UNAM develops Atlas of Health in Mexico

The world has experienced an epidemiological transition and our country has been part of it. Some decades ago the most common diseases, which caused the highest number of deaths among Mexicans, were infectious.

Currently this has changed, the most common diseases are chronic degenerative diseases such as diabetes, hypertension and cancer, which have the highest number of cases of morbidity and mortality.

The Atlas of Health in Mexico , developed by specialists from Institute of Geography (IG) and the Faculty of Medicine (FM) of the UNAM , in collaboration with members of the Faculty of Geography of the Autonomous University of the State of Mexico , allows us to approach the evolution of the most common diseases of our country through time and space.

In this cartographic document, health information was collected since 1800, with the purpose of articulating the epidemiological situation of the Mexican population with the world context and its trends; It also aims to show the geographical distribution of the most common diseases, deaths, health systems and health campaigns over two centuries.

The maps that make it up allow us to determine the areas that stand out due to the incidence of one or the other pathology, the causes, distribution of morbidity and mortality rates, as well as its relationship with the health care infrastructure and human resources.

As of May 2010, work began on the conformation of the Atlas of Health in Mexico , which has its first antecedent in 1973. The Dr. María del Carmen Juárez Gutiérrez, from IG , commented that the intention of this document is to show the evolution of health in the Mexican, for which information has been compiled from various sources and from previous atlases.

The specialist highlighted the collaboration of Dr. Carlos Viesca, from the Department of History and Philosophy of the FM , who provided information for the period from 1800 to 1970; With this, a sequence of public health in Mexico could be developed.

In turn, the Dr. Malaquías López Cervantes of FM , said that this period is key in Mexican medicine, since it covers the long configuration of the Mexican State, the expansion and spatial redistribution of our population; and it is fundamental because of the history of communicable diseases.

Until now, this information allows us to reflect on the decision-making in health matters in the country, since the situation in the north is very different from that in the south; Diseases and opportunities for access to health are different in each region.

López Cervantes recalled that this last work compiles the sanitary evolution in the historical panorama; "It has allowed us to know how this national problem has changed and how the previous atlases have served to make decisions about it."


Video Medicine: Discover Bouldering at Ciudad Universitaria de UNAM in Mexico City (July 2024).

L'UNAM développe l'Atlas de la santé au Mexique

Le monde a connu une transition épidémiologique et notre pays en fait partie. Il y a quelques décennies, les maladies les plus courantes, qui ont causé le plus grand nombre de décès chez les Mexicains, étaient infectieuses.

Actuellement, cela a changé. Les maladies les plus courantes sont les maladies chroniques dégénératives telles que le diabète, l'hypertension et le cancer, qui comptent le plus grand nombre de cas de morbidité et de mortalité.

Le Atlas de la santé au Mexique , développé par des spécialistes de Institut de géographie (IG) et Faculté de médecine (FM) de l'UNAM , en collaboration avec des membres du Faculté de géographie de l'Université autonome de l'État de Mexico , nous permet d’aborder l’évolution des maladies les plus courantes de notre pays à travers le temps et l’espace.

Dans ce document cartographique, des informations sur la santé ont été collectées depuis 1800 dans le but d’articuler la situation épidémiologique de la population mexicaine avec le contexte mondial et ses tendances; Il vise également à montrer la répartition géographique des maladies, décès, systèmes de santé et campagnes de santé les plus répandus au cours des deux siècles.

Les cartes qui la composent nous permettent de déterminer les zones qui se distinguent par l'incidence de l'une ou l'autre pathologie, les causes, la répartition des taux de morbidité et de mortalité, ainsi que ses relations avec l'infrastructure de soins de santé et les ressources humaines.

À partir de mai 2010, les travaux sur la conformation du Atlas de la santé au Mexique , qui a son premier antécédent en 1973. Le Dr. María del Carmen Juárez Gutiérrez, IG , a commenté que l’intention de ce document est de montrer l’évolution de la santé au Mexique, pour laquelle des informations ont été compilées à partir de diverses sources et d’atlas précédents.

Le spécialiste a souligné la collaboration de Dr. Carlos Viesca, du Département d’histoire et de philosophie du FM , qui a fourni des informations pour la période allant de 1800 à 1970; Avec cela, une séquence de santé publique au Mexique pourrait être développée.

À son tour, le Dr. Malaquías López Cervantes de FM , a déclaré que cette période est essentielle pour la médecine mexicaine, puisqu'elle couvre la longue configuration de l'État mexicain, l'expansion et la redistribution spatiale de notre population; et c'est fondamental en raison de l'histoire des maladies transmissibles.

Jusqu'à présent, ces informations nous permettent de réfléchir sur le processus décisionnel en matière de santé dans le pays, car la situation dans le nord est très différente de celle dans le sud. Les maladies et les possibilités d'accès à la santé sont différentes dans chaque région.

López Cervantes a rappelé que ce dernier ouvrage résume l'évolution sanitaire dans le panorama historique; "Cela nous a permis de savoir comment ce problème national avait changé et comment les précédents atlas avaient servi à prendre des décisions à ce sujet."


Médecine Vidéo: Environmental Regulation and the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) (Février 2023).