Overweight and obesity knows your ABC

The specialists define the obesity as the abnormal or excessive accumulation of grease in a person, which can be harmful to your health. In some parts of the world it can occur in 50% of the total population, and every day is more frequent in children, which is a cause for concern.

To identify the overweight and the obesity , both at an individual and population level, the body mass index (BMI), that is, the weight in kilograms divided by the square of the size in meters (kg / m2); a simple indication of the relationship between weight and the size which is used frequently.

With this measurement, obesity can be divided into three categories:

  1. Overweight: BMI 25-30
  2. Obesity: BMI 30-40
  3. Morbid: BMI over 40

Exclusively for GetQoralHealth , the doctor Ranier Gutiérrez , laboratory specialist Neurobiology of Appetite , of the Cinvestav-IPN Tells you what obesity is:

According to studies, in the last decade the prevalence of obesity is increasing in some countries. In Mexico the figures are not encouraging, there are 44 million people who suffer overweight Y obesity .

Causes

The obesity is manifested by an increase in body weight due to the excessive accumulation of fat in the tissues subcutaneous, when more food is consumed than required according to the needs of the organism, according to age, sex, physical activity and physiological state. This excessive consumption of food (especially high energy content) is causing the accumulation of grease and consequently the weight gain.

The global increase in overweight Y obesity It is attributable to several factors, among which are:

  1. The modification of the diet, with a tendency to increase the intake of hyper caloric foods, rich in fats and sugars, but with scarce vitamins , minerals and others micronutrients .
  2. The tendency to decrease the physical activity due to the increasingly sedentary nature of many jobs, changes in means of transport and increasing urbanization.

In addition, certain problems of thyroid they can cause a considerable weight gain to occur. Genetic factors contribute, in part, to the development of obesity; In fact, children of obese parents are 10 times more likely to be obese than children of parents with normal weight.

Signs

To determine a case of obesity , the doctor can perform a physical examination and ask questions about the medical history, eating habits and routine exercises of the patient.In addition, measures of skin folds are taken to verify the composition of the body and analyzes of blood to look for thyroid or endocrine problems that could lead to weight gain.

Weight psychology

The human being responds to external stimuli, such as images, smells and taste for food, which can trigger almost addictive tendencies towards food. The bombing of advertising is constant, and one of the main culprits is television. During meal times, advertisers take advantage to promote their fast food products, which make recipients think of sweets, fats and other stimulating flavors.

On the other hand, people also have a tendency to gratify themselves with food. An exit to the cinema, the fair or a sporting event is usually accompanied by a "gratification" with a sweet drink or a snack made with sugar or processed meat. This association of food with fun can become permanent.

At the end of the day, the increase in grease and the weight is due to the fact that the calories consumed are more than the calories consumed. For example, running a mile at maximum speed burns approximately 400 calories, but a hamburger provides 450 calories.

Treatment

At an individual level, people can:

  1. Achieve an energy balance and normal weight
  2. Reduce the intake of calories coming from the fats and change the consumption of Saturated fats by unsaturated
  3. Increase consumption of fruits and vegetables, legumes, whole grains and nuts
  4. reduce the sugar intake
  5. Increase the physical activity (at least 30 minutes, exercise with moderate intensity, most days). To reduce the weight, greater activity may be necessary.

Experts estimate that the loss of 10% of excess weight provides beneficial effects on health. Slow weight loss (around one kilo per week) is effective in the long term. To maintain a healthy weight, changes in lifestyle must be maintained, such as reducing the size of the portions and avoiding eating at odd hours.

Experts mention that an effective solution for the morbid obesity (overweight extreme) is the surgery bariatric , which is used to reduce the size of the stomach , so that the amount of food that can be eaten decreases; This surgical procedure can cause losses of weight very remarkable.

Weight loss is rapid at the beginning, then gradually decreases, until reaching a level that is often maintained. This usually relieves complications and improves the patient's mood, self esteem , the body image, the level of activity and the ability to to work and interact with other people.

The bariatric surgery is carried out under specialized programs that have demonstrated sufficient safety and efficacy, such as those established in the Institute of Obesity and Metabolic Syndrome Angeles Hospitals .

Follow us Twitter Y Facebook

If you want to receive more information on this topic do not hesitate to register with us


Video Medicine: Obesity in America (May 2021).

Le surpoids et l'obésité connaissent votre ABC

Les spécialistes définissent le L'obésité comme l'accumulation anormale ou excessive de graisser chez une personne, ce qui peut nuire à votre santé. Dans certaines régions du monde, il peut toucher 50% de la population totale et chaque jour est plus fréquent chez les enfants, ce qui est préoccupant.

Identifier le en surpoids et la L'obésité , tant au niveau individuel que de la population, la indice de masse corporelle (IMC), c’est-à-dire le poids en kilogrammes divisé par le carré de la taille en mètres (kg / m2); une simple indication de la relation entre le poids et la sculpture qui est utilisé fréquemment.

