Orthotics: use of orthopedic devices

The word does not yet exist in the Dictionary of the Royal Academy of the Spanish Language. However, the work it does is fundamental in the lives of millions of people in the world. It is the orthotic, that is, the use of orthopedic devices and splints (orthosis or orthosis) to assist biomechanically in the support and stabilization of parts of the body affected by muscles paralyzed and / or weakened by polio.

A manual on the late effects of poliomyelitis for medical personnel and survivors, prepared by the Post-Polio Health International Institute, and released by the Mexican Organization for the Late Effects of Polio (OMCETPAC), points out that the Orthotics is divided into three categories: lower extremities, upper extremities and spinal cord.

 

Joints and muscles on alert

The increase of pains, trips and falls, as well as letting objects escape and losing muscular strength, represent a wake-up call to problems in the joints and muscles of the extremities.

Many polio survivors who had ruled out using their braces at an early age due to therapy or their willpower need support again. The use of clamps on joints and muscle groups can reduce pain, prevent trips and falls, prevent the development of future deformities in the joints and conserve energy, making activities, such as walking, more efficient.

 

Good communication

The communication between the polio survivor, the doctor and the orthopedist, is imperative to design the best possible orthopedic device. Contemporary orthopedic appliances are often constructed of lightweight plastics and metals, with fixed (secure) and / or free (mobile) joints, and not leather and steel as they used to be done before.

The specialist doctor prescribes the general type of orthosis, including basic components, such as fixed or mobile joints, and fabrication in metal or plastic. It also includes the diagnosis and functional goals of the orthosis.

The orthotist manufactures a design based on the prescription, including information from an analysis of the way of walking and data on the way of life of the individual that includes your home, type of work and physical activity.

Having to use a brace should not be seen as a defeat, but as a way to improve stability, as well as a safer, more efficient and less painful mobility, which will result in greater independence.


Video Medicine: STORE BOUGHT FOOT INSOLES VS CUSTOM ORTHOTICS...WORTH IT??? FOOT HEALTH MONTH 2018 #12 (January 2023).

Orthèses: utilisation d'appareils orthopédiques

Le mot n'existe pas encore dans le dictionnaire de l'Académie royale de la langue espagnole. Cependant, son travail est fondamental dans la vie de millions de personnes dans le monde. C'est l'orthèse, c'est-à-dire l'utilisation d'appareils orthopédiques et d'attelles (orthèse ou orthèse) pour aider biomécaniquement au soutien et à la stabilisation de parties du corps touchées par des muscles paralysés et / ou affaiblis par la polio.

Un manuel sur les effets tardifs de la poliomyélite pour le personnel médical et les survivants, préparé par l’Institut international de la santé après la polio et publié par l’Organisation mexicaine des effets tardifs de la polio (OMCETPAC), indique que le Les orthèses sont divisées en trois catégories: les membres inférieurs, les membres supérieurs et la moelle épinière.

 

Articulations et muscles en alerte

L’augmentation des douleurs, des trébuchements et des chutes, ainsi que la possibilité pour les objets de s’échapper et de perdre de la force musculaire, constituent un appel au réveil pour des problèmes d’articulations et de muscles des extrémités.

De nombreux survivants de la polio qui avaient exclu d'utiliser leur appareil orthodontique à un âge précoce en raison d'un traitement ou de leur volonté ont de nouveau besoin de soutien. L'utilisation de pinces sur les articulations et les groupes musculaires peut réduire la douleur, prévenir les trébuchements et les chutes, prévenir le développement de futures déformations des articulations et conserver l'énergie, rendant les activités telles que la marche plus efficaces.

 

Bonne communication

La communication entre le survivant de la poliomyélite, le médecin et l’orthopédiste est impérative pour concevoir le meilleur appareil orthopédique possible. Les appareils orthopédiques contemporains sont souvent construits en plastique et métaux légers, avec des joints fixes (sécurisés) et / ou libres (mobiles), et non en cuir et en acier comme ils le faisaient auparavant.

Le médecin spécialiste prescrit le type général d'orthèse, y compris les composants de base, tels que les articulations fixes ou mobiles, et la fabrication en métal ou en plastique. Il comprend également le diagnostic et les objectifs fonctionnels de l'orthèse.

L'orthotiste fabrique un modèle basé sur la prescription, comprenant des informations provenant d'une analyse du mode de marche et des données sur le mode de vie de l'individu, notamment votre domicile, votre type de travail et votre activité physique.

Le fait de devoir utiliser un corset ne doit pas être perçu comme une défaite, mais comme un moyen d’améliorer la stabilité et une mobilité plus sûre, plus efficace et moins pénible, ce qui se traduira par une plus grande indépendance.


Médecine Vidéo: Utilisation de l'orthese releveur de pied Pneumaflex (Septembre 2020).