The higher the level of studies, the lower the risk of dementia

Researchers from Finland and the United Kingdom have established that those who extend their academic studies present an minor risk to suffer dementia in the future. The results, about which an article has been published in the journal Brain , have been obtained thanks to collaboration ECLIPSE (Clinicopathological epidemiological studies in Europe), supported in part by a grant Marie Curie for beneficiaries from third countries.

Several previous studies had shown that more time should be devoted to academic studies, a fact related to a higher socioeconomic status and style of study. healthier life, it also reduces the risk of suffering from dementia. However, it had not been fully clarified whether said benefit it is because education protects the brain against pathologies related to dementia or that it provides people with the mental reserves necessary to cope with the neurological changes typical of the development of dementia.

To resolve this and other issues of remarkable importance, the ECLIPSE researchers analyzed data from a cohort (set of individuals from one population) of 872 people participating in three large-scale studies on aging and dementia. One of them belonged to a European program of brain donation. The studies were the Cohort Study of more than 75 years of the City of Cambridge and the Study on Aging and cognitive function of the Medical Research Council of the United Kingdom and the Vantaa 85+ study of Finland.

 

Process

In all the studies, participants were interviewed at regular intervals between one and seven years after conducting baseline studies between 1985 and 1993. The questionnaires were designed to have an influence on the presence of signs of dementia, although the participants also answered questions about socioeconomic factors such as education.

In all the studies, brain tissue samples were evaluated in search of neuropathologies, analyzes performed without knowing the clinical status of the patient in relation to dementia. The researchers investigated the presence of plaques, aggregations and injuries associated with dementia and classified them according to their severity. These data were then compared with those extracted from the questionnaires.

The incidence of cerebral pathologies was similar in all groups. The results indicated that obtaining a higher level of education does not have a physical protective effect against these pathologies, but rather helps cope with degenerative changes in the brain. Individuals who had enjoyed greater education during youth had a lower risk of developing clinical dementia at older ages.

 

Discoveries

"Previous research has shown that there is no direct relationship between the diagnosis of dementia in life and the changes observed directly in the brain after death," explained Dr. Hannah Keage of the University of Cambridge (United Kingdom). "The brain pathology of one person can be enormous while that of another person and both suffer dementia." Our study shows that education during youth can allow certain people to cope with a large number of changes in their brain without symptoms of dementia. . "

The findings highlight the important contribution of education to public health, especially in view of the European population aging.

"It is known that education is good for health and equality," said Professor Carol Brayne of the University of Cambridge, director of the research.

"This study provides strong arguments in favor of investing in factors related to youth that should influence society and throughout life, the relevance of these statements for political decisions regarding the allocation of resources for health and education. It's essential."

For more information , visit:

University of Cambridge www.cam.ac.uk

Brain: //brain.oxfordjournals.org

ECLIPSE: www.eclipsestudy.eu

© European Union. CORDIS


Video Medicine: Could Drinking COFFEE REDUCE DEMENTIA & Alzheimer's? Can COFFEE Consumption Cure DEMENTIA? (June 2021).

Plus le niveau d'études est élevé, plus le risque de démence est faible

Des chercheurs finlandais et britanniques ont établi que ceux qui prolongent leurs études universitaires présentent unn risque mineur souffrir démence dans le futur. Les résultats, à propos desquels un article a été publié dans la revue Cerveau , ont été obtenus grâce à la collaboration ECLIPSE (Études épidémiologiques clinico-pathologiques en Europe), financées en partie par une subvention Marie Curie pour les bénéficiaires de pays tiers.

Plusieurs études précédentes avaient montré qu'il fallait consacrer plus de temps aux études universitaires, ce qui était lié à un statut socio-économique et à un style d'études plus élevés. vie plus saine, cela réduit également le risque de souffrir de démence. Cependant, il n’a pas été clairement précisé si ledit profit c'est parce que l'éducation protège le cerveau contre les pathologies liées à la démence ou qu'elle fournit aux personnes les réserves mentales nécessaires pour faire face aux changements neurologiques typiques du développement de la démence.

Pour résoudre ce problème et d’autres problèmes d’importance remarquable, les chercheurs d’ECLIPSE ont analysé les données d’un cohorte (ensemble d'individus d'une population) de 872 personnes participant à trois études à grande échelle sur le vieillissement et la démence. L'un d'entre eux appartenait à un programme européen de don de cerveaux. Ces études étaient l’étude de cohorte de plus de 75 ans de la ville de Cambridge et l’étude sur le vieillissement et la fonction cognitive du Medical Research Council du Royaume-Uni et l’étude Vantaa 85+ de la Finlande.

 

La procédure

Dans toutes les études, les participants ont été interrogés à intervalles réguliers, entre un et sept ans, après avoir mené des études de base entre 1985 et 1993. Les questionnaires étaient conçus pour avoir une influence sur la présence de signes de démence, bien que les participants aient également répondu: des questions sur des facteurs socio-économiques tels que l'éducation.

Dans toutes les études, des échantillons de tissu cérébral ont été évalués à la recherche de neuropathologies, analyses effectuées sans connaître l'état clinique du patient en ce qui concerne la démence. Les chercheurs ont étudié la présence de plaques, d'agrégations et de lésions associées à la démence et les ont classés en fonction de leur gravité. Ces données ont ensuite été comparées à celles extraites des questionnaires.

L'incidence des pathologies cérébrales était similaire dans tous les groupes. Les résultats ont indiqué que l'obtention d'un niveau d'éducation supérieur n'a pas d'effet protecteur physique contre ces pathologies, mais aide plutôt à faire face aux changements dégénératifs du cerveau. Les personnes qui avaient bénéficié d'une éducation plus poussée durant leur jeunesse risquaient moins de développer une démence clinique à un âge plus avancé.

 

Découvertes

"Des recherches antérieures ont montré qu'il n'existait aucune relation directe entre le diagnostic de démence dans la vie et les changements observés directement dans le cerveau après le décès", a expliqué le Dr Hannah Keage de l'Université de Cambridge (Royaume-Uni). "La pathologie cérébrale d'une personne peut être énorme, tandis que celle d'une autre personne et de la démence." Notre étude montre que l'éducation des jeunes peut permettre à certaines personnes de faire face à un grand nombre de changements dans leur cerveau sans symptômes de démence. . "

Les résultats soulignent l'importante contribution de l'éducation à la santé publique, en particulier eu égard au vieillissement de la population européenne.

"On sait que l'éducation est bonne pour la santé et l'égalité", a déclaré la professeure Carol Brayne de l'Université de Cambridge, directrice des recherches.

"Cette étude fournit des arguments solides en faveur de l'investissement dans les facteurs liés à la jeunesse qui devraient influencer la société et tout au long de la vie, la pertinence de ces déclarations pour les décisions politiques relatives à l'allocation de ressources pour la santé et l'éducation. C'est primordial. "

Pour plus d'informations , visitez:

Université de Cambridge www.cam.ac.uk

Cerveau: //brain.oxfordjournals.org

ECLIPSE: www.eclipsestudy.eu

© Union européenne. CORDIS


Médecine Vidéo: Si tu marches tous les jours, voilà les 10 changements qui surviendront dans ton corps (Septembre 2020).