Avec cette mesure, l'obésité peut être divisée en trois catégories:

  1. Surpoids: IMC 25-30
  2. Obésité: IMC 30-40
  3. Morbid: IMC supérieur à 40

Exclusivement pour GetQoralHealth , le docteur Ranier Gutiérrez , spécialiste de laboratoire Neurobiologie de l'appétit de Cinvestav-IPN Vous dit ce que l'obésité est:

Selon des études, au cours de la dernière décennie, la prévalence de L'obésité augmente dans certains pays. Au Mexique, les chiffres ne sont pas encourageants, 44 millions de personnes souffrent de en surpoids et L'obésité .

Les causes

Le L'obésité se manifeste par une augmentation de poids corporel en raison de l'accumulation excessive de graisse dans le mouchoirs par voie sous-cutanée, lorsque l'on consomme plus de nourriture que nécessaire en fonction des besoins de l'organisme, en fonction de l'âge, du sexe, activité physique et état physiologique. Cette consommation excessive d’aliments (en particulier une teneur élevée en énergie) provoque l’accumulation de graisser et par conséquent le gain de poids.

L'augmentation globale de en surpoids et L'obésité Il est attribuable à plusieurs facteurs, parmi lesquels:

  1. La modification du régime alimentaire, avec une tendance à augmenter l'apport d'aliments hyper caloriques, riches en graisses et en sucres, mais avec des vitamines , minéraux et autres les micronutriments .
  2. La tendance à diminuer le activité physique du fait de la nature de plus en plus sédentaire de nombreux emplois, de l’évolution des moyens de transport et de l’urbanisation croissante.

En outre, certains problèmes de thyroïde ils peuvent causer un gain de poids considérable. Les facteurs génétiques contribuent en partie au développement de l'obésité; En fait, les enfants de parents obèses sont 10 fois plus susceptibles d'être obèses que les enfants de parents de poids normal.

Des signes

Pour déterminer un cas de L'obésité , le médecin peut effectuer un examen physique et poser des questions sur les antécédents médicaux, les habitudes alimentaires et la routine des exercices du patient.En outre, des mesures des plis de la peau sont prises pour vérifier la composition du corps et des analyses de du sang rechercher des problèmes thyroïdiens ou endocriniens pouvant conduire à un gain de poids.

Psychologie du poids

L'être humain réagit aux stimuli externes, tels que les images, les odeurs et le goût de la nourriture, ce qui peut déclencher une tendance à la dépendance alimentaire. Le bombardement de la publicité est constant et l’un des principaux coupables est la télévision. À l'heure des repas, les annonceurs mettent en avant la promotion de leurs produits de restauration rapide, qui font penser aux destinataires à des sucreries, des matières grasses et d'autres arômes stimulants.

D'autre part, les gens ont aussi tendance à se satisfaire de nourriture. Une sortie au cinéma, à la foire ou à un événement sportif est généralement accompagnée d'une "gratification" avec une boisson sucrée ou une collation à base de sucre ou de viande transformée. Cette association de la nourriture avec le plaisir peut devenir permanente.

En fin de journée, l’augmentation de la graisser et le poids est dû au fait que les calories consommées sont supérieures aux calories consommées. Par exemple, courir un kilomètre à la vitesse maximale brûle environ 400 calories, mais un hamburger en fournit 450.

Traitement

Au niveau individuel, les personnes peuvent:

  1. Atteindre un équilibre énergétique et un poids normal
  2. Réduire la consommation de les calories venant du les graisses et changer la consommation de graisses saturées par non saturé
  3. Augmenter la consommation de fruits et légumes, de légumineuses, de grains entiers et de noix
  4. Réduire la consommation de sucres
  5. Augmenter le activité physique (au moins 30 minutes, exercice d'intensité modérée, la plupart des jours). Pour réduire le poids, une plus grande activité peut être nécessaire.

Les experts estiment que la perte de 10% de l'excès de poids procure des effets bénéfiques sur la santé. La perte de poids lente (environ un kilo par semaine) est efficace à long terme. Pour maintenir un poids santé, il est nécessaire de maintenir un mode de vie adapté, par exemple en réduisant la taille des portions et en évitant de manger à des heures indues.

Les experts mentionnent qu’une solution efficace pour le obésité morbide (en surpoids extrême) est le la chirurgie bariatrique , qui est utilisé pour réduire la taille de la estomac , de sorte que la quantité de nourriture pouvant être consommée diminue; Cette intervention chirurgicale peut provoquer des pertes de le poids très remarquable.

La perte de poids est rapide au début, puis diminue progressivement jusqu'à atteindre un niveau souvent maintenu. Cela soulage généralement les complications et améliore l'humeur du patient, estime de soi , l'image du corps, le niveau de activité et la capacité de travailler et interagir avec d'autres personnes.

Le chirurgie bariatrique est réalisée dans le cadre de programmes spécialisés ayant démontré une sécurité et une efficacité suffisantes, tels que ceux établis dans le Institut de l'obésité et du syndrome métabolique Hôpitaux Angeles .

Suivez nous Twitter et Facebook

Si vous souhaitez recevoir plus d'informations sur ce sujet, n'hésitez pas à vous inscrire auprès de nous.


Médecine Vidéo: 860-2 Videoconference with Supreme Master Ching Hai, Multi-subtitles (Juin 2022).