for improving the diagnosis Y therapeutic control of the illness.


Video Medicine: Coronary Artery Disease Research (June 2021).

Une nouvelle technologie permet de détecter les maladies coronariennes

Lorsqu'un individu est suspecté de maladie coronarienne (CAD), des tests standard de diagnostic sont les scanners pour visualiser la flux artériel et la activité du coeur.

Scientifiques dans États Unis développé une technique de tomographie avec une résolution 10 fois supérieure à celle actuellement disponible, cela permet d’observer les détails de la structures cellulaires des artères.

Cette nouvelle technologie s'appelle microtomographie à cohérence optique o MicroOCT et aidera à améliorer la compréhension de la CAE. La tomographie crée des images par sections pour explorer, par exemple, le fonctionnement du cœur et visualiser le flux sanguin dans les veines et les artères et leur irrigation vers et depuis le muscle cardiaque et le cerveau.

 

Une nouvelle technologie détecte les maladies cardiaques à un stade précoce

Cela permettra de pénétrer dans le tissu avec des images pour visualiser ce qui se passe niveau cellulaire . Utilisation d'un nouveau type de lentilles et de composants plus avancés; avec une source de lumière infrarouge fermer pour créer des images détaillées des surfaces internes des vaisseaux sanguins avec une résolution équivalente à celle d’un microscope à faible puissance.

Le MicroOCT il dispose du contraste et de la résolution nécessaires pour étudier des cellules individuelles, y compris des fonctionnalités permettant d'identifier des plaques vulnérables dans l'artère coronaire.

Avec cette résolution, vous pouvez identifier assiettes qui peut être cassé, qui révélera les informations les plus détaillées à ce jour de mouchoirs en trois dimensions; auparavant, il n’a pas été possible d’obtenir des images claires de petites structures de 10 micromètres .

 

Pourquoi la maladie coronarienne se produit?

Le EAC se produit lorsque artères coronaires responsable de l'approvisionnement du sang (et donc d'oxygène) au muscle cardiaque, ils durcissent et se rétrécissent, obstruant le flux sanguin .

Ce durcissement est principalement dû à l'accumulation de substances telles que le cholestérol et d’autres débris qui forment des plaques dans les parois des artères. Celui-ci obstruction peut conduire à l'angine ou avoir un crise cardiaque .

Celui-ci maladie est le désordre de coeur est la principale cause de décès dans de nombreux pays.

De cette manière, le haut niveau de représentation du MicroOCT ouvre la possibilité d'observer ces caractéristiques microscopiques chez les patients, ce qui aura des implications pour l'amélioration de la diagnostic et contrôle thérapeutique de la maladie.


Médecine Vidéo: Sleep Revolution: Studies and New Technologies - Emmanuel Mignot (Septembre 2020).