Valvular prostheses

The Valvular prostheses they are implanted through a heart intervention to replace the damaged valve with another of a biological or mechanical type; they can also make the difference between life and death. When heart valves get sick they occur two types of injuries : the narrowing or fusion of the valve (stenosis), which hinders the emptying of the heart, and insufficiencies or defective closure that allows blood to back up in the heart. Some injuries cause early choking and fatigue (mitral stenosis) but others only give symptoms in very advanced stages of the disease (aortic stenosis). The surgical repair of a valve implies its reconstruction, so that it works correctly or its replacement by a valvular prosthesis.


In which cases the valves are replaced

According to the Spanish Society of Cardiology, the valves are replaced in:

  • Congenital diseases of the heart that produce valve deformities from fetal life
  • Injuries produced by rheumatic fever (usually infantile and as a consequence of poorly healed angina), cause mitral and aortic disease (stenosis and / or insufficiency)
  • Degenerative lesions , which appear in elderly people, due to wear and calcification. The best known is the calcified aortic stenosis of the elderly, although mitral valve insufficiency is also frequent

Types of valves and percutaneous implantation of aortic prostheses

There are two types of valves: mechanical ones, made of materials such as plastic, metal and, in the most recent models, a small cylinder of pyrolytic carbon; and biological ones, made from animal or human tissue. On the other hand, there are bioprosthesis that can be implanted percutaneously (by puncture in the femoral artery, in the leg, similar to a catheterization, without surgery) in adult patients with aortic stenosis degenerative with high risk for surgery or who do not wish to undergo surgery. The percutaneous implantation of aortic valves is a very attractive procedure for patients, since there is no need to open the chest, in many cases it does not general anesthesia (It is done with sedation) and allows discharge from the hospital early.


Video Medicine: Prosthetic Valve Assessment (William A. Zoghbi, MD) April 29, 2016 (February 2023).

Prothèses valvulaires

Le Prothèses valvulaires ils sont implantés par une intervention cardiaque pour remplacer la valvule endommagée par une autre de type biologique ou mécanique et peuvent également faire la différence entre la vie et la mort. Les valves cardiaques tombent malades deux types de blessures : le rétrécissement ou fusion de la valve (sténose), qui empêche la vidange du cœur, et des insuffisances ou des fermetures défectueuses qui permettent au sang de remonter dans le cœur. Certaines blessures provoquent un étouffement précoce et de la fatigue (sténose mitrale) mais d'autres ne provoquent des symptômes que dans les stades très avancés de la maladie (sténose aortique). Le réparation chirurgicale d'une valve implique sa reconstruction, de sorte qu'elle fonctionne correctement ou son remplacement par une prothèse valvulaire.


Dans quels cas les vannes sont remplacées

Selon la Société espagnole de cardiologie, les valves sont remplacées dans:

  • Maladies congénitales du cœur qui produit des malformations valvulaires à partir de la vie fœtale
  • Blessures produites par rhumatisme articulaire aigu (généralement infantile et à la suite d'une angine mal soignée), cause de maladies mitrale et aortique (sténose et / ou insuffisance)
  • Lésions dégénératives , qui apparaissent chez les personnes âgées, en raison de l'usure et de la calcification. La plus connue est la sténose aortique calcifiée du sujet âgé, bien que l’insuffisance de la valve mitrale soit également fréquente.

Types de valves et implantation percutanée de prothèses aortiques

Il existe deux types de vannes: les vannes mécaniques en matériaux tels que le plastique, le métal et, dans les modèles les plus récents, un petit cylindre de carbone pyrolytique; et biologiques, fabriqués à partir de tissus animaux ou humains. D'autre part, il y a bioprothèse qui peut être implanté par voie percutanée (par ponction dans l'artère fémorale, dans la jambe, semblable à un cathétérisme, sans chirurgie) chez des patients adultes atteints sténose aortique dégénératif avec un risque élevé de chirurgie ou qui ne souhaite pas subir de chirurgie. L’implantation percutanée des valves aortiques est une procédure très attrayante pour les patients, puisqu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'ouvrir la poitrine, dans de nombreux cas, il n'est pas anesthésie générale (Cela se fait sous sédation) et permet une sortie précoce de l'hôpital.


Médecine Vidéo: prothèse valvulaire (Septembre 2020).