Schizophrenia affects a million Mexicans

Nearly 1 million Mexicans suffer schizophrenia . Each year 250 thousand people are hospitalized mental disorders in the Psychiatric Hospitals of the Mexican Institute of Social Security (IMSS) where 5 out of 10 patients are schizophrenic, a disease that currently affects 1 in 100 people in the world .

Schizophrenia is a chronic and debilitating mental illness. The person who suffers it usually presents abnormal thinking , loss of contact with reality , hallucinations (see and hear things that are not real) and delusions (beliefs that are not true or false). No one knows for sure what causes schizophrenia; It may be due to some genetic issue, environmental factors or abnormal levels of neurotransmitters, chemicals in the brain that influence our thought processes and emotions.

 

Can you live with schizophrenia?

In view of the growing number of diagnosed cases, the Hospital de Psiquiatría "Dr. Héctor Tovar Acosta "of the IMSS, has launched the Partial Hospital Program for the Rehabilitation of the Schizophrenic Patient and his Family. According to his coordinator, the doctor José Luis Vázquez Ramírez , it is about reinserting the schizophrenic patient into social and family life through a series of multidisciplinary actions such as family therapy, family oriented social work, as well as physical and manual activities; all of them aimed at recovering the patient's ability, coordination and mental agility.

With these activities it is intended that the patient be Independent , have the ability to socialize, be encouraged to follow the treatment indicated by the doctor and perform at home as in any academic activity , sports or work. At present. We work in groups of approximately 15 patients, in order to personalize the care and so that the impact is multiple. The attention provided by this program is 6 months, but in cases where the objectives are not reached, it can be extended to another semester.

 

Fundamental the timely diagnosis and treatment of schizophrenia

According to the specialist, mothers they must take special care during their pregnancy , since it is proven that more than 90% of schizophrenic patients suffered fetal suffering and certain forms of neurological damage. On the other hand, it is important that the patient receives treatment and timely diagnosis, given that out of every 100 patients with schizophrenia only 40% is treated and the remaining 60% is confined to a room or remains hidden by the patients. relatives , without any kind of attention. Therefore, in the event of any anomaly that parents observe in the behavior of their children, it is essential to make a Timely assessment to detect or rule out the disease in time. This is very important especially among children and adolescents, to avoid future complications related to the consumption of alcohol and illegal drugs, as well as suicide.


Video Medicine: Institutionalized: Mental Health Behind Bars (September 2021).

La schizophrénie affecte un million de Mexicains

Près d'un million de Mexicains souffrent la schizophrénie . Chaque année, 250 000 personnes sont hospitalisées troubles mentaux dans les hôpitaux psychiatriques de l'Institut mexicain de la sécurité sociale (IMSS) où 5 patients sur 10 sont schizophrènes, une maladie qui touche actuellement 1 personne sur 100 les gens du monde .

La schizophrénie est une maladie mentale chronique et débilitante. La personne qui le subit présente généralement pensée anormale , perte de contact avec La réalité , hallucinations (voir et entendre des choses qui ne sont pas réelles) et des illusions (des croyances qui ne sont ni vraies ni fausses). Personne ne sait vraiment ce qui cause la schizophrénie; Cela peut être dû à un problème génétique, à des facteurs environnementaux ou à des concentrations anormales de neurotransmetteurs, à des substances chimiques présentes dans le cerveau qui influencent nos processus de pensée et nos émotions.

 

Pouvez-vous vivre avec la schizophrénie?

Vu le nombre croissant de cas diagnostiqués, l’Hôpital de Psiquiatrie "Dr. Héctor Tovar Acosta "de l'IMSS, a lancé le programme hospitalier partiel pour la réadaptation du patient schizophrénique et de sa famille. Selon son coordinateur, le médecin José Luis Vázquez Ramírez , il s'agit de réinsérer le patient schizophrénique dans la vie sociale et familiale à travers une série d'actions multidisciplinaires telles que la thérapie familiale, le travail social axé sur la famille, ainsi que des activités physiques et manuelles; tous visaient à recouvrer les capacités, la coordination et l'agilité mentale du patient.

Avec ces activités, il est prévu que le patient être indépendant , avoir la capacité de socialiser, être encouragé à suivre le traitement indiqué par le médecin et effectuer à la maison comme dans tout activité académique , sport ou travail. Actuellement. Nous travaillons par groupes d'environ 15 patients, afin de personnaliser les soins et pour que l'impact soit multiple. L'attention fournie par ce programme est de 6 mois, mais dans les cas où les objectifs ne sont pas atteints, elle peut être étendue à un autre semestre.

 

Fondamentaux le diagnostic et le traitement opportuns de la schizophrénie

Selon le spécialiste, les mères ils doivent prendre des précautions particulières lors de leur la grossesse , puisqu'il est prouvé que plus de 90% des patients schizophrènes ont été atteints souffrance foetale et certaines formes de dommages neurologiques. D'autre part, il est important que le patient reçoive un traitement et un diagnostic opportun, étant donné que sur 40 patients schizophrènes, seuls 40% sont traités et les 60% restants sont confinés dans une pièce ou restent cachés par les patients. parents , sans aucune sorte d'attention. Par conséquent, en cas d'anomalie observée par les parents dans le comportement de leurs enfants, il est essentiel de Évaluation en temps opportun détecter ou exclure la maladie à temps. Ceci est très important, en particulier chez les enfants et les adolescents, pour éviter de futures complications liées à la consommation d’alcool et de drogues illicites, ainsi qu’au suicide.


Médecine Vidéo: Institutionalized: Mental Health Behind Bars (Octobre 2020).