UNAM manages to reduce Parkinson's muscle stiffness

Researchers from the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) successfully tested an alternative to reduce the muscular stiffness in people suffering from Parkinson's disease. The research was conducted at the Institute of Cellular Physiology (IFC), in the doctor's laboratoryRené Drucker Colín

The procedure is based on submitting the patient to a therapy which involves several sessions of electromagnetic fields directed to thecerebral frontal cortex .

Magnetic resonances (applied before and after subjecting patients to treatment), showed that this technique improves the activity of the caudate nucleus (region of the brain related to movement), because thanks to electric fields the neuronal connectivity .

The work is the result of the doctoral thesis of Nadia González , student of the laboratory, and in a few days it will be published in the Journal of Neurology, one of the most important journals on neurology at international level.

After Alzheimer's, Parkinson's disease is the neurodegenerative disease More frequently. It is estimated that they suffer between 1 and 2% of those over 60 years.

Source: Jornada.unam.mx

 

What is Parkinson's disease?


Video Medicine: ¡Vientos!, noticias que vuelan: Episodio 81 (June 2021).

L'UNAM parvient à réduire la raideur musculaire de Parkinson

Des chercheurs de l’Université nationale autonome du Mexique (UNAM) ont testé avec succès une alternative permettant de réduire la raideur musculaire chez les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson. La recherche a été menée à l'Institut de physiologie cellulaire (IFC), dans le laboratoire du médecinRené Drucker Colín

La procédure est basée sur la soumission du patient à un thérapie qui implique plusieurs sessions de champs électromagnétiques dirigé vers lecortex frontal cérébral .

Les résonances magnétiques (appliquées avant et après traitement des patients) ont montré que cette technique améliore l’activité de la noyau caudé (région du cerveau liée au mouvement), car grâce aux champs électriques, les connectivité neuronale .

Le travail est le résultat de la thèse de doctorat de Nadia González , étudiant du laboratoire, et dans quelques jours, il sera publié dans la Journal de neurologie, une des revues les plus importantes en neurologie au niveau international.

Après la maladie d’Alzheimer, la maladie de Parkinson est la maladie neurodégénérative plus fréquent On estime qu'ils souffrent entre 1 et 2% des plus de 60 ans.

Source: Jornada.unam.mx

 

Qu'est-ce que la maladie de Parkinson?


Médecine Vidéo: Section 10 (Septembre 2020).