They find condoms of pig gut from two centuries ago

The workers of the National Historical Archive of Toledo in Spain, they studied the correspondence of the Duchy of Béjar (1814 -1830) when they found a package; At first it looked like it was a papyrus but when they saw it in more detail they discovered that it was two condoms two centuries ago.

 

These condoms are made of pork belly At one end they were sewn and at the other they have a rope to be adjusted. To last they had to be soaked in milk to soften their roughness and then, once used, they were disinfected with warm water and filled with talcum powder or potato starch until the next use.

 

They were luxury objects so their use was common among people of the nobility and more than as contraceptives , were used as shields against syphilis or gonorrhea in prostitution environments.

 

The copies, clandestine and reusable, belong to a few years in which the fear of venereal diseases It was a living thing and the church vetoed them because they were considered "nature scandal". The origin of these two condoms is unknown, but it is probable that they arrived from France, pig or lamb casings, entered Spain clandestinely from England or France.

 

This is not the first time that a copy of these is found, a couple of years ago two were found in a book of medicine in the library of the University of Salamanca and the British museum was given the task of organizing an exhibition of condoms 450 years old. Even in 1992 the house Christie's auctioned one of the early nineteenth century, of French origin, which measured twenty centimeters and had drawn a half-naked religious among three ecclesiastics in erection.

Source
BBC World


Video Medicine: 10 Birth Control Methods From History (September 2021).

Ils trouvent des préservatifs de boyau de porc d'il y a deux siècles

Les ouvriers du Archives historiques nationales de Tolède en Espagne, ils ont étudié la correspondance du duché de Béjar (1814-1830) lorsqu'ils ont trouvé un colis; Au début, on aurait dit que c’était un papyrus, mais quand ils l’ont vu plus en détail, ils ont découvert que c’était deux préservatifs il y a deux siècles.

 

Ces préservatifs sont faits de poitrine de porc À une extrémité, ils ont été cousus et à l'autre, ils ont une corde à ajuster. Ils devaient ensuite être trempés dans du lait pour adoucir leurs aspérités, puis désinfectés à l'eau tiède et remplis de talc ou de fécule de pomme de terre jusqu'à la prochaine utilisation.

 

C'étaient des objets de luxe, leur utilisation était donc courante chez les nobles et plus encore contraceptifs , ont été utilisés comme boucliers contre la syphilis o gonorrhée dans des environnements de prostitution.

 

Les copies, clandestines et réutilisables, appartiennent à quelques années au cours desquelles la peur de maladies vénériennes C'était un être vivant et l'église leur a opposé son veto parce qu'ils étaient considérés comme un "scandale de la nature". L'origine de ces deux préservatifs est inconnue, mais il est probable qu'ils sont arrivés de France, boyaux de porc ou d'agneau, entrés clandestinement en Espagne depuis l'Angleterre ou la France.

 

Ce n’est pas la première fois qu’on en trouve un exemplaire. Il y a quelques années, deux d’entre elles ont été retrouvées dans un livre de médecine dans la bibliothèque du Université de Salamanque et le Musée britannique a été chargé d’organiser une exposition de les préservatifs 450 ans Même en 1992, la maison Christie's vendit aux enchères l'une des maisons du début du XIXe siècle, d'origine française, qui mesurait vingt centimètres et avait dessiné un religieux à moitié nu parmi trois ecclésiastiques en construction.

Source
BBC World


Médecine Vidéo: L'HISTOIRE DU PRÉSERVATIF ???? (Octobre 2020).