Stem cells generate neurons lost by Alzheimer's

Researchers have managed to transform for the first time human embryonic stem cells in a kind of neuron that dies in Alzheimer's disease and that it is one of the main causes of memory loss, the scientific journal Stem Cells reported.

The new technology will be able to provide a supply of cells for use in drug testing or even for transplants that will help recover the memory, indicated the research of Northwestern University in Chicago, United States.

"These cells are critically important in the functions of the memory ", He said Dr. Jack Kessler from Northwestern University, and researcher in the project. The team used embryonic stem cells to create a type of neurons, which are believed to be responsible for the early loss of brain cells in Alzheimer's disease.

During the early stages of Alzheimer's , the ability to recover memories has been lost but not the memories in themselves. There is a small population of this type of neurons in the brain However, its loss has a rapid and devastating effect on the ability to remember.

The researchers transplanted the new neurons in the hippocampus of mice and showed that they functioned normally, formed axons in the hippocampus and secreted acetylcholine, a necessary component for the hippocampus to recover the memories from other areas of brain.

This ability to reprogram mother cells and creating an unlimited supply of human neurons has the potential to allow the invention and research of new drugs for Alzheimer's disease, and possibly the transplant of new neurons in patients who suffer from it.

Stem cells are cells capable of transforming into any other type of specialized cell in the body. Are the source of all cells . The embryonic stem cell They are taken from human embryos with few days of formation, and are those that have greater capacity to become any other cell type.

 

What is the Alzheimer's process?

Know it in our infographic "Understanding the Alzheimer's process"

We also present the first part of a series of videos that explain what stem cells are and how they work in our body.

Source: Reuters, Northwestern University and Europa Press.


Video Medicine: Stem Cell Therapy for Alzheimers and Dementia - New Safe Effective Treatment Options in 2018 (June 2021).

Les cellules souches génèrent des neurones perdus par la maladie d'Alzheimer
technologie de la santé

Les cellules souches génèrent des neurones perdus par la maladie d'Alzheimer

Les chercheurs ont réussi à se transformer pour la première fois cellules souches embryonnaires humaines dans une sorte de neurone qui meurt dans la maladie d’Alzheimer et qu’elle est l’une des principales causes de perte de mémoire, a rapporté le journal scientifique Stem Cells.

La nouvelle technologie sera en mesure de fournir une réserve de cellules à utiliser pour les tests de dépistage des drogues ou même pour les greffes, ce qui aidera à récupérer le la mémoire, a indiqué la recherche de la Northwestern University à Chicago, États-Unis.

"Ces cellules jouent un rôle crucial dans les fonctions du mémoire "Dit le Dr. Jack Kessler de la Northwestern University et chercheur dans le projet. L’équipe a utilisé des cellules souches embryonnaires pour créer un type de neurones, qui seraient responsables de la perte précoce de les cellules du cerveau dans la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Au début de Alzheimer , la capacité de récupérer des souvenirs a été perdue, mais pas les souvenirs en eux-mêmes. Il y a une petite population de ce type de neurones dans le cerveau Cependant, sa perte a un effet rapide et dévastateur sur la capacité de se souvenir.

Les chercheurs ont transplanté les nouveaux neurones dans l'hippocampe de souris et ont montré qu'ils fonctionnaient normalement, formaient des axones dans l'hippocampe et sécrétaient de l'acétylcholine, un composant nécessaire à la récupération de l'hippocampe. des souvenirs d'autres domaines de cerveau.

Cette possibilité de reprogrammer cellules mères et la création d’un nombre illimité de neurones humains pourrait permettre l’invention et la recherche de nouveaux médicaments pour la maladie d’Alzheimer, et éventuellement la greffe de nouveaux neurones chez les patients qui en souffrent.

Les cellules souches sont des cellules capables de se transformer en n'importe quel autre type de cellule spécialisée du corps. Sont la source de toutes les cellules . Le cellules souches embryonnaires Ils proviennent d'embryons humains avec quelques jours de formation et sont ceux qui ont la plus grande capacité à devenir n'importe quel autre type de cellule.

 

Quel est le processus d'Alzheimer?

Connaissez-le dans notre infographie "Comprendre le processus d'Alzheimer"

Nous présentons également la première partie d'une série de vidéos qui expliquent ce que sont les cellules souches et leur fonctionnement dans notre corps.

Source: Reuters, Northwestern University et Europa Press.

Médecine Vidéo: L'odorat, sens du futur ? (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes

Pourquoi votre personnalité résonne-t-elle dans votre corps?

Raison de la rupture?

Ado meurt pour manger les cheveux