They demand an increase in the cigarette tax

The more than 50 civil society organizations that support the increase in the price of the pack of cigarettes in Mexico, will continue with activities of awareness and transparency of the vote of Legislators, around the proposal to increase the price of cigarettes. Cigarette packs in the country.

Last Thursday, October 14, more than 70 activists and representatives of civil society, represented by the InterAmerican Heart of Mexico Foundation (FIC), the Mexico Network without Tobacco, the National Alliance for Tobacco Control (ALIENTO) and, Communication, Dialogue and Conscience (CODICE), prostrated in front of the Chamber of Deputies to demand that the representatives of the LXI Legislature make a vote in favor of the health of Mexicans and not of the tobacco industry .

Dressed in shirts with the caption "yes to the tax on tobacco", gas masks and chrysanthemums that represent more than 60,000 deaths per year caused by tobacco in Mexico, more than 70 activists displayed banners with legends such as "Voting for health , not for the tobacco companies, "" deputies: Mexico needs more tax on tobacco "and" 7 out of every 10 Mexicans support the tobacco tax! And you gentlemen? "

In this regard, the teacher Erick Antonio Ochoa, Director of Initiatives for Tobacco Control of the InterAmerican Heart Foundation, mentioned:

"The campaign launched on October 7, aims to require Legislators of all parties, be aware of the serious public health problem that the consumption ofl tobacco for Mexicans, as well as for a weak health system that spends more than 45 billion pesos to provide care to patients with diseases related to smoking in Mexico, with which to treat other unprovoked illnesses ".

Ochoa added: "The Voting for Health campaign will continue until the Deputies are sensitive to this citizen's demand, and will provide timely and transparent monitoring of the meaning of the vote given by each of the 500 Deputies, through the page www.VotoPorLaSalud.org ”.


Video Medicine: Increase in taxes on cigarettes hurting people in lower socio-economic groups (September 2021).

Ils exigent une augmentation de la taxe sur les cigarettes

Les plus de 50 organisations de la société civile qui soutiennent la hausse du prix du paquet de cigarettes au Mexique poursuivront leurs activités de sensibilisation et de transparence du vote des législateurs, autour de la proposition visant à augmenter le prix des cigarettes. Paquets de cigarettes dans le pays.

Jeudi 14 octobre, plus de 70 militants et représentants de la société civile, représentés par la Fondation InterAmerican Heart of Mexico (FIC), le Réseau sans tabac du Mexique, l'Alliance nationale pour la lutte antitabac (ALIENTO) et, Communication, Dialogue et Conscience (CODICE), prosterné devant la Chambre des députés pour demander aux représentants de la législature de LXI de voter en faveur de la santé des Mexicains et non de la industrie du tabac .

Vêtus de chemises portant l'inscription "oui à la taxe sur le tabac", de masques à gaz et de chrysanthèmes représentant plus de 60 000 décès par an dus au tabac au Mexique, plus de 70 militants ont arboré des banderoles légendées telles que "Voting for health , pas pour les compagnies de tabac, "" députés: le Mexique a besoin de plus de taxes sur le tabac "et" 7 Mexicains sur 10 sont favorables à la taxe sur le tabac! Et vous, messieurs? "

À cet égard, le professeur Erick Antonio Ochoa, directeur des initiatives pour la lutte antitabac de la Fondation interaméricaine du coeur, a mentionné:

"La campagne lancée le 7 octobre a pour but de demander aux législateurs de tous les partis d'être conscients du grave problème de santé publique que la consommation del tabac pour les Mexicains, ainsi que pour un système de santé fragile qui dépense plus de 45 milliards de pesos pour fournir des soins aux patients atteints de maladies liées à fumer au Mexique, pour traiter d’autres maladies non provoquées ".

Ochoa a ajouté: "La campagne" Voter pour la Santé "se poursuivra jusqu'à ce que les députés soient sensibles à la demande de ce citoyen et fournisse un suivi rapide et transparent du sens du vote donné par chacun des 500 députés, à travers la page www.VotoPorLaSalud.org ”.


Médecine Vidéo: Des gestes individuels à l'action politique: militer pour une taxe carbone ? (Octobre 2020).