Prostheses to eliminate tremors in the body

"We have managed to develop a neuroprosthetics that is able to identify if the person is trembling or not and if he wants to execute voluntary movements or not, in which case, through functional electrical stimulation, he stabilizes the tremor "This is how José Luis Pons explained it, responsible for the project and researcher of the Institute of Industrial Automation of the Superior Council of Scientific Investigations (CSIC) of Spain.

In May of this year, he announced a prototype that integrates sensors able to measure movement and eliminate some of the uncontrolled tremors generated by neurodegenerative diseases.

Currently this type of tremors, present in problems such as Parkinson's and Alzheimer's, are treated by medication or deep brain stimulation.

25% or patients do not respond to any of the therapies, so this system provides an alternative for a large number of patients.

The new device, which could be available in the market within 5 years, can identify if the person wants to perform voluntary movements, such as raising a glass, increasing their quality of life and reinforcing independence in daily activities.

 

Details of the neuroprosthetics

The device, currently a prototype, consists of a set of sensors that are capable of measuring the entire chain of generation of movement, from the origin of the 'order' in the brain to its execution.

"We use an encephalography helmet that detects the intention of the user's movement, that is, when he wants to start moving, and we have electrodes that measure muscle activity, so we can know when he is moving and, through other types of sensors , called inertials, how is that movement, "says Eduardo Rocón, another of the authors associated with the project.

In this way, the neuroprosthesis is able to know when the person wants to execute a voluntary movement, how to grab an object or move the arm to the right. This is important because the system only eliminates tremors if they are going to interfere with the movement, in order not to tire the muscle.

 

  • How to eliminate a tremor

Pons explains that there are two ways to eliminate the tremor: one is stabilizing the arm, in which case what is done is to force the rigidity of the muscle so that it is the arm itself that filters the trembling movements. The other way is that if it is detected that the arm is shaking in one direction, an action is applied that moves it in the opposite direction so that the sum of both produces stability. The researchers estimate that by the end of the year the tests with patients will be completed, which are being carried out in Belgium, the United Kingdom and Spain.


Video Medicine: Hiding a body scar using a prosthetic patch, No. 59 (June 2021).

Prothèses pour éliminer les tremblements dans le corps

"Nous avons réussi à développer un neuroprothèses qui est capable d'identifier si la personne tremble ou pas et s'il veut exécuter des mouvements volontaires ou non, auquel cas, par stimulation électrique fonctionnelle, il stabilise le tremblement "C'est ainsi que José Luis Pons l'expliqua, responsable du projet et chercheur de l'Institut de l'automatisation industrielle du Conseil supérieur des enquêtes scientifiques (CSIC) d'Espagne.

En mai de cette année, il a annoncé un prototype intégrant des capteurs capable de mesurer le mouvement et d'éliminer certains des tremblements incontrôlés générés par les maladies neurodégénératives.

Actuellement, ce type de tremblement, présent dans des problèmes tels que la maladie de Parkinson et la maladie d'Alzheimer, est traité par des médicaments ou par une stimulation cérébrale profonde.

25% ou les patients ne répondent à aucun des traitements, ce système offre donc une alternative à un grand nombre de patients.

Le nouveau dispositif, qui pourrait être disponible sur le marché d’ici 5 ans, peut indiquer si la personne souhaite effectuer des mouvements volontaires, tels que lever le verre, améliorer sa qualité de vie et renforcer son indépendance dans ses activités quotidiennes.

 

Détails de la neuroprothèse

L'appareil, actuellement un prototype, consiste en un ensemble de capteurs capables de mesurer toute la chaîne de génération de mouvements, de l'origine de «l'ordre» dans le cerveau à son exécution.

"Nous utilisons un casque d’encéphalographie qui détecte l’intention du mouvement de l’utilisateur, c’est-à-dire quand il veut commencer à bouger, et nous avons des électrodes qui mesurent l’activité musculaire, ce qui nous permet de savoir quand il bouge et par d’autres types de capteurs , appelé inertials, comment se porte ce mouvement ", explique Eduardo Rocón, un autre des auteurs associés au projet.

De cette manière, la neuroprothèse est en mesure de savoir quand une personne veut exécuter un mouvement volontaire, comment saisir un objet ou déplacer le bras vers la droite. Ceci est important car le système n'élimine les tremblements que s'ils vont interférer avec le mouvement, afin de ne pas fatiguer le muscle.

 

  • Comment éliminer un tremblement

Pons explique qu'il existe deux manières d'éliminer le tremblement: l'une stabilise le bras. Dans ce cas, vous devez forcer la rigidité du muscle pour que ce soit le bras lui-même qui filtre les mouvements tremblants. L’autre solution est que s’il est détecté que le bras tremble dans une direction, une action est appliquée qui le déplace dans la direction opposée de sorte que la somme des deux produise une stabilité. Les chercheurs estiment que les tests avec les patients seront terminés d’ici la fin de l’année, en cours en Belgique, au Royaume-Uni et en Espagne.


Médecine Vidéo: Yug'voril Uncovered - Critical Role RPG Show: Episode 9 (Septembre 2020).