Pharmacology

Medicine administration

Chronic conditions in older adults force them to consume several drugs at the same time. It should be noted that most drugs have side effects, which despite being minimal, can affect the health of the person or interfere with each other, exaggerating or limiting the effects. The University of Chile recommends that during this stage a follow-up of the drugs and doses be carried out, in order to avoid an overdose of medications and their possible effects. Read More

Analgesics in the elderly

Due to advanced age, the elderly require different therapeutic strategies for pain. These strategies are due to a greater extent to metabolism and sensitivity due to age, concomitant diseases, the need for polymedication, high risk of adverse effects and drug interactions. Among the relevant physiological aspects that modify the pharmacology of analgesics in the elderly are: Read More

Antibiotics and antihypertensives alter the pressure

Combining antibiotics and antihypertensives increases the risk of hospitalization in older adults, said a study by the Sunnybrook Research Institute and the Institute of Clinical Evaluative Sciences of Canada published in the Canadian Medical Association Journal. Read More

New anticoagulant against atrial fibrillation approved

The Cofepris (Federal Commission for the Protection of Health Risks), authorized the registration of dabigatran etexilate to prevent the cerebral vascular event in patients with atrial fibrillation. In more than 50 years, there was not such a significant advance in the field of anticoagulants worldwide. Read More

Corticosteroids support hormone production

Currently the use of corticosteroids has spread to many diseases because they mimic the effects of hormones that the body naturally produces in the adrenal glands. They influence the functioning of most body systems (cardiac, immune, muscular and bony, endocrine and nervous) and cause a wide variety of effects, including on the metabolism of carbohydrates, proteins and fats. They help to keep the balance of fluids and electrolytes. When prescribed in doses that exceed normal levels in your body, they suppress inflammation, which can reduce the signs and symptoms of inflammatory diseases. In addition, they act on the immune system, so they can Read More

Drugs and routes of administration

The routes of administration of drugs are the entry routes to the body that influence the latency, intensity and duration of the pharmacological effect. According to Dr. Yamilka L. Sánchez, an academic from the Department of Pharmacology at the Faculty of Medicine-University of Panama, knowing the advantages and disadvantages of these pathways is very important to know how to take advantage of medicines in a certain situation. Read More

Aging for transplants reverts aging

A drug currently used to reduce the organism's rejection of transplanted organs could have a beneficial impact on delaying the normal process of aging of humans, says a study published in the journal Science Translational Medicine. This research was carried out by scientists from the National Human Genome Research Institute, the University of Maryland, the Massachusetts General Hospital and the Harvard Medical School. The finding, scientists say, could be a potential treatment for children suffering from a rare genetic disease called Hutchinson-GIlford syndrome, or progeria, which causes patients to age eight times faster than normal. Progeri Read More

Extreme cleaning can harm health

People overexposed to antibacterial soaps with Triclosan (present in soaps, toothpastes, pens, diaper bags and medical devices), may suffer a greater number of allergies. In addition, Bisphenol-A or BPA, present in many important plastics and plastic additives, can negatively influence the immune system. The above was revealed by a study by the School of Public Health of the University of Michigan, in the United States. Read More

It is not recommended to crush medicines

If you are one of the people who have difficulty swallowing and believe that starting or shredding medicines get the same effect, you are wrong. According to a group of researchers from the Faculty of Chemical Sciences of the Autonomous University of Nuevo Leon, this practice should not be applied in certain medicines because there is a risk of eliminating the benefits of their active ingredients. Read More

Dose

Naproxen sodium is a member of the family of NSAIDs (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs), its usual and most commercial dose is 500 mg. of Naproxen. Read More

Ointments, pills, capsules or suppositories

The form is the least. It is about making medicines useful and safe, so they are prepared in different ways. A documents of the pharmaceutical company Roche, explains what are the different presentations of the drugs. Read More

Why elders confuse medicines

Sometimes, the pharmaceutical industry, in its eagerness to modernize the presentations, colors and formats of its medicines, incurs the error of not taking into account the opinion of the elderly. According to a study recently awarded by the Official College of Pharmacists of Barcelona (COFB), this situation can increase the risk of poisoning and hinder the therapeutic result. Read More

Treatment against influenza

There are several myths and realities of the influenza vaccine, especially the influenza vaccine has been considered as dangerous and whose reactions are allergic. Read More

Truths of generic medicines

A generic drug is a copy of a brand-name drug and has the same effects. According to the National Institutes of Health and the Office for Women's Health of the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the following information may be useful when consuming them. . The FDA is the world reference and the endorsement of medicines produced jointly with the public institutions of each country, such as the Ministry of Health of Mexico. Read More

Pharmacologie

Administration de médicaments

Les conditions chroniques chez les adultes plus âgés les obligent à consommer plusieurs médicaments en même temps. Il convient de noter que la plupart des médicaments ont des effets secondaires qui, bien qu’ils soient minimes, peuvent nuire à la santé de la personne ou se gêner mutuellement, en exagérant ou en limitant les effets. L’Université du Chili recommande d’effectuer à cette étape un suivi des médicaments et des doses afin d’éviter une surdose de médicaments et leurs effets éventuels. Lire La Suite

