Organs made to order

It sounds like science fiction, but it is not. The Gregorio Marañón Hospital in Madrid has just presented the first laboratory in the world specialized in manufacture of bioartificial organs and tissues , through mother cells adults, with the aim of being able to use them on people who need a transplant. At the moment, you are working only with hearts and, according to the doctor Francisco Fernández Avilés , head of the Cardiology Service of the hospital and coordinator of the project, the procedure consists in "eliminating all cellular content" of the organ of a cadaveric donor "but keeping the three-dimensional structure intact, including vessels and valves".


Once this process is done, you structures They can be stored for months in a bank of matrices so that, when they can be needed for a transplant, they can be "sown" in them. adult stem cells of the receiver that needs it, since said structure induces and guides the proliferation, distribution and specialization of said cells.


This regenerative technique has already been successfully tested in small animals and now, thanks to the collaboration with a team from the University of Minnesota (United States), led by the doctor Doris Taylor , are working on the first animal transplant, planned for pigs next year. In the case of humans, the technique advances more slowly, although before the end of the year it is hoped that "a piece of cadaver organ will have the ability to beat". The first bioartificial organ transplant in humans could see the light inside "about five or ten years ".

 

Organs and tissues bioartificiales: a milestone of regenerative medicine


At the moment, eight cellular content has already been emptied hearts , all of them from deceased donors whose organs can not be used for a conventional transplant but whose structures are intact . This process of elimination is usually done in three or four days, while the "recellularization" of the organ once the recipient is identified can be done in a couple of months, says Fernández Avilés.

 

However, the duration of both interventions varies depending on the organ size . "Although it looks like science fiction, it is not," says this expert, who adds that, despite having started with the heart to be the most complex organ, in the future also can be manufactured other organs such as liver, pancreas or lungs. In this way, one of the great problems of transplantation, such as tissue rejection , since the matrices used are inert and, therefore, "have no immunological response capacity when having less than 5% of DNA , so they are not recognized by the receiver as strange but their own ".

 

For its part, one of the most recognized nephrologists of Europe and director of the National Transplant Organization of Spain , Dr. Rafael Matesanz, has stressed the importance of this advance since all transplant patients suffer some type of rejection "sooner or later", which in the case of the heart can lead to death in some occasions despite the fan current drugs to treat these rejections . Likewise, the problem of searching for organs that currently exists could be resolved, given that only a small proportion of the people who need a transplant "They end up getting an organ".
 


Video Medicine: The Alyona Show: Made to Order Organs (June 2021).

Organes sur commande

Cela ressemble à de la science fiction, mais ce n’est pas le cas. L’hôpital Gregorio Marañón de Madrid vient de présenter le premier laboratoire au monde spécialisé dans fabrication d'organes et de tissus bioartificiels , à travers de cellules mères adultes, dans le but de pouvoir les utiliser sur des personnes nécessitant une greffe. Pour le moment, vous travaillez uniquement avec les cœurs et, selon le médecin Francisco Fernández Avilés Chef du service de cardiologie de l'hôpital et coordinateur du projet, la procédure consiste à "éliminer tout le contenu cellulaire" de l'organe d'un donneur décédé ", mais en conservant intacte la structure tridimensionnelle, y compris les vaisseaux et les valves".


Une fois ce processus terminé, vous des structures Ils peuvent être stockés pendant des mois dans une banque de matrices, de manière à pouvoir les "semer" lorsqu'ils sont nécessaires pour une greffe. cellules souches adultes du récepteur qui en a besoin, car ladite structure induit et guide la prolifération, la distribution et la spécialisation desdites cellules.


Cette technique de régénération a déjà été testée avec succès chez de petits animaux et, grâce à la collaboration d’une équipe de l’Université du Minnesota (États-Unis), dirigée par le médecin Doris Taylor , travaillent sur la première transplantation d’animaux prévue pour les porcs l’année prochaine. Dans le cas des humains, la technique progresse plus lentement, bien qu’avant la fin de l’année, on espère qu’un «organe d’organe de cadavre aura la capacité de battre». La première greffe d'organe bioartificiel chez l'homme pourrait voir la lumière à l'intérieur "à propos de cinq ou dix ans ".

 

Organes et tissus bioartificiales: un jalon de la médecine régénérative


À l'heure actuelle, huit contenus cellulaires ont déjà été vidés les cœurs , tous issus de donneurs décédés dont les organes ne peuvent pas être utilisés pour une greffe conventionnelle mais dont les structures sont intactes . Ce processus d'élimination se fait généralement en trois ou quatre jours, tandis que la "recellularisation" de l'organe une fois le receveur identifié peut être effectuée en quelques mois, explique Fernández Avilés.

 

Cependant, le la durée des deux interventions varie en fonction de la taille de l'organe . "Bien que cela ressemble à de la science-fiction, ce n'est pas", dit cet expert, qui ajoute que, bien que le cœur ait commencé à être l'organe le plus complexe, il est également possible à l'avenir de fabriquer d'autres organes comme le foie, le pancréas ou les poumons. De cette façon, l’un des grands problèmes de la transplantation, tel que rejet de tissu , étant donné que les matrices utilisées sont inertes et que, par conséquent, "n’ont aucune capacité de réponse immunologique lorsque moins de 5% des ADN ils ne sont donc pas reconnus par le destinataire comme étant étranges, mais bien les leurs ".

 

De son côté, l’un des plus reconnus néphrologues de l'Europe et directeur du Organisation nationale des greffes d'Espagne , Le Dr Rafael Matesanz, a souligné l’importance de cette avancée car tous les patients transplantés subissent un type de rejet "tôt ou tard" qui, dans le cas du cœur, peut entraîner la mort dans certains cas malgré médicaments actuels pour traiter ces les rejets . De même, le problème de la recherche d'organes existant actuellement pourrait être résolu, étant donné que seule une faible proportion des personnes ayant besoin d'un greffe "Ils finissent par avoir un organe".
 


Médecine Vidéo: Au coeur des organes : La commande du mouvement (Septembre 2020).