Origin of vaccines

The discovery of the immunological mechanism of vaccination and the different ways of applying it are historically linked to the fight against smallpox.

According to the WHO , the administration of a small amount of the virus by nasal inhalation or by small incisions in the skin, useful to create resistance to a disease began in Central Asia from the 10th century.

The practice through the nasal route was extended to other places in Asia and Africa, while in Europe, skin incisions were used. However, the epidemics of smallpox that hit Europe in the late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries were decisive for the ravages they caused among the population.

It is estimated that because of the various plagues that visited the old continent, between 10 and 20% of the child population died, while an unknown number of adults lost their lives or were disfigured due to the disease.

 


Jenner's cows

In 1798, the English rural doctor Edward Jenner He observed that people who happened to be infected with secretions from cowpox pustules did not usually get the disease.

Jenner he realized that the contact of the organism with these vaccine strains, besides not representing a danger for the human being, was enough for the immune system to generate defenses and face epidemics with a certain immunity. This was the first systematic effort to fight a disease through immunization.

 

Vaccination practice

The official medicine, decided that this method will be called as a vaccination, in honor of Jenner cows. From the year 1800, almost all European countries were gradually introducing the practice of vaccination, especially in children.

In 1885, Louis Pasteur he developed the first vaccine to protect human beings against rabies. Diphtheria and tetanus toxoids were introduced at the beginning of the 20th century; the vaccine with the bacillus Calmette-Guérin , against tuberculosis , in 1927; the vaccine polio of Salk in 1955 and vaccines against measles and the parotitis in the sixties.
 


Video Medicine: The Origin of Vaccines (September 2021).

Origine des vaccins

La découverte du mécanisme immunologique de vaccination et les différentes manières de l'appliquer sont historiquement liées à la lutte contre la variole.

Selon le OMS , l'administration d'une petite quantité du virus par inhalation nasale ou par de petites incisions cutanées, utile pour créer une résistance à une maladie, a débuté en Asie centrale à partir du 10ème siècle.

La pratique par voie nasale a été étendue à d’autres régions d’Asie et d’Afrique, tandis qu’en Europe, des incisions cutanées ont été utilisées. Cependant, les épidémies de variole qui ont frappé l’Europe à la fin du XVIIe et au XVIIIe siècle ont été décisives pour les ravages qu’elles ont causés à la population.

On estime que 10 à 20% de la population infantile est décédée en raison des différentes épidémies qui ont visité le vieux continent, tandis qu'un nombre inconnu d'adultes ont perdu la vie ou ont été défigurés à cause de la maladie.

 


Les vaches de Jenner

En 1798, le médecin rural anglais Edward Jenner Il a observé que les personnes infectées par les sécrétions provenant des pustules de la variole bovine ne contractaient généralement pas la maladie.

Jenner il s'est rendu compte que le contact de l'organisme avec ces souches vaccinales, en plus de ne pas représenter un danger pour l'être humain, était suffisant pour que le système immunitaire génère des défenses et fasse face aux épidémies avec une certaine immunité. Il s'agissait du premier effort systématique de lutte contre une maladie par la vaccination.

 

Pratique de vaccination

La médecine officielle, a décidé que cette méthode sera appelée une vaccination, en l'honneur des vaches Jenner. À partir de 1800, presque tous les pays européens ont progressivement introduit la pratique de la vaccination, en particulier chez les enfants.

En 1885, Louis Pasteur il a développé le premier vaccin pour protéger les êtres humains contre la rage. Les anatoxines diphtérique et tétanique ont été introduites au début du 20e siècle; le vaccin avec le bacille Calmette-Guérin contre tuberculose en 1927; le vaccin polio de Salk en 1955 et des vaccins contre rougeole et la parotidite dans les années soixante.
 


Médecine Vidéo: Le vaccin contre la polio à l'origine du sida (Juin 2021).