Spanish technique detects Alzheimer's in cataracts

The method designed by the doctor Celia Sánchez-Ramos It allows detecting Alzheimer's through peptides found in the waste extracted from the crystalline eye after the cataract operations. It is the first method non-invasive Y Useful in living people since, to date, the diagnosis of this disease could only be determined with certainty after the death of the patient, based on an analysis of the brain tissue .

Although it is not a method of early diagnostic , because the test detects signs of the disease when it is already present, it does allow "early treatment, even in patients who still have no symptoms of Alzheimer's disease," he said. Sánchez-Ramos .

The procedure is already offered to patients in several public and private hospitals in the Community of Madrid and could be marketed in the future. In Spain , between 260 and 300 thousand people undergo this type of surgery annually.

 

How was the idea of ​​this method generated?

The Dr. Sánchez-Ramos indicates as the origin of his study the research of the American biologist Lee E. Goldstein , professor at Boston University, who determined that there are deposits in the hippocampus peptides (beta amyloid proteins). These peptides are found to a greater extent in Alzheimer's patients and are located in the lens in the same proportion as in the brain . Research Goldsdtein led to the Spanish doctor Sánchez-Ramos to think that the waste of the operating rooms after the operations of cataracts, could be transformed into samples in which to look for those peptides. "From now on, cataract operations will not only help the eyes to be more transparent and that the elderly can see better, but also to detect Alzheimer's as soon as possible and be able to perform the treatment precocious way ", he pointed. According to the researcher, more than thirty patient samples have already been analyzed. The results are obtained in one day. The invention, led by the also professor of the Complutense University of Madrid and candidate for Prince of Asturias Awards of Scientific and Technical Research, was patented in July 2009 and has recently been published internationally, coinciding with the "World Year of Alzheimer's".
 


Video Medicine: G2Voice Broadcast #62 - Alzheimer's, Its a Toxicity Issue (June 2021).

Une technique espagnole détecte la maladie d'Alzheimer dans les cataractes

La méthode conçue par le médecin Celia Sánchez-Ramos Il permet de détecter la maladie d’Alzheimer à travers peptides trouvé dans les déchets extraits de la oeil cristallin après les opérations de la cataracte. C'est la première méthode non invasif et utile chez les personnes vivantes puisque, à ce jour, le diagnostic de cette maladie ne pouvait être déterminé avec certitude qu'après le décès du patient, sur la base d'une analyse des tissu cérébral .

Bien que ce ne soit pas une méthode de diagnostic précoce Comme le test détecte les signes de la maladie quand il est déjà présent, il permet "un traitement précoce, même chez les patients ne présentant toujours aucun symptôme de la maladie d'Alzheimer", a-t-il déclaré. Sánchez-Ramos .

La procédure est déjà proposée aux patients de plusieurs hôpitaux publics et privés de la Communauté de Madrid et pourrait être commercialisée à l'avenir. Dans Espagne , entre 260 et 300 000 personnes subissent ce type de chirurgie chaque année.

 

Comment est née l'idée de cette méthode?

Le Dr. Sánchez-Ramos indique comme origine de son étude les recherches du biologiste américain Lee E. Goldstein , professeur à l'Université de Boston, qui a déterminé qu'il y avait des dépôts dans l'hippocampe peptides (protéines bêta-amyloïdes). Ces peptides se retrouvent plus fréquemment chez les patients atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer et sont localisés dans le cristallin dans la même proportion que dans le cerveau . L'enquête de Goldsdtein conduit au médecin espagnol Sánchez-Ramos penser que les déchets des salles d'opération après les opérations de la cataracte pourraient être transformés en échantillons dans lesquels rechercher ces peptides. "Désormais, les opérations de la cataracte aideront non seulement les yeux à être plus transparents et permettront aux personnes âgées de mieux voir, mais également à détecter le plus tôt possible la maladie d'Alzheimer et à pouvoir effectuer le traitement manière précoce "Il a dit. Selon le chercheur, plus de trente échantillons de patients ont déjà été analysés. Les résultats sont obtenus en une journée. L’invention, dirigée par le professeur de l’Université Complutense de Madrid et candidate au Prix ​​Prince des Asturies de la recherche scientifique et technique, a été breveté en juillet 2009 et a récemment été publié à l’international, à l’occasion de «l’Année mondiale de la maladie d’Alzheimer».
 


Médecine Vidéo: OriGene Webinar Series: TissueScan cDNA Arrays (Septembre 2020).