Overweight can cause breast cancer

Overweight is the main trigger of the most common form of breast cancer. The consumption of alcohol and smoking occupy the second and third place, respectively, reveals a study conducted by scientists from the Oxford University , In England.

The most common form of breast tumors develops due to an increase in the level of sex hormones, and the factors mentioned above, increase the production of these.

The studies, published in British Journal of Cancer (British Journal of Cancer), have shown that postmenopausal women with high levels of estrogen and progesterone have two to three times more risk of developing breast cancer than women with lower levels.

It has long been known that the factors that influence the levels of these hormones - pregnancy, the contraceptive pill and menopause - can change a woman's risk of suffering from the disease.

Hormone levels

The researchers analyzed the records of about 6,300 women postmenopausal who had participated in 13 different studies. They compared data on age, type of menopause (natural or caused by surgery), body mass index (BMI), smoking, alcohol consumption and reproductive factors of the participants.

It was found that the greatest impact on the levels of sex hormones it is the BMI - the average between the height and the weight of a person -, in particular to maintain a BMI of 25 or more.

The scientists point out that a high BMI is what causes the greatest increase in the level of estrogen and progesterone. This explains why women postmenopausal and obese are the ones with the highest risk of breast cancer.

It was found that women who drink some 2.5 units of alcohol per day (a bottle of beer or a medium glass of wine) have higher levels of all the hormones, mainly estrogen; just like women who smoke 15 cigarettes up to date.

The Dr. Gillian Reeves , director of the study, commented:

 

Our study shows that changes in hormone levels may explain the association of established risk factors, such as obesity, in breast cancer. Other studies have found that body weight and the alcohol they can affect hormone levels and this research confirms it. "

For its part, the Dr. Julie Sharp , of the organization Cancer Research Uk, who funded the study, states that "this is an important study because it shows how alcohol and weight can influence hormone levels."

 

Understanding your role in the development of breast cancer is vital. We know that the risk of the disease may be influenced by family history and age, but there are other things women can do to reduce the risk. Keep a healthy body weight and stop consuming alcohol they are key to reducing risk. "


Video Medicine: How can obesity cause cancer? (February 2023).

Le surpoids peut causer le cancer du sein

Le surpoids est le principal déclencheur de la forme de cancer du sein la plus répandue. La consommation d’alcool et le tabagisme occupent respectivement les deuxième et troisième places, révèle une étude menée par des scientifiques du Université d'Oxford , en Angleterre.

La forme la plus courante de tumeurs du sein se développe en raison d'une augmentation du niveau d'hormones sexuelles et les facteurs susmentionnés en augmentent la production.

Les études, publiées dans British Journal of Cancer (British Journal of Cancer), ont montré que les femmes ménopausées présentant des taux élevés d'œstrogènes et de progestérone courraient deux à trois fois plus de risques de développer un cancer du sein que les femmes présentant des taux bas.

On sait depuis longtemps que les facteurs qui influencent les niveaux de ces hormones - la grossesse, la pilule contraceptive et la ménopause - peuvent modifier le risque de contracter la maladie pour une femme.

Niveaux d'hormones

Les chercheurs ont analysé les dossiers d'environ 6 300 femmes ménopausée qui avait participé à 13 études différentes. Ils ont comparé les données sur l'âge, le type de ménopause (naturelle ou provoquée par une intervention chirurgicale), l'indice de masse corporelle (IMC), le tabagisme, la consommation d'alcool et facteurs de reproduction des participants.

Il a été constaté que le plus grand impact sur les niveaux de hormones sexuelles c'est l'IMC - la moyenne entre la taille et le poids d'une personne -, en particulier pour maintenir un IMC de 25 ou plus.

Les scientifiques soulignent qu'un IMC élevé est la cause de la plus grande augmentation du niveau d'oestrogène et de progestérone. Ceci explique pourquoi les femmes ménopausée et les obèses sont ceux qui présentent le risque le plus élevé de cancer du sein.

Il a été constaté que les femmes qui boivent un peu 2,5 unités d'alcool par jour (une bouteille de bière ou un verre de vin moyen) ont niveaux supérieurs de toutes les hormones, principalement l'œstrogène; tout comme les femmes qui fument 15 cigarettes à jour.

Le Dr. Gillian Reeves , directeur de l'étude, a commenté:

 

Notre étude montre que les variations des taux d'hormones peuvent expliquer l'association de facteurs de risque établis, tels que l'obésité, dans le cancer du sein. D'autres études ont montré que poids corporel et le alcool ils peuvent affecter les niveaux d'hormones et cette recherche le confirme. "

Pour sa part, le Dr. Julie Sharp , de l'organisation Cancer Research Uk, qui a financé l’étude, affirme que "c’est une étude importante car elle montre comment l’alcool et le poids peuvent influer sur les taux hormonaux".

 

Comprendre votre rôle dans le développement du cancer du sein est essentiel. Nous savons que le risque de contracter la maladie peut être influencé par les antécédents familiaux et l'âge, mais les femmes peuvent également prendre d'autres mesures pour le réduire. Garder un poids corporel sain et arrête de consommer alcool ils sont essentiels pour réduire les risques. "


Médecine Vidéo: Le Cancer - Mesures Simples pour le Prévenir, Limiter les Risques & Guérir (Juillet 2020).