Smoking could cause osteoporosis

The sedentary lifestyle , the malnutrition , the smoking and the alcoholism accelerate the wear of bones , which is generated by a natural process of aging from 50 years of age, indicated Leonel Nieto Lucio, orthopedist of the Mexican Institute of Social Security (IMSS).

The boss of Hip and Pelvis Surgery Service of the Traumatology Hospital, 'Dr. Victorio de la Fuente Narvaez ' , of the IMSS, explained that even a hip fracture becomes deadly for one in four people who suffer from it.

According to information published by the excelsior.com.mx , the greatest risk of suffering osteoporosis , disease that diminishes the quantity of minerals in the bones, it presents the women in relation of three to one, with respect to men.

The expert explained that the problem may originate in genetic factors and nutritional, as well as in the menopause precocious period, a period in which the hormones named estrogen .

Smoking reduces the absorption of calcium in the intestine and the high consumption of alcoholic beverages damages the liver, where the metabolism is metabolized. vitamin D, which intervenes in bone formation, said Nieto Lucio.

He clarified that the most common fractures are those of the hip, which have a direct impact on the quality of life of the patient, followed in importance by those of 'wrist' and spine.

Statistically, between 25 and 35% of patients with hip fractures die in the first year of life, so the specialist stressed the importance of working on prevention.

Although the studies focus more on the causes, diagnosis and treatment of disease in women, "... in a man with osteoporosis Mortality can be higher when a fracture occurs ... ", said the orthopedist.

According to the latest reports, 78 million people suffer osteoporosis , in the United States, Japan, Latin America and Europe; of this figure, 8.9 million patients will suffer fracture and 4.5 million will be located in Latin America.

To delay this wear, the doctor recommended a diet adequate, physical activity daily and timely detection of diseases related as overweight , obesity , diabetes , chronic renal insufficiency and, in the specific case of women, adequate control of the menopause .


Video Medicine: Smoking & Your Bones (June 2021).

Fumer pourrait causer l'ostéoporose

Le mode de vie sédentaire , le malnutrition , le fumer et le alcoolisme accélérer l'usure de os , qui est généré par un processus naturel de vieillissement à partir de 50 ans, indiqué Leonel Nieto Lucio, orthopédiste de l'Institut mexicain de la sécurité sociale (IMSS).

Le patron de Service de chirurgie de la hanche et du bassin de l'hôpital de traumatologie, 'Dr. Victorio de la Fuente Narvaez ' , de l'IMSS, a expliqué que même une fracture de la hanche devient mortelle pour une personne sur quatre qui en souffre.

Selon les informations publiées par le excelsior.com.mx , le plus grand risque de souffrance l'ostéoporose , maladie cela diminue la quantité de minéraux dans les os, il présente les femmes par rapport à trois contre un, par rapport aux hommes.

L’expert a expliqué que le problème peut provenir de facteurs génétiques et nutritionnel, ainsi que dans le ménopause période précoce, période au cours de laquelle les hormones nommé oestrogène .

Le tabagisme réduit l'absorption du calcium dans l'intestin et la consommation élevée de boissons alcoolisées endommage le foie, où le métabolisme est métabolisé. vitamine D, qui intervient dans la formation osseuse, a déclaré Nieto Lucio.

Il a précisé que les fractures les plus courantes sont celles de la hanche, qui ont un impact direct sur la qualité de vie du patient, suivies en importance par celles du «poignet» et de la colonne vertébrale.

Statistiquement, entre 25 et 35% des patients présentant une fracture de la hanche décèdent au cours de leur première année de vie. Le spécialiste a donc insisté sur l’importance de la prévention.

Bien que les études se concentrent davantage sur les causes, le diagnostic et le traitement de maladie chez les femmes "... chez un homme avec l'ostéoporose La mortalité peut être plus élevée en cas de fracture ... ", a déclaré l'orthopédiste.

Selon les derniers rapports, 78 millions de personnes souffrent l'ostéoporose aux États-Unis, au Japon, en Amérique latine et en Europe; sur ce chiffre, 8,9 millions de patients souffriront d'une fracture et 4,5 millions seront implantés en Amérique latine.

Pour retarder cette usure, le médecin a recommandé une régime adéquat, activité physique détection quotidienne et en temps opportun de les maladies liés comme en surpoids , L'obésité , le diabète , insuffisance rénale chronique et, dans le cas spécifique des femmes, un contrôle adéquat des ménopause .


Médecine Vidéo: Effets nocifs du tabagisme pour la santé des femmes (Septembre 2020).