Prevents hoarseness from getting worse

Hoarseness can be short-term (acute) or prolonged (chronic), but the treatment is the same in most cases as it is usually very resistant to medical treatment . Rest and time are the only ways to cure hoarseness that is not associated with more serious illnesses.

The fact of crying, shouting, talking or singing excessively will only make the situation worse. Doctors recommend have patience , since the healing process usually takes several days; try not to talk, unless it is strictly necessary, and avoid whispering as this puts more strain on the vocal chords than the very fact of speaking. They point out that gargling does not help the vocal cords, nor does it eat decongestants , because these dry the vocal cords and prolong the irritation. In any case, they indicate the specialists, for the people who smoke, it is necessary to diminish or quit tobacco . Humidifying the air with a vaporizer or ingesting liquids offers some relief.

Smoking and excessive drinking, especially if both are combined; suffer a inflammation of the larynx (laryngitis) or of the bronchi (bronchitis); among other causes, they usually cause hoarseness , what doctors call, dysphonia The hoarse voice is not as "sexy" as you think.

On the contrary, if it remains for weeks or months, it can be caused by a diversity of problems, both minor and serious, and become a symptom of more worrisome diseases. Therefore, it is important do not neglect This condition affects the vocal cords and causes countless setbacks.

 

Women and children, the most affected by hoarseness

This vocal condition affects up to 50% more women than men, according to the doctor Faustino Núñez Batalla , Chairman of the Phoniatrics Commission of the Spanish Otorhinolaryngology Society (SEORL). He attributes it to anatomical features of the female larynx that determine a vibratory pattern of the vocal cords, with a point of them that concentrates the highest mechanical requirement and that is usually where the vocal cords develop. vocal nodules , the most frequently diagnosed lesion in the patient with dysphonia.

Other risk groups are children (especially between eight and 14 years old), the elderly and those who use their voice as a working tool (teachers, telemarketers, instructors and artists, among others). In any case, despite being a very common phenomenon, its possible causes and treatment are still unknown by the general public, says the specialist. So much so that a survey conducted in the United States revealed that almost half of adults did not know that persistent hoarseness could be symptom of cancer , while another investigation points out that only 5.9% of those who suffer from this disorder consult their doctor.

We must be alert to the development of hoarseness

For Dr. Núñez Batalla, the risk of suffering from hoarseness can be reduced by following correct hydration, avoiding irritating products, quitting smoking or snuff snuff, and training the voice. The expert clarifies that "normally all dysphonia it usually has a trigger or appears in a certain context, such as a cold in the highways, after a night of partying, when leaving a football game, etc.

This type of dysphonia is the most frequent, usually self-limited (less than a week), and does not require treatment or consultation with the specialist. On the other hand, a hoarseness or hoarseness that appears without an apparent reason, lasts more than 15 days, is very repetitive, or occurs in very smokers, is usually more important and should consult the specialists mandatory, and that with a high probability there will be a vocal fold lesion, often malignant, "he explains.
 


Video Medicine: The 4 Underlying Causes of a Hoarse Voice (September 2021).

Empêche l'enrouement d'empirer

Enrouement peut être à court terme (aigu) ou prolongé (chronique), mais le traitement est le même dans la plupart des cas, car il est généralement très résistant à traitement médical . Le repos et le temps sont les seuls moyens de remédier à l'enrouement qui n'est pas associé à des maladies plus graves.

Le fait de pleurer, de crier, de parler ou de chanter excessivement ne fera qu'aggraver la situation. Les médecins recommandent avoir de la patience , puisque le processus de guérison prend habituellement plusieurs jours; essayez de ne pas parler, sauf si cela est strictement nécessaire, et évitez de chuchoter, car cela alourdit la cordes vocales que le fait même de parler. Ils soulignent que les gargarismes n’aident pas les cordes vocales, pas plus qu’ils ne mangent décongestionnants , car ils assèchent les cordes vocales et prolongent l’irritation. Dans tous les cas, indiquent les spécialistes, pour les fumeurs, il est nécessaire de diminuer ou de diminuer quitter le tabac . L'humidification de l'air avec un vaporisateur ou l'ingestion de liquides offre un certain soulagement.

Fumer et boire excessivement, surtout si les deux sont combinés; souffrir un inflammation du larynx (laryngite) ou de la les bronches (bronchite); entre autres causes, ils causent généralement enrouement , ce que les médecins appellent, dysphonie La voix enrouée n'est pas aussi "sexy" que vous le pensez.

Au contraire, si elle dure plusieurs semaines, voire plusieurs mois, elle peut être provoquée par une diversité de problèmes, à la fois mineurs et graves, et devenir le symptôme de maladies plus inquiétantes. Par conséquent, il est important ne pas négliger Cette condition affecte les cordes vocales et provoque d'innombrables revers.

 

Les femmes et les enfants, les plus touchés par l'enrouement

Selon le médecin, cette affection vocale affecte jusqu'à 50% plus de femmes que d'hommes Faustino Núñez Batalla , Président de la commission de phoniatrie de la société espagnole d'oto-rhino-laryngologie (SEORL). Il attribue à caractéristiques anatomiques du larynx féminin qui déterminent un motif vibratoire des cordes vocales, avec une pointe concentrant les exigences mécaniques les plus élevées et se trouvant généralement à l'endroit où les cordes vocales se développent. nodules vocaux , lésion la plus fréquemment diagnostiquée chez le patient atteint de dysphonie.

Les autres groupes à risque sont les enfants (en particulier entre 8 et 14 ans), les personnes âgées et ceux qui utilisent leur voix comme outil de travail (enseignants, télévendeurs, instructeurs et artistes, entre autres). En tout état de cause, bien qu’il s’agisse d’un phénomène très courant, ses causes possibles et son traitement sont encore inconnus du grand public, explique le spécialiste. À tel point qu’une enquête menée aux États-Unis a révélé que près de la moitié des adultes ne savaient pas qu’un enrouement persistant pouvait être causé. symptôme de cancer , tandis qu'une autre enquête souligne que seulement 5,9% de ceux qui souffrent de ce trouble consultent leur médecin.

Nous devons être attentifs au développement de l'enrouement

Pour le Dr Núñez Batalla, il est possible de réduire le risque d'enrouement en suivant une bonne hydratation, en évitant les produits irritants, en cessant de fumer ou de prendre du tabac à priser et en renforçant la voix. L’expert précise que "normalement tous les dysphonie il a généralement un déclencheur ou apparaît dans un certain contexte, comme un rhume sur les autoroutes, après une nuit de fête, en quittant un match de football, etc.

Ce type de dysphonie est la plus fréquente, généralement spontanément résolutive (moins d’une semaine), et ne nécessite ni traitement ni consultation préalable. En revanche, un enrouement ou un enrouement qui apparaît sans raison apparente, dure plus de 15 jours, est très répétitif, ou survient chez les très fumeurs, est généralement plus important et doit consulter les spécialistes obligatoirement, et avec une probabilité élevée, il y aura une lésion vocale souvent maligne », explique-t-il.
 


Médecine Vidéo: Monteverdi - Il ritorno d'Ulisse in patria (actes 1-2) (ST it-eng-fr-de-esp) (Octobre 2020).