Urgent, change of clothes!

What is the medical instrument with more bacteria? Stethoscopes help diagnose and heal, but that essential tool of doctors also poses a significant potential for spreading germs from one patient to another, a new study reports.

The diaphragm of the stethoscope, the round piece that is placed in the patient's body, can be filled with bacteria that are resistant to antibiotics, such as the potentially lethal MRSA, the researchers found.

They discovered that a diaphragm picks up more bacteria during a patient's examination than any part of the doctor's hands, except for the tips of the fingers.

The stethoscope tube can also be filled with bacteria, and the level of contamination in both the diaphragm and the tube increases along with the amount of bacteria on the doctor's fingertips, the study said.

"Germs are acquired through the contact of the patient's skin with the stethoscope, in the same way that the hands are usually colonized with the germs of the patient," said the study's lead author, Dr. Didier Pittet. Director of the Infection Control Program of Hospitals of the University of Geneva, in Switzerland.

"The important implication is that the stethoscope, whether used by a doctor, a nurse, a nursing assistant or any other staff member, should be cleaned after each use," said Pittet, who also directs the Collaborative Center for Patient Safety of the World Health Organization of hospitals .

 

Urgent, change of clothes!

The potential for medical professionals to inadvertently spread disease with their tools or clothing is becoming an area of ​​focus due to the concerns of "super germs" resistant to antibiotics.

Epidemiologists (experts who study the patterns and causes of diseases) raised the possibility that doctors may need to dispense with their traditional white coat and tie, as that clothing can be contaminated and not easily washed between a patient and other.

The new study compares the level of contamination of the hands of doctors and stethoscopes.

They found that the stethoscope and the tips of the fingers tended to be more contaminated than the other parts of the doctors' hands, both with bacteria in general and with MRSA (methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus) specifically. They also found that the level of contamination of the stethoscope increased with contamination of the hands.

"Hand hygiene is still the main measure for the prevention of infections in the hospital, and proper stethoscope management (cleaning it immediately after use) should be part of good patient care practices," Pittet said.


Video Medicine: 35 CLOTHING HACKS TO UPGRADE YOUR LOOK FROM BORING INTO FRESH (April 2021).

Urgent, change de vêtements!

Quel est l'instrument médical avec plus de bactéries? Les stéthoscopes aident à diagnostiquer et à guérir, mais cet outil essentiel des médecins présente également un potentiel important de propagation des germes d'un patient à l'autre, rapporte une nouvelle étude.

Le diaphragme du stéthoscope, la pièce ronde placée dans le corps du patient, peut être rempli de bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques, telles que le MRSA potentiellement mortel, ont découvert les chercheurs.

Ils ont découvert qu'un diaphragme captait plus de bactéries lors de l'examen d'un patient que n'importe quelle partie des mains du médecin, à l'exception du bout des doigts.

Le tube de stéthoscope peut également être rempli de bactéries, et le niveau de contamination à la fois dans le diaphragme et dans le tube augmente avec la quantité de bactéries sur le bout des doigts du médecin, a indiqué l'étude.

"Les germes sont acquis par le contact de la peau du patient avec le stéthoscope, de la même manière que les mains sont généralement colonisées par les germes du patient", a déclaré le Dr Didier Pittet, principal auteur de l'étude. Directeur du programme de prévention des infections des hôpitaux de l'Université de Genève, en Suisse.

"L'implication importante est que le stéthoscope, qu'il soit utilisé par un médecin, une infirmière, un infirmier auxiliaire ou tout autre membre du personnel, doit être nettoyé après chaque utilisation", a déclaré Pittet, qui dirige également le Centre de collaboration pour la sécurité des patients de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé des hôpitaux .

 

Urgent, change de vêtements!

La possibilité pour les professionnels de la santé de propager par inadvertance une maladie avec leurs outils ou leurs vêtements devient un domaine de préoccupation en raison des préoccupations des «super germes» résistant aux antibiotiques.

Les épidémiologistes (experts qui étudient les schémas et les causes des maladies) ont évoqué la possibilité que les médecins doivent renoncer à leur manteau blanc traditionnel et à leur cravate, car les vêtements peuvent être contaminés et difficiles à laver entre les patients. et autre.

La nouvelle étude compare le niveau de contamination des mains des médecins et des stéthoscopes.

Ils ont constaté que le stéthoscope et le bout des doigts avaient tendance à être plus contaminés que les autres parties de la main du médecin, tant avec les bactéries en général qu'avec le SARM (Staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthicilline). Ils ont également constaté que le niveau de contamination du stéthoscope augmentait avec la contamination des mains.

"L'hygiène des mains est toujours la principale mesure de prévention des infections à l'hôpital, et une gestion appropriée du stéthoscope (son nettoyage immédiatement après son utilisation) devrait faire partie des bonnes pratiques de soins des patients", a déclaré Pittet.


Médecine Vidéo: 33 EASY SUMMER CLOTHES CRAFTS (Octobre 2020).