Les analgésiques chez les personnes âgées

En raison de leur âge avancé, les personnes âgées ont besoin de différentes stratégies thérapeutiques contre la douleur. Ces stratégies sont dues dans une plus large mesure au métabolisme et à la sensibilité dus à l’âge, aux maladies concomitantes, au besoin de polymédication, au risque élevé d’effets indésirables et aux interactions médicamenteuses. Parmi les aspects physiologiques pertinents qui modifient la pharmacologie des analgésiques chez les personnes âgées figurent: Lire La Suite

Nouvel anticoagulant approuvé contre la fibrillation auriculaire

La Cofepris (Commission fédérale de protection des risques pour la santé) a autorisé l'enregistrement du dabigatran etexilate afin de prévenir les accidents vasculaires cérébraux chez les patients souffrant de fibrillation auriculaire. En plus de 50 ans, il n’ya pas eu d’avancée aussi significative dans le domaine des anticoagulants dans le monde. Lire La Suite

Les corticostéroïdes soutiennent la production d'hormones

Actuellement, l'utilisation de corticostéroïdes s'est propagée à de nombreuses maladies, car elles imitent les effets des hormones que l'organisme produit naturellement dans les glandes surrénales. Ils influencent le fonctionnement de la plupart des systèmes corporels (cardiaque, immunitaire, musculaire et osseux, endocrinien et nerveux) et ont une grande variété d’effets, notamment sur le métabolisme des glucides, des protéines et des lipides. Ils aident à maintenir l'équilibre des fluides et des électrolytes. Lorsqu'ils sont prescrits à des doses dépassant les niveaux normaux dans votre corps, ils suppriment l'inflammation, ce qui peut rédu Lire La Suite

Drogues et voies d'administration

Les voies d'administration des médicaments sont les voies d'entrée dans l'organisme qui influent sur la latence, l'intensité et la durée de l'effet pharmacologique. Selon le Dr Yamilka L. Sánchez, universitaire au Département de pharmacologie de la Faculté de médecine de l'Université de Panama, connaître les avantages et les inconvénients de ces voies est très important pour savoir comment tirer parti des médicaments dans une situation donnée. Lire La Suite

Le vieillissement pour les greffes est un retour au vieillissement

Un médicament actuellement utilisé pour réduire le rejet par l'organisme des organes greffés pourrait avoir un effet bénéfique sur le retardement du processus normal de vieillissement de l'homme, a déclaré une étude publiée dans la revue Science Translational Medicine. Cette recherche a été réalisée par des scientifiques de l'Institut national de recherche sur le génome humain, de l'Université du Maryland, du Massachusetts General Hospital et de la Harvard Medical School. Les scientifiques disent que cette découverte pourrait constituer un traitement potentiel pour les enfants atteints d'une maladie génétique rare appelée syndrome de Hutchins Lire La Suite

Un nettoyage extrême peut nuire à la santé

Les personnes surexposées aux savons antibactériens contenant du triclosan (présents dans les savons, les dentifrices, les stylos, les sacs à couches et les dispositifs médicaux) peuvent être sujettes à un plus grand nombre d’allergies. En outre, le bisphénol-A ou le BPA, présent dans de nombreux plastiques et additifs plastiques importants, peut avoir un effet négatif sur le système immunitaire. Ce qui précède a été révélé par une étude de la School of Public Health de l’Université du Michigan, aux États-Unis. Lire La Suite

Il n'est pas recommandé d'écraser les médicaments

Si vous faites partie des personnes qui ont des difficultés à avaler et qui croient que le fait de commencer ou de déchiqueter des médicaments produit le même effet, vous vous trompez. Selon un groupe de chercheurs de la faculté des sciences chimiques de l'université autonome de Nuevo Leon, cette pratique ne devrait pas être appliquée à certains médicaments, car elle risquerait d'éliminer les bénéfices de leurs principes actifs. Lire La Suite

Dosage

Le naproxène sodique appartient à la famille des AINS (anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens). Sa dose habituelle et la plus commerciale est de 500 mg. de naproxène. Lire La Suite

Onguents, pilules, capsules ou suppositoires

La forme est la moindre. Il s'agit de rendre les médicaments utiles et sûrs, de sorte qu'ils sont préparés de différentes manières. Un document de la société pharmaceutique Roche explique quelles sont les différentes présentations des médicaments. Lire La Suite

Pourquoi les aînés confondent les médicaments

Parfois, l’industrie pharmaceutique, soucieuse de moderniser les présentations, les couleurs et les formats de ses médicaments, encourt l’erreur de ne pas prendre en compte l’avis des personnes âgées. Selon une étude récemment remise par le Collège officiel des pharmaciens de Barcelone (COFB), cette situation peut augmenter le risque d'intoxication et nuire au résultat thérapeutique. Lire La Suite

Traitement contre la grippe

Il existe plusieurs mythes et réalités du vaccin antigrippal, en particulier le vaccin antigrippal a été considéré comme dangereux et ses réactions sont allergiques. Lire La Suite

Vérités des médicaments génériques

Un médicament générique est une copie d'un médicament de marque et a les mêmes effets. Selon les Instituts nationaux de la santé et l'Office de la santé des femmes des États-Unis (Food and Drug Administration, FDA), les informations suivantes peuvent être utiles lors de leur consommation. . La FDA est la référence mondiale et l’approbation des médicaments fabriqués conjointement avec les institutions publiques de chaque pays, telles que le ministère de la Santé du Mexique. Lire La Suite