Parkinson by biological stress

International scientists found a new genetic cause for the disease of Parkinson inherited, which they indicate could be the cause of the incapacity of brain cells to handle the biological stress .

According to neuroscientists of the Mayo Clinic in Florida (which helped direct the research), the study published in the September issue of American Journal of Human Genetics (American Journal of Human Genetics), completes more the picture of the disease as a complex disorder influenced by several genes .

Although a small number of families with this disease have been found, the scientists point out that the study offers a direct perspective on how the gene EIF4G1 can lead to the death of brain cells , resulting in the disease Parkinson and in others Relevant neurodegenerative disorders .

In this regard, the Dr. Justus C. Dachsel , Mayo neuroscientist and co-director of the study, explained that "this gene is different from others found to cause the disease Parkinson , because it controls the levels of proteins that help the cell to deal with different types of stress , such as those that are usually faced by cells as we grow older. "

"Given the function of this gene , the discovery opens a new research area within the disease of Parkinson and others neurodegenerative diseases ", Adds the co-author of the study, Dr. Owen Ross , neuroscientist Mayo Clinic .

"The perspective obtained regarding how the gene mutations EIF4G1 lead to cell death could be used to develop new therapies to treat or slow down the disease Parkinson "He said.

The study began when French scientists discovered a large family in northern France suffering from the disease Parkinson . Scientists discovered the mutation in the gene EIF4G1 within that family and in others also affected by the United States, Canada, Ireland and Italy.

When a cell is subject to stress , the protein EIF4G1 helps start the production of other proteins that help the cell to adapt.

Dr. Dachsel noted that said stress occurs naturally with aging and, if a cell cerebral He can not respond properly, then he dies. That inability to adapt is what led to the disease Parkinson to the families studied.

The scientists of May They have also found a number of genetic variants that increase a person's risk of developing another type of disease, which is late onset, more common and sporadic.

For more information on the subject, see our specials Parkinson disease Y stress.


Video Medicine: Environmental Factors in Parkinson's Disease with Harvey Checkoway - On Our Mind (June 2021).

Parkinson par stress biologique

Des scientifiques internationaux ont trouvé un nouveau cause génétique pour la maladie de Parkinson héréditaire, ce qui, selon eux, pourrait être la cause de l'incapacité de les cellules du cerveau pour gérer le stress biologique .

Selon les neuroscientifiques du Clinique Mayo en Floride (qui a contribué à orienter la recherche), l’étude publiée dans le numéro de septembre de Journal américain de génétique humaine (American Journal of Human Genetics), complète davantage le tableau de la maladie en tant que trouble complexe influencé par plusieurs les gènes .

Bien qu'un petit nombre de familles atteintes de cette maladie aient été découvertes, les scientifiques soulignent que l'étude offre une perspective directe sur la façon dont la gène EIF4G1 peut conduire à la mort de les cellules du cerveau , entraînant la maladie Parkinson et dans d'autres Troubles neurodégénératifs pertinents .

À cet égard, le Dr. Justus C. Dachsel , Neuroscientifique Mayo et co-directeur de l'étude, a expliqué que "ce gène est différent de ceux qui sont à l'origine de la maladie Parkinson , car il contrôle les niveaux de les protéines cela aide le cellule pour traiter différents types de stress , tels que ceux auxquels sont habituellement confrontés les cellules en vieillissant. "

"Compte tenu de la fonction de cette gène , la découverte ouvre un nouveau domaine de recherche au sein de la maladie de Parkinson et d'autres maladies neurodégénératives ", Ajoute le co-auteur de l'étude, Dr. Owen Ross , neuroscientifique Clinique Mayo .

"La perspective obtenue sur la façon dont les mutations géniques EIF4G1 conduire à mort cellulaire pourrait être utilisé pour développer de nouveaux traitements pour traiter ou ralentir la maladie Parkinson ", un point.

L’étude a commencé lorsque des scientifiques français ont découvert dans le nord de la France une grande famille souffrant de la maladie. Parkinson . Les scientifiques ont découvert la mutation dans le gène EIF4G1 dans cette famille et dans d'autres également touchés par les États-Unis, le Canada, l'Irlande et l'Italie.

Quand un cellule est soumis à stress , la protéine EIF4G1 aide à démarrer la production d'autres les protéines cela aide le cellule s'adapter.

Dr. Dachsel a noté que dit stress se produit naturellement avec le vieillissement et, si un cellule cérébrale Il ne peut pas répondre correctement, alors il meurt. Cette incapacité à s'adapter est ce qui a conduit à la maladie Parkinson aux familles étudiées.

Les scientifiques de Mai Ils ont également découvert un certain nombre de variantes génétiques qui augmentent le risque de développer un autre type de maladie: apparition tardive, plus commune et sporadique.

Pour plus d'informations sur le sujet, consultez nos spéciaux Maladie de Parkinson et stress


Médecine Vidéo: Mucuna Pruriens & Parkinson's Disease (Septembre 2